We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centurion Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Midsomer Norton
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Centurion Hotel”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

My wife and I stayed for two nights at this hotel. The room was very comfortable -as was the bed.

Staff very friendly andf the food was excellent too.

However, the Spa let it down. The women's changing room is badly in need of refurbishment, and the men's changing room was out of action. I had to change in the gym changing room which had cubicles. However, I never found the shower which was apparently through a sliding door!

The pool itself also needs refurbishment.

A small point: I ordered a morning pper which never arrived.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCenturion, Manager at Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you John for writing us a review on trip advisor, It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us.

We are in the process of refurbishing both of our swimming changing room at the moment which is why you would of changed in the gym. Once we have completed the men's we will move onto the ladies with completion by the end of April something we are all looking forward to.

Thank you once again for your kind words and we hope to welcome you back to the Centurion Hotel soon.

Shelley
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    179
    51
    20
    12
See reviews for
118
194
17
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Good room, very clean, helpful staff. The pool and sauna were also very good and clean. We did not have breakfast. The only disappointment was the restaurant. Whilst the staff were very friendly, my wife's vegetarian option main meal portion was minute and very poor value for money. As well as leaving her hungry (and she is underweight and not a big eater) she also has a jaw problem that makes chewing difficult and asked for the vegetables (what there was of them) to be very well cooked and soft, but they were practically raw and inedible for her. My meat-based meal was OK though, although not on the generous size portion. We would stay there again, but not eat there. The value for money rating is based on our combined hotel and restaurant assessment - the hotel alone would have got 5 star.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCenturion, Manager at Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Robert, thank you for taking the time to write a review for us.

I am pleased to hear that you found the hotel and staff to be 5 star but disappointed to read about your experience in the restaurant. We always try to ensure that all dietary requirements are met and customers are satisfied with their meal. I will make sure that the problems you experienced are looked into.

It is lovely to read that you will be returning to stay with us again, we look forward to seeing you soon.

Shelley
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We returned for the 3rd time in a year t this lovely peaceful tranquil hotel. The staff as akways were friendly but professional. The room was excellent and the bed very comfortable. The food both at breakfast and evening meal was wonderful.
This really is a hotel to enjoy. Even better I guess if you play golf - we don't!
See you again soon and thank you

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank BorntotravelUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCenturion, Manager at Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Just a quick note to thank you for your wonderful review.

It is always a pleasure to welcome back regular guests and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Shelley
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We have stayed in several Best Western Hotels as they are usually pretty good. This one was of a higher standard than some we have stayed at before. The room was lovely and spacious and immaculately clean. The view over the golf course was an added bonus.

We opted to eat in Jays Bar on the Thursday night (eat after 6.30 as full of kids until then due to swimming classes) I had the ham, egg and chips and my husband had the fish and chips; both were huge and delicious. We ate in the restaurant on the Friday and I have to say that it is one of the best meals I have ever had. The mussels we had to start with were to die for and the mains were as good as you would expect in any top class London restaurant. We had the duck and the Pollock, both were cooked to perfection and on a bed of the most delicious vegetables, mine was also with dauphinois potatoes. The waiter Chris was excellent; he had the right balance of attentive service without being intrusive. If I lived locally I would certainly eat at this restaurant frequently.

I must also mention the breakfasts; we had, between us, over the two days the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, the kippers and the full English. All wonderful and you could taste that the ingredients were all fresh and of the best quality. They also had a fine selection of fruit, pastries and cereals along with toast and croissants.

Back to the hotel itself though, the restaurant is in deed of a a refurbishment as it is a little dated and apparently this is happening soon. However, we ate in the conservatory and this is lovely. We did not use the pool, sauna or gym but next time we will be sure to bring our swimming costumes. All the staff from check-in to check-out were very friendly and professional and I would not hesitate to recommend the entire experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wrongsideofforty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCenturion, Manager at Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for your recent review, I was delighted to read that your experience in the hotel was so enjoyable. Our kitchen team and the food they produce is something we are very proud of and I am so pleased you found the food to be of a high standard and quality.

You are right the restaurant is due to be refurbished in the next few months, something we are all looking forward to.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Shelley
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I booked the Leona suite as a surprise for my partner as we were celebrating, so thought the hotel would be ideal, well looking at the facilities from the brochure made it worth the expense.
Upon arrival we were told that the restaurant did not open on a sunday due to the use of fresh ingredients not being available due to suppliers not delivering on a sunday, a little bit strange I thought. however there we were informed that there were some nice pubs to eat in the locality.

The room looked great but we found the following issues, the toilet was not securely fixed to the floor and moved, I reported this straight away to the receptionist, thinking that this could be dealt with straight away, but alas maintenance don't work sundays so it would be mentioned on the Monday, not really much use when we were only there for one night.

The shower, with its 6 body jets looked great and so was expecting it to revive and refresh, unfortunately the water pressure in the room was so low that only water came out of 4 of the 6 jets and was a lethargic trickle, not so invigorating!!

The water pressure was so low that the bath just took an age to fill, not so romantic when you have to wait over an hour for it to fill.

The heated towel rail was hot, at the bottom where the pipes connected but not much further up the rail, so that was not much use for drying.

Considering that the room came equipped with a coffee machine that could brew 8-10 cups of coffee, the hospitality tray was only equipped with enough milk and sugar for 4 drinks……… just, reception did however accommodate us with more milk and sugar.

The spa was again disappointing the area was in disrepair and looked unwelcoming, the pool was ok but very poorly lit and uninviting, the door to the steam and sauna area was broken, it was supposed to be an automatic sliding door, it was neither automatic or slid easily, guests had to force it open and force it closed.
The Hot tub is crammed into the room which surely is not adequate for one, there was a greasy film and scum on the water of the hot tub too, lovely!!!

The good points I need to share about this hotel are as follows -

The staff are very attentive and can't do enough for you, unless it's maintenance on a Sunday, but this is not their fault.

The food is lovely and well presented.
The bars have a great selection to choose from, especially if you like cider and again the bar staff are attentive and friendly.
The view over the gold course is beautiful.

Room Tip: before you book the suite find out if the toilet has been fixed to the floor, the towel rail has bee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slider66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCenturion, Manager at Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Many thanks for writing us a trip advisor review.

I hope that the contact you have had with Mark the general manager over the problems you had during your stay have been resolved to a acceptable conclusion.

Your comments have enabled us to make some changes which will be beneficial to other guests who in the future will use the suite and stay with us. The few maintenance issues in the suite have been sorted and we have increased the amount of milk and sugar on the hospitality tray.

We have had some maintenance problems with the spa and were waiting on another company to fix these for us. I am pleased to say these have all now been rectified and all is working and as it should be.

We have also spoken to the person who mis informed you about the reason behind the restaurant closing on a Sunday night, it is a business decision as we serve Sunday lunch until 5.30pm and then bar food until 9pm not due to ingredients as he commented.

I would like to apologise for the problems during your stay and thank you for your kind comments about our staff and grounds. I do hope that you come and stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards

Shelley
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel last night (11th Jan 2014) as part of the Somer Athletic Club annual awards dinner. The staff were friendly and the room was very clean and comfortable with everything you would expect of a good quality hotel. We had a lovely view of the golf course, pond and gardens from our room.
For those of a sporting nature there is a 9 hole golf course, a swimming pool, gym and spa. We found these facilities to be very good although the automatic door to the jacuzzi/sauna/steam room wasn't working and neither were the hairdryers. A minor complaint considering the quality of the everything else.
Breakfast was very good with everything you would want of a buffet plus a freshly cooked full English made with excellent quality ingredients. Staff in the restaurant were very friendly yet maintained a professional approach.
It's not the cheapest of hotels but we did get a good weekend deal with our breakfast included. Will certainly stay again if next year's awards are held there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kalo_Chorio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel for a family break to bath . Staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. The family room was comfortable and spotlessly clean (although the only negative was the main window did not have a lock, which was a worry with a toddler, staff were very apologetic ) As a family we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay (even the teenager) breakfast and evening meals were lovely and staff very patient with our boisterous toddler. Would definitely book and stay here again.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Keya10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCenturion, Manager at Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write us a review.

It is lovely to hear you all had a great stay from toddler to teenager and that you found all of our staff friendly and helpful.

With all the great attraction near us we hope that we will be welcoming you all back to the hotel to stay again very soon.

Happy New Year to you all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midsomer Norton
1.6 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#29 of 34 in Bath
173 reviews
6.8 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
948 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
16.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
9.4 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
Address: Charlton Lane | Midsomer Norton, Midsomer Norton BA3 4BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Midsomer Norton
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Midsomer Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Midsomer Norton
Midsomer Norton Best Western
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel Midsomer Norton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing