We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unwelcome diners!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
White Lion Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bala
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unwelcome diners!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Came here as a family of four about 5pm to eat. Chose a table but the tv was blaring! Ordered food and drinks and asked if the tv could please be turned down a touch as it was blaring and was told someone has just asked for it to be turned up - so basically no it couldn't be turned down. We moved tables which was fine. Food came after a short wait. I had chicken and ribs with new potatoes. Chicken and spuds were lovely but the ribs were rock hard over cooked rather than tender and falling off the bone. The other meals ordered were ok - jacket spud with pulled pork, chicken burger nice but plain, welsh burger ok. Overall we were not made welcome as we weren't welsh and attending the Eisteddfod.
We probably spent more than the others just in there for a drink but we would not recommend or revisit.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zinfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    127
    47
    32
    33
See reviews for
50
144
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Overstrand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My first impression of this hotel was that it was like you find out of the French Auberge and Logis guides. Very quaint, a bit tired - certainly past its glory days. However it was clean, the room was clean and everything worked perfectly and the staff were welcoming and very friendly.

We ate in the bar area and the food was very good pub food with plenty of choice. The following morning we were offered a continental breakfast or a full "Welsh" or BOTH.

The wi-fi worked very well and surprisingly compared to other hotels we stayed at on our journey, it was FREE.

Parking was at the rear of the hotel and fairly secure if you were worried about your car.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back overlooking the car park. It was quiet; not particularly picturesque unle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zed1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Nice hotel. I liked the fact that its very old hotel and recently refurbished yet they have kept old pieces. Good nice room (we stayed in executive double room). Very clean bathroom with super powerful shower. I have taken one point out as on Apr bank holiday Saturday when you expect to be really busy that evening for some reason hotel was under staffed. Lady on the reception was wonderful but person who was seeing the restaurant was clearly under stress. we decided to have dinner at the hotel. We were kept waiting for 20 min just to show us the table when whole dinner was empty. we ordered our food while we were still waiting in lobby. That is fine but what put me off was when food arrived it was clearly assembled in hurry and we were missing one item from our order. Waiter asked would we like to have ketchup and we said 'YES PLEASE' he vanished and was not seen again till I paid my bill. We asked the lady who was looking at the restaurant for missing one portion of fries .. she replied 'Bear with me' and went off. Well by then we were ok lets eat and go. To my surprise once we had finish our meal we sat there 10 min and no one came to ask. Finally my wife took my DD to room and I went to the front desk to pay for the food. And guess what the missing portion of fries was present in our bill. When I protested the guy said I will have to ask manager and bla bla ... At this point I was so tired that I decide to pay and call it a night.
Other issue which I think should not reflect on hotel but was a problem was with its location. our room was facing the high street and being it a Saturday night we were woken up in middle of night of sounds of group of middle ages drunk guys fighting in middle of the road. This continued for good part of night with drunks fighting in middle of road or just shouting or kicking the doors of shops.
Anyways, we had good breakfast in morning and we could see more staff.
for some reason I still liked this hotel and can see myself coming back again. FYI dinner was spoiled by lack of staff but what ever food we got was good and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: on weekend avoid room facing high street as when bar close down you will hear lot of rough middle ag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viresh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

On arrival our room was not ready at 1pm as had been advised, we waited until 2.30pm which we were told was due to the Easter period.
We were delighted with our room, the furniture was old but in keeping with the date of the hotel, some of the furniture around the hotel was really lovely. The room was spotlessly clean and the bed very comfortable. The bathroom was large and clean also.
The staff were friendly and worked very hard please everyone.
The breakfast was plentiful and well cooked. The drinks were a bit pricey but I guess that was to keep the local yobs out who did kick up a bit on noise on Sunday night but it was Easter holidays, Monday night was very quiet. All in all we enyoyed staying at this hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are quieter but there is no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loracWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Nice hotel on the high street.
We had very large family room. Room was nice, although everything felt very dated.
We arrived in the afternoon and had to wait for about an hour to check in because our room was not ready. Despite that the atmosphere in the hotel was nice, staff was very nice and friendly.
Cooked breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beaver_brooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Well we had one of the 4 poster bed rooms. The room was ok but a bit scruffy. The bar in the hotel smelt of sweat and the carpet has never been cleaned, when we saw this we refused to eat there..
The biggest problem was the noise out side the hotel. Drunken yobs until 5.00am in the morning shouting and singing. The whole hotel must have been awake, but the hotel reception did nothing.. This was not a cheap hotel.. I would never go there again.. The upside was a hot powerful shower.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bala hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Clean, comfortable and certainly compact single room and for £25 a night cannot really complain. Not suitable, in this room, for more than one night though. Perhaps doubles would be better. Good service and reasonable quality mass produced pub food and fair to say better than expected. Somewhat limited wine selection although fair choice of beers and lagers. Good for a stop off

Room Tip: Check out the room before accepting and get there early
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STRAYCELT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bala
14.8 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
708 reviews
14.5 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
3.5 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
519 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plas Yn Dre
Plas Yn Dre
#1 of 2 in Bala
20 reviews
17.8 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lion Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lion Royal Hotel

Property: White Lion Royal Hotel
Address: 61 High Street, Snowdonia National Park, Bala LL23 7AE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Bala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — White Lion Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Lion is situated within the Lake District of Wales. Bala water sports are world renowned. The hotel has 26 rooms fully refurbished in 2005 to a 4 star standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your White Lion Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Lion Royal Bala
White Lion Royal Hotel Bala, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing