We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant - loved it. Extra points for being an exciting activity which doesn't require you to be a marathon runner.”

The National Whitewater Centre
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Bala
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This was my first experience of white water rafting (another thing on my bucket list) I loved it - a great few hours in a raft.

The staff were great very welcoming, but also made you feel safe and looked after. We had a great afternoon, 4 runs down the river and by the third one I think we had the hang of it ;-)

Back at the centre the showers were warm, and they had a little cafe to warm you up with a cup of tea.

If you're looking for a bit of an adventure that doesn't require huge amounts of stamina then give it a go- we were laughing all the way through the last few runs.

Thank helen1381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B L, Manager at The National Whitewater Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2014

Hi Helen,
Thank you for your fantastic review and taking the time to share your experience with us. Sounds like you all got the hang of it and I'm glad you enjoyed the rafting on the river here. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 305 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

Just returned back after a superb day out at the Whitewater Centre!! The 6 of us enjoyed a full rafting session and everyone had smiles on their faces, even the apprehensive ones at the start. Well run and fantastic instructor George kept the entertainment levels high whilst the rest of us were getting a soaking!! Highly recommended and i would pre book before you turn up as very busy. Once again, cheers to all the staff!!

Thank Johnnyonefoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B L, Manager at The National Whitewater Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2014

Hi Johnny,
Thanks for your lovely review! It sounds like you all had a great time and I'm glad George managed to convince those of you who were a little apprehensive at first! Thanks again and hopefully we will see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great well organised attraction. Exciting, exhilarating, wet ...a great time had by all. From teenagers to oldies we all enjoyed it.

Thank Ann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B L, Manager at The National Whitewater Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2014

Hi Ann,
Thank you for taking the time to review your rafting. It's great to hear you all had a good time, and hopefully we will see you back at the centre in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We booked to go through red letter days, the organisation was good although the letter stated to arrive at 10 when it should have said 11.

They provide all you need wetsuits, waterproof boots (so you dont need old trainers) helmet, lifejacket etc.

Our instructor Claris (sorry I dont know how to spell it) was lovely we were also joined by a family of 4, we all got along well and were a happy bunch which definately maded the experience. We managed to get in 4 runs, good value for money.

They did get photos of your experience priced at £6.00 per photo or £20 for a disc with all photos on we had 71 so very good value for money.

Great experience, cant wait to do it again, thanks :)

Thank CCockrem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B L, Manager at The National Whitewater Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2014

Hi CCockrem1,
Thank you for your review of your time at the centre and apologies you had time to spare after arrival, hopefully you managed to keep busy watching the other rafts whiz by whilst waiting. I'm glad you enjoyed the rafting and thank you ever so much for taking the time to review your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

first time rafters excellent staff great showers and good cafe !!
well worth the money !!
beware the wicked instrutor that sits you in the front of the raft !!!

Thank shirty64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B L, Manager at The National Whitewater Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2014

Hi Shirty64,
Thank you for your review, sounds like you got the hang of it all quickly and had a blast sitting in the front of the raft! Thanks for taking the time to write your review, it is greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The National Whitewater Centre also viewed

Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Llanbedr, Snowdonia National Park
Bala, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to The National Whitewater Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing