We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, nice people”
Review of Glan Y Gro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glan Y Gro
Ranked #1 of 25 Bala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Took a bit of time to find this place, but was worth the search, nice clean functional room, good big en suite, (no TV) Wi Fi was free and good signal, location was stunning, breakfast good and wholesome. The car park was convenient and only 20 yards walk to the house, over the wonderfull little narrow gauge railway bridge.

The folk were very nice and welcoming, so what else do you need from a B&B.?

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankieB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2012

We stayed here for just one night at the end of October. What a find!! all the reviews are true, this place is a gem. The people that run it are lovely, the place is immaculate & the position is amazing. We were allocated a double with a balcony and drinking my tea on the balcony 1st thing was just a dream, I wcould happily have stayed forever and will definitely be back. No TV here - how refreshing, just peace & quiet.

Room Tip: room F is a dible with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susie1962uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

My wife and I chose this place at the last minute for a short break and we were not disappointed in any way.

It is located on the quieter side of the lake, enjoying superb views over the water. Behind the actual building, "running through the grounds" is the bala narrow gauge railway which runs a few times during the middle of the day. The only concern you would have in finding Glan Y Gro is that the sign at the entrance isn't very clear - you just need to be observant. There is sufficient car parking, this being within the grounds on the other side of the railway from the actual B&B - there is a bridge (no steps).

Our room was comfortable, clean and warm and we had a balcony overlooking the lake - beautiful. If we were any closer to the lake we'd need a boat! The provision of a guest kitchen is a wonderful addition to this B&B, something we made good use of for preparing packed lunches and our first evening meal. The photo's on the website don't really do the place justice.

The staff were genuinely friendly and welcoming, helping us to easily settle in and to enjoy our stay. The breakfast was good with sufficient options and you eat at one of two tables that sit six or eight people. As we were visiting places during the day, we didn't have the opportunity to use the grounds, however if we had been staying longer we could clearly see they were pleasant and appealing to use.

Would we stay again? Well, yes (my wife was very enthusiastic) and it would be a great base for exploring the area of the Welsh Lake District and beyond.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stopped off for just one night and were delighted with Glan y Gro. Everything was very pleasant and comfortable and we were made to feel very welcome. The setting is wonderful. It couldn't be any closer to Lake Bala.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012 via mobile

Our room was spotless and cosy, with excellent views over the lake. Staff were really friendly & helpful & breakfast was lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louiseliverpool92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

For location and outlook,this has to be one of the best in the U.K. Absolutely stunning and the only hotel right on Bala lake.Lovely setting run by lovely people who are genuine and caring for your needs.Rosie and Biance primarily looked after us but it was clear that this is well run by all of the Staff.Nice cup of tea and cake on arrival with a general welcome and intro.Room a little small but spotless and everything you require including a balcony or very close access to one.Breakfast was superb.This is a lovely find and would definitely recommend and return.Thank you again Rosie and Co.

Room Tip: One with a balcony if you are lucky!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluey1592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Staff here are great, especially Rosie and Katherine. Breakfast was very good and you could have a variety to suit most. Small B&B in very remote spot on edge of Lake Bala with superb views. Very clean, and useful guest kitchen for making your own meals. Should be aware there is no tv or radio due to lack of signal. House is generally quiet (apart from one night when guests in room above returned at 1.30 in morning). Probably not an issue for room at road level

Each room can be heated as you like it. Although this is a property that is managed as part of a Christian charity, there was no sense of any religious agenda.

We ate at 2 nearby restaurants and found the Bryntirion better than Plas yn Dre.

Very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulriddiford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bala
1.2 mi away
White Lion Royal Hotel
1.3 mi away
Plas Yn Dre
Plas Yn Dre
#1 of 2 in Bala
63 reviews
10.9 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
690 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
184 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cysgod y Garn
Cysgod y Garn
#1 of 4 in Frongoch
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glan Y Gro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glan Y Gro

Address: Llangower | Snowdonia, Snowdonia National Park, Bala LL23 7BT, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Bala
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Bala
Price Range: £67 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 2015 Glan Y Gro has been the home of Robert and Ann Moore who warmly welcome visitors/guests who wish to find peace and tranquility and enjoy beautiful surroundings that are a joy for walkers, cyclists and other outdoor activists, not to mention water sports. Glan Y Gro is in a unique position, offering guests accommodation on the shores of lake Bala (Llyn Tegid) and yet is only approx 1.5Miles from Bala town itself. All rooms are either double or twin and offer views of the lake. All guests can use the balconies, with some rooms having direct access - they offer a great opportunity to pass a tranquil evening watching the sun go down (weather permitting) over the mountains. There is a wealth of activities available in the area with our guests able to use facilities, subject to availability, of Bala Lake Hotel (John Lewis and only 400mtr away). Bala has a golf course, water sport centre, leisure centre and much more - please see the visit bala web site. Robert and Ann are committed Christians and welcome enquiries from churches and church groups or other charities who would like to organise small group get-aways or courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Glan Y Gro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glan Y Gro Bala, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing