We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Monfa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Monfa
Ranked #5 of 27 Bala B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Splendid B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

A very warm and friendly welcome,to a well appointed house.Clean and comfortable with lots of little thoughtful extras.Breakfast without compare with massive choice to suit every taste.makes other houses we have stayed at,at the same price look expensive. Mike E

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
22
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We were staying for the Welsh Rally Championships for 2 nights, we were made very welcome and the breakfasts were amazing with lots of different options. They even made them early for us so we could set off for the Rally.

The weather had started to get cold outside but this place was kept nice and toasty.

The surrounding scenery is beautiful and hope to come back to visit again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

The room was immaculate, Helen and Ron were very welcoming and friendly and had storage for my bike. They helped dry all my stuff out and I had a lovely bathroom to soak aching legs! Breakfast was excellent and the price was very reasonable. Couldn't ask for better!

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank nobbynorriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We have just returned from a stay in Monfa B and B.
The warm welcome was just the start. rooms where excellent with all little extras you should ever need. Even bath robes. some good hotels we have stayed in could learn from Helen and Ron.
To add to the pleasure of the amenities and cleanliness. The breakfast was great.
Wished we had had longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hickybubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

This B&B is at the lake end of Bala High Street but a quiet area ( i.e. not in the centre by pubs etc.) so don't let this put you off and it's also a 3 - 4 minute walk from the stunning Bala lake. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. The bedroom was nicely decorated along with the clean and smart bathroom and dining room. We had a lovely one night stay here and would return when we next visit Bala.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We had a wonderful 5 night stay at Monfa B & B over the August Bank holiday weekend. Helen and Ron are the perfect hosts. Their pride in their B & B is obvious from the immaculate decoration to their willingness to do whatever they can to make your stay complete in every way. My husband was sailing at Bala Lake over the weekend and Helen was happy to dry his sailing kit. She also lent us her cool box and baked some lovely carrot cake for us. The bedrooms are fantastic with little touches you don't expect to find in a B & B such as dressing gowns. We were in the double room upstairs and the bed was really comfy. There is plenty of wardrobe and draw space. I really loved the guest lounge which was a huge plus. Free wi-fi available. The breakfasts were something else - Helen will basically do whatever you ask for and I had some lovely fruit bowls most mornings whilst my husband enjoyed his cooked breakfast each morning. The two bathrooms were immaculate and everything was kept spotlessly clean. I loved the power shower in the smaller bathroom. This was a real find and probably the best B & B I have ever stayed in. Helen and Ron fully deserve all the plaudits found here.

Room Tip: We were in the bedroom upstairs which is at the back so perhaps quieter than the downstairs one whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue190747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

This is a little gem, fabulous value, great location and wonderful hosts. Situated close to Bala lake and all town amenities. Helen and Ron are welcoming hosts. We stayed in twin room downstairs, beds were comfy, sky tv, dvd player and a selection of DVDs were available. Breakfast served in great dining room and plenty of choice. We would definately stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gecko_GB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bala
0.2 mi away
White Lion Royal Hotel
3.7 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
1.1 mi away
Glan Y Gro
Glan Y Gro
#1 of 27 in Bala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Frondderw Country House
0.4 mi away
Bwch-yn-Uchaf
Bwch-yn-Uchaf
#3 of 15 in Bala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bodiwan
Bodiwan
#3 of 27 in Bala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monfa

Property: Monfa
Address: 6 Pensarn Road, Snowdonia National Park, Bala LL23 7SR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Bala
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Bala
Hotel Class:4 star — Monfa 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monfa B&B is a 4 Star bed and breakfast in Bala, part of the Snowdonia National Park in beautiful North Wales.We’re only 300 metres from Llyn Tegid (Bala Lake) and 500 metres from the centre of historic Bala.Helen and Ron promise you a warm friendly welcome, a comfortable, well equipped room and a delicious breakfast. We use locally sourced produce where possible to give you a breakfast which will set you up for the day.We have a twin room and a double room each with a private bathroom/shower room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Monfa Bala, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing