We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Last minute holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
White Lion Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bala
Wakefield
Level Contributor
117 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Last minute holiday”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We booked the White Lion Royal Hotel 24 hours before we arrived, using a last minute booking site. The room had a 4 poster bed and a good sized bathroom. The facilities were pretty standard, maybe a little threadbare. There was quite a lot of dust so if you have an obsession with cleanliness this might not be the best place to go. The dust could be attributed to the age of the building; however most places give everything a real good clean before guests arrive. The room is situated overlooking the road and the young people leaving the bars/restaurants can be roudy. There is no air-conditioning so windows do need to be left open in the summer and consequently the noise could disturb.

Breakfast was lovely with the usual set up of cereals. My partner had the full welsh breakfast and said it was delicious. The toast provided was really lovely quality bread.

Room Tip: If you book the 4 poster bedroom be prepared for quite a walk up the stairs with your luggage. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    123
    47
    30
    28
See reviews for
47
138
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed for a night whilst sailing at Bala Sailing Club. Single room very small though comfy bed, small windows so difficult to keep cool as it was a hot night. Very noisy from outside. I suppose its one of very few hotels in Bala so little competition. Good breakfast. Wont stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckley, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We visited in July, the food here was really good, I had the ribs and chicken, my wife had the Steak.
Food was ordered & received within 1/2 hour, ribs were really tender & fell off the bone, so did the chicken!
The steak was cooked perfectly & well seasoned.
Fantastic value & quality, we will be visiting again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank CMDeacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bala, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Went here a couple weeks ago with my fella. We were both disappointed. The gammon he had was tough and the sunday lunch I had was grim. We sat by the window at the front of the bar. The window sill had brown stains on it and there were dead and alive creepy crawlies on it. Not very nice to see at all.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bala hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Liked the look of this White Lion hotel passing through Bala after visiting the site of Frongoch, the internment camp used for the 1916 Easter rising revolutionaries, known as the Sinn Féin University.Just past the Hen shop on the left is where you find the commemmoration stone in Frongoch and perhaps a tricolour too in memory of those brave men.
Anyway, we parked at the rear of the hotel, go along the side road at the side of the hotel for said car parl.Nice little beer garden to the rear too.Check in with a cheery Liverpudlian called Eileen.Food in the bar was A1, some really good steak and some nice salmon.The bar girl was very friendly and allowed us to taste some of the beers before committing to a whole pint!This place is run by the Brains brewery and they do a very good job.Always a good sign to see locals in having dinner.
A huge family room looking west was good value for STG 90.Bathroom was also large with a bath.We had a quite room where we could hear lambs bleating outside on the surrounding hills.Breakfast was basic but a nice fry was presented to us.Early breakfast times seem to be the order of the day throughout Wales 07.30 to 09.30.Just as well we didn't plan a lie in!
On check out, the GM was at the desk and overheard me looking for a hotel in Brecon, one whose name I had forgotten.Thankfully he recommended and booked the EXACT hotel I was trying to remember, the Wellington, also a Brains brewery place.Bala is a nice town, the bookshop sold Irish history books referring to Frongoch.People in this town speak Welsh, lovely to hear minority languages alive and well.

Room Tip: To the back facing the hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariahTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Didn't stay in the hotel part, but visited for food & drink. A lovely Olde style pub with great Real Ales and excellent food. (The Welsh burgers are delicious). Great and friendly service too. Well recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMrsRitchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

3 time at this hotel and we will be going back. The 3 rooms we have slept in all have character and the standard of the bathroom is high throughout with light decor. We ate in the hotel restaurant on 2 occasions as well as eating in a local Italian, which was good but they certainly can't be making much money as the portion sizes were extremely large. neither myself or my husband managed to more than 2/3rds and even that pushed it.
The hotel has a basic menu but extremely well cooked and we can recommend the pulled pork sandwish on a brown bloomer bread. It was delicious, so much so that we bought a bloomer loaf to take home with us. It is true what they say, "You get best results from local produce"

Staff are always helpful and courteous. See you next year.

Room Tip: We have had front rooms on every visit but this time 104 was set a little further back but still fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bala
14.8 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
686 reviews
3.5 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
87 reviews
15.2 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
315 reviews
14.5 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
645 reviews
11.7 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lion Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lion Royal Hotel

Property: White Lion Royal Hotel
Address: 61 High Street, Snowdonia National Park, Bala LL23 7AE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Bala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — White Lion Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Lion is situated within the Lake District of Wales. Bala water sports are world renowned. The hotel has 26 rooms fully refurbished in 2005 to a 4 star standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your White Lion Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Lion Royal Bala
White Lion Royal Hotel Bala, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing