We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing is too much trouble for Helen & Ron”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Monfa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Monfa
Ranked #5 of 27 Bala B&B and Inns
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Nothing is too much trouble for Helen & Ron”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We had a wonderful 5 night stay at Monfa B & B over the August Bank holiday weekend. Helen and Ron are the perfect hosts. Their pride in their B & B is obvious from the immaculate decoration to their willingness to do whatever they can to make your stay complete in every way. My husband was sailing at Bala Lake over the weekend and Helen was happy to dry his sailing kit. She also lent us her cool box and baked some lovely carrot cake for us. The bedrooms are fantastic with little touches you don't expect to find in a B & B such as dressing gowns. We were in the double room upstairs and the bed was really comfy. There is plenty of wardrobe and draw space. I really loved the guest lounge which was a huge plus. Free wi-fi available. The breakfasts were something else - Helen will basically do whatever you ask for and I had some lovely fruit bowls most mornings whilst my husband enjoyed his cooked breakfast each morning. The two bathrooms were immaculate and everything was kept spotlessly clean. I loved the power shower in the smaller bathroom. This was a real find and probably the best B & B I have ever stayed in. Helen and Ron fully deserve all the plaudits found here.

Room Tip: We were in the bedroom upstairs which is at the back so perhaps quieter than the downstairs one whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue190747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
22
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

This is a little gem, fabulous value, great location and wonderful hosts. Situated close to Bala lake and all town amenities. Helen and Ron are welcoming hosts. We stayed in twin room downstairs, beds were comfy, sky tv, dvd player and a selection of DVDs were available. Breakfast served in great dining room and plenty of choice. We would definately stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gecko_GB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Monfa B&B is a great place to stay. And the location is perfect, just near the small town and the lake. The decoration of either bedroom or shower room is beautiful and immaculate facilities. The breakfast, served in a lovely and warm room, is delicious and with a big variety of options. Helen and Ron are so friendly hosts that made us feel at home.
We would definitely recommend this place and we will stay over if we decide to visit Bala again or somewhere nearby.
Thank you Ron and Helen.

Room Tip: There is a room on the ground floor, and a room upstairs. The bathroom, shower room and lounge room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

This is a beautiful B&B very close to the lake as well as the small town. The rooms are immaculate and beautifully done with comfortable beds, plenty space and the best tea selection we had all week. The bathroom (upstairs from the twin room we stayed in) was similarly spotless, tastefully decorated, with a powerful shower and plenty shampoo etc. Ron and Helen are very friendly and provided a fantastic breakfast with plenty options.

Would definitely recommend Monfa and would stay there again if I returned to the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

My friend and I were in Bala for 3 nights, and 2 of which we spent here! The living room (right next to the bedroom upstairs), the bathroom and the bedroom itself were all well equipped and the bedroom looks exactly the same as the advertised picture (unlike other places I've stayed in!). We chose the bathroom with the tub instead of the shower, which was quite spacious. Other than the usual packet-sized toiletries, I loved how they provided shampoo/conditioner etc. that you would normally get from the shops. There was also a lovely teddy bear in the bathroom (and also a cute door stopper for the bedroom) which I thought were nice touches by Helen :)
We went through the DVD collection and found a movie to watch for the 2 nights.
The breakfast was huge and we ate so much the first day - a lot to choose from, and the cooked breakfast was just brilliant. Helen also prepared lunch for us for the second day, and it was packed very conveniently into lunch boxes for us.
The location is perfect to explore the main part of Bala, just walking distance from the lake and everything interesting in the town.
The only thing I would suggest to improve is the TV in the bedroom because it is quite small. We tried watching TV in the living room next door (which was much bigger) but it didn't work that day. Compared to the Railway Cottage in Frongoch which we stayed in for the 3rd night, the convenience of location was definitely a boost! However, as the room in Railway Cottage was isolated from the main holding, I felt that we had more privacy there in comparison to Monfa.
Nevertheless, we loved our stay regardless, and would definitely revisit when we have the chance!

Room Tip: There is a room on the ground floor, and a room upstairs. The bathrooms and lounge room are also ups...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We did not have a booking and we were so lucky to find this place. Ron and Helen are absolutely amazing. They were very warm and welcoming. The rooms are extremely well decorated and maintained. They were so comfortable and felt like a home away home. It has a private parking space and it is great for children as well. We had a 2 year old with us and she enjoyed the stay as much as we did. To top it all the breakfast was absolutely brilliant. I had the smoked haddock and I highly recommend it. We had a great time and we had 4 start luxuries at 2 star prices. Great place!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajirda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

We hadn't booked any accommodation in Bala, but Helen & Ron made us feel extremely welcome at Monfa.

The rooms were spotless & the breakfasts awesome; I highly recommend the smoked haddock!

We have already recommended Monfa to family & friends :-)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarjibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bala
0.2 mi away
White Lion Royal Hotel
3.7 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
1.1 mi away
Glan Y Gro
Glan Y Gro
#1 of 27 in Bala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Frondderw Country House
0.4 mi away
Bwch-yn-Uchaf
Bwch-yn-Uchaf
#3 of 15 in Bala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bodiwan
Bodiwan
#3 of 27 in Bala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monfa

Property: Monfa
Address: 6 Pensarn Road, Snowdonia National Park, Bala LL23 7SR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Bala
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Bala
Hotel Class:4 star — Monfa 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monfa B&B is a 4 Star bed and breakfast in Bala, part of the Snowdonia National Park in beautiful North Wales.We’re only 300 metres from Llyn Tegid (Bala Lake) and 500 metres from the centre of historic Bala.Helen and Ron promise you a warm friendly welcome, a comfortable, well equipped room and a delicious breakfast. We use locally sourced produce where possible to give you a breakfast which will set you up for the day.We have a twin room and a double room each with a private bathroom/shower room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Monfa Bala, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing