We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Springwell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Springwell Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Pendine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pontarddulais
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Absolutely Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

We went to Pendine for an impromptu day out as the sun was shining. We had a look around and decided to have lunch at the Springwell. Lovely pub where the Landlord allowed us to have our dogs outside on the decking, water provided. We had the fish and chips which was faultless, homemade chips and tartare sauce. Puddings to follow were delicious as was the coffee. All in all an A1 experience and we will definately return and recommend

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaz91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    23
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
40
26
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

The Springwell is a very friendly enjoyable place to eat and drink. It is a hands on family run business backed up by very friendly local staff. The menu is not huge but varied and well presented, good portions and prices that do not need the bank manager with you. My wife loves the fillet of beef slices with rice a must for her. I tend to try different meals but the big one for me is that old favourite the mixed grill which at the Springwell is in a different class to the normal ones around. We have had the Sunday lunch there before which again was of great portions but did not on our last visit as we were away from the village at lunch time but met people later in the afternoon who used the new carvery and they were very impressed. The owner Paul does the cooking along with his Anne who is mine host behind the bar. We're back down 20th July and looking forward to our meal on Saturday night. If you do visit Pendine please call into The Springwell you will not be disappointed. B A & Fletch.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed at Pendine Sands for a few days- nice site- nice van- nice people- rubbish weather!! heh ho though onwards with wellies.
We sort of stumbled across the Springwell and were utterly delighted at what we found- there was little to tell you outside as to how good, or local the menu was and no info on the place in the neary 'park which is perhaps an oversight of the owner? The staff are friendly polite and helpful- the menu is seasonal - the fish served depends on what the chef catches in the bay that day- fantastic! - i had flounder , a portion size which would satisfy any appetite, perfectly cooked with home cooked and cut chips with well cooked veg- my wife had lamb on the bone served with mash and heavenly minted gravy which we would have gladly payed double the price they charged us ( around £14 ) for it. Our four year old son had nuggets which were again home cooked and beautiful- should say that Kai our son also helped himself to the heavenly salt and pepper squid we both had for starter too!
We lucked out with our table which sat looking out onto the bay. The couple next to us asked how the flounder was- we said excellent and asked how their food had been- of a simlar quality too which was great to hear. We met them in there again the following night where we had different dishes which again sung from the platE! We sat outisde afterwards with a drink watching the waves break over the wall- bliss
Alll in all, well priced, well cooked by a chef who understands food and has a palate- the place could perhaps do with better advertising as mentioned previously - that is the only miniscule downside to this sparkling gem of a place. If it wasnt 8 hours away i woudl return again next week.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WeeKaisDa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

popped in a few times whilst staying at the loal holiday park.obviously a family run pub. very relaxed atmosphere .had a meal one night .the food was good and very generous portions .the chef came out to have a chat and the staff were grreat .if your on holiday in this area you wont be dissapointed if you visit the springwell

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grhmks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

Went for a birthday meal with my husband at the springwell Inn whilst away on a short break in pendine sands. Food was fantastic, excellent value for money and lots of it. I recommend you wear elasticated trousers. Service was great. Staff were friendly and the atmosphere was relaxed. Will definitely be returning when next in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NMcurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed at the nearby holiday park but we always try to eat out whenever we stay anywhere as you get a better idea of what the area is like, I have to say I will come back to the area just to eat here again, great pub grub at a good price. The restaurant was very clean and tidy and had a good atmosphere as did the bar area.

Thank you for a good evening.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dominey7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craven Arms, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

You enter the rooms from behind the hotel via the kitchen stores area, not good and, but once in the small accommodation area, only three rooms you are o.k.
The room was excellent and the bathroom first class.
Very good value for money. The breakfast was enormous if not over exciting, if you like full british it was great. Evening meals was very good value, particularly if you like cod and chips, you will have to be a big eater if you can leave a clean plate.

Room Tip: go for the four poster
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roland3543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pendine
6.3 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saundersfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
9.0 mi away
Mansion House Llansteffan
Mansion House Llansteffan
#1 of 1 in Llansteffan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Brown's
The Brown's
#2 of 18 in Laugharne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pendine Sands Bed and Breakfast
3.9 mi away
The Corran Resort & Spa
The Corran Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Laugharne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
3.5 mi away
Broadway Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springwell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springwell Inn

Property: Springwell Inn
Address: Pendine Hill, Pendine SA33 4PA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Pendine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Pendine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run inn right on the beach, log fires, real ales. Home cooked food, lunch, dinner, sunday carvery, parties catered for.En-suite accommodation . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Springwell Inn Pendine, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing