We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
Decking and picnic table
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Decking and picnic table
Outside Cottage View from Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
26 reviews
Decking and picnic table
Outside Cottage
View from Cottage
Lounge area.
Kitchen
Bedroom
Shower room.
Secure bike / sporting accessory storage
Bala Lake foreshore.
Bala Lake and Narrow Gauge Railway.
Sunset over Llyn Tegid / Bala Lake.
The Aran Mountain.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Bala, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
airtool
wales
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 31 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We wanted a base to visit the many attractions in north wales with our grandaughter.although the weather was not perfect on the odd day it did not stop our enjoyment.
the owners were helpful and could not be kinder, thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda F
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 25 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The location of the cottage is good and although on the small side was fine for the two of us.

The bathroom needs updating and it was not good to have a dirty shower curtain. If there is no shower screen then the curtain needs to be washed and changed each time the new guests arrive.

We experienced a fairly major problem and reported it immediately to the owner expecting it to be dealt with as soon as possible. This was not the case and was extremely disappointing and certainly affected our enjoyment. In fact we almost came home early.

Such a shame as this could be a good holiday cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllysonCl...
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, fantastic accomodation - what else do you need!!”
Reviewed 6 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is based in a fantastic location providing easy access to all that Snowdonia provides. The lovely town of Bala is 5 minutes away and has everything that you would need. The accommodation was perfect. It had everything that we needed and more. It was cosy and it all felt very new and was spotlessly clean. We will definitely be going back again as it is just perfect and fabulous value too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridbelle...
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect location for a lovely cottage”
Reviewed 7 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Cartref Cottage is in a perfect location, with lovely views of the countryside. Bala town is just 1 1/2 miles away, where there are nice shops to browse in. Bala lake railway is even nearer and they are hoping to extend it, to go right into the town. The cottage has been improved this year, with new cooker, beds which were very comfy, plus redecoration etc.The Wifi worked a treat. Tyly and Andrew were very friendly and helpful, if you needed them, when you didn't they respected your privacy. They very willingly charged my electric power chair up for me.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ASmith198
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage with wonderful views”
Reviewed 5 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The owners were very friendly and helpful and even allowed my two teenage sons to make use of their own garden for football and badminton.
The cottage is all on one level, set nicely in the garden with a picnic table at the front where I enjoyed breakfast every day, even in the drizzle as the views / air / birdsong was so relaxing.
The decor and facilities are a little dated and the kitchen equipment is basic but everything worked and we ate most of our evening meals here. You don't get Centreparcs decor when you don't pay Centreparcs prices. The beds were perfectly clean and comfortable and the cottage was generally cosy. Next to the cottage is a stream and there were a number of rainy nights during the week we stayed, probably for these reasons the whole place smelled a little damp. This didn't spoil our stay and even though I am sensitive to smells and I have since washed everything that came with us, I would still stay there again. Bala is 45 mins to 1 hr from the nicer beaches but nearer to England and hence easier to get to and from for most visitors. The town itself is attractive with a number of very pleasant places to eat, several take aways and mini supermarkets. We managed a few, shortish walks directly from the cottage. Overall a lovely location and cottage.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Reviewed 7 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Bedding
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Apr 2017
Many thanks fotocyclus for your review- we have been able to respond to your comments over the winter period. This includes installing new double glazed windows, new beds /mattresses and bedding, new mechanical extractor fan in kitchen and a general upgrade including re-decorating / soft furnishings etc. A trellis partition has been set up to provide some privacy from the main house .The electric meter has been removed so all electrical and heating costs are included.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;