We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Monfa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Monfa
Ranked #5 of 27 Bala B&B and Inns
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

This is a little gem, fabulous value, great location and wonderful hosts. Situated close to Bala lake and all town amenities. Helen and Ron are welcoming hosts. We stayed in twin room downstairs, beds were comfy, sky tv, dvd player and a selection of DVDs were available. Breakfast served in great dining room and plenty of choice. We would definately stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gecko_GB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
22
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wirral, UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Monfa B&B is a great place to stay. And the location is perfect, just near the small town and the lake. The decoration of either bedroom or shower room is beautiful and immaculate facilities. The breakfast, served in a lovely and warm room, is delicious and with a big variety of options. Helen and Ron are so friendly hosts that made us feel at home.
We would definitely recommend this place and we will stay over if we decide to visit Bala again or somewhere nearby.
Thank you Ron and Helen.

Room Tip: There is a room on the ground floor, and a room upstairs. The bathroom, shower room and lounge room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

This is a beautiful B&B very close to the lake as well as the small town. The rooms are immaculate and beautifully done with comfortable beds, plenty space and the best tea selection we had all week. The bathroom (upstairs from the twin room we stayed in) was similarly spotless, tastefully decorated, with a powerful shower and plenty shampoo etc. Ron and Helen are very friendly and provided a fantastic breakfast with plenty options.

Would definitely recommend Monfa and would stay there again if I returned to the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

My friend and I were in Bala for 3 nights, and 2 of which we spent here! The living room (right next to the bedroom upstairs), the bathroom and the bedroom itself were all well equipped and the bedroom looks exactly the same as the advertised picture (unlike other places I've stayed in!). We chose the bathroom with the tub instead of the shower, which was quite spacious. Other than the usual packet-sized toiletries, I loved how they provided shampoo/conditioner etc. that you would normally get from the shops. There was also a lovely teddy bear in the bathroom (and also a cute door stopper for the bedroom) which I thought were nice touches by Helen :)
We went through the DVD collection and found a movie to watch for the 2 nights.
The breakfast was huge and we ate so much the first day - a lot to choose from, and the cooked breakfast was just brilliant. Helen also prepared lunch for us for the second day, and it was packed very conveniently into lunch boxes for us.
The location is perfect to explore the main part of Bala, just walking distance from the lake and everything interesting in the town.
The only thing I would suggest to improve is the TV in the bedroom because it is quite small. We tried watching TV in the living room next door (which was much bigger) but it didn't work that day. Compared to the Railway Cottage in Frongoch which we stayed in for the 3rd night, the convenience of location was definitely a boost! However, as the room in Railway Cottage was isolated from the main holding, I felt that we had more privacy there in comparison to Monfa.
Nevertheless, we loved our stay regardless, and would definitely revisit when we have the chance!

Room Tip: There is a room on the ground floor, and a room upstairs. The bathrooms and lounge room are also ups...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We did not have a booking and we were so lucky to find this place. Ron and Helen are absolutely amazing. They were very warm and welcoming. The rooms are extremely well decorated and maintained. They were so comfortable and felt like a home away home. It has a private parking space and it is great for children as well. We had a 2 year old with us and she enjoyed the stay as much as we did. To top it all the breakfast was absolutely brilliant. I had the smoked haddock and I highly recommend it. We had a great time and we had 4 start luxuries at 2 star prices. Great place!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajirda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

We hadn't booked any accommodation in Bala, but Helen & Ron made us feel extremely welcome at Monfa.

The rooms were spotless & the breakfasts awesome; I highly recommend the smoked haddock!

We have already recommended Monfa to family & friends :-)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarjibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Ron and Helen, owners, made us feel at home. Their b & b was spotless and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was super and plenty of it. Location is on main Bala high street, with Bala lake a two minute walk away. Private car park. Bikers, as we are, welcomed. Room had sky/complimentary coffee/tea/chocolate. Beds comfy. Sink in room and shower upstairs (but nice dressing gowns provided). Will recommend to my friends and would stay there again. Just wonderful...and the price was right!

Room Tip: we were on ground floor/twin beds. Double glazing and therefore no noise. No on suite but dressing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spud3568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonfaBala, Owner at Monfa, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Your comments on tripadviser were very much appreciated as we are always concerned that we not only give value for money but that we are providing the level of service which are guests require and deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bala
0.2 mi away
White Lion Royal Hotel
3.7 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
1.1 mi away
Glan Y Gro
Glan Y Gro
#1 of 27 in Bala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Frondderw Country House
0.4 mi away
Bwch-yn-Uchaf
Bwch-yn-Uchaf
#3 of 15 in Bala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bodiwan
Bodiwan
#2 of 27 in Bala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monfa

Property: Monfa
Address: 6 Pensarn Road, Snowdonia National Park, Bala LL23 7SR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Bala
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Bala
Hotel Class:4 star — Monfa 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monfa B&B is a 4 Star bed and breakfast in Bala, part of the Snowdonia National Park in beautiful North Wales.We’re only 300 metres from Llyn Tegid (Bala Lake) and 500 metres from the centre of historic Bala.Helen and Ron promise you a warm friendly welcome, a comfortable, well equipped room and a delicious breakfast. We use locally sourced produce where possible to give you a breakfast which will set you up for the day.We have a twin room and a double room each with a private bathroom/shower room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Monfa Bala, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing