We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquillity surrounds you”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bala, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Iona A
St. Asaph, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tranquillity surrounds you”
Reviewed 8 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Tranquillity surrounds you as you settle into this charming old cottage high above the Ederynion Valley. Perfectly placed to visit lakes Vyrnwy and Bala and to ride the great little steam trains of North Wales. The cottage is warm and characterful and has an enclosed garden. The veranda was especially nice for sitting out at dusk listening to the owls, pheasants and watching the setting sun casting its shadows across the valley.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2016
Thank you Iona for your lovely comments. We hope to see you again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountainb...
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great winter stay”
Reviewed 11 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent three nights at Tyn-y-fron as we wanted to explore the surrounding forests in November. Knowing that the weather would most probably be wet we decided on this little place for quiet relaxation and recuperation after some hard days out in the hills.

The directions were great and we found it easily. The drive is reasonably steep and bumpy so we were glad we didn't have a lowered sports car.

On check in we were greeted by Pete who pointed out all the necessary bits and left us with instructions on how to find him if we needed anything. He was friendly but also keen not to impose any longer than necessary.

The property is an eclectic mix of decor, and not too posh. It was very spacious for a one bedroom place and had everything we needed to make ourselves comfy

The location is quite close to the main house but if you sit in the porch area you can pretend it's just you and the valley view. The rest of the neighbours are more than half a mile away.

The Bryntirion Inn in LLandderfel is a little run down but does provide a friendly welcome and good food and is only a mile away - walking there is not advised as it's quite a busy road.

We especially liked that we could sit outside under the porch, even when the weather was rough.

We couldn't open the windows without being invaded by the cats. They like to rush up into the bedroom area and make themselves comfy. Being fresh air lovers that was the only minus point.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The covered porch
Liked least: The cats invading the bedroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2015
Glad you liked it, most people do!! Sorry about the cats. We do always ask people if the cats are not welcome and if not there is no problem as we have a cattery for such times. Trouble is some guests encourage the naughty kitten which is not a good idea. Any one else please tell us and they will go into the cattery for the duration of your stay. We usually let them out at night and back into confinement in the morning so don't hesitate to ask.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandra l
Mersham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“BLISS!!!!!”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Beautiful place to stay. Peter & Dee are friendly & welcoming. Tyn y fron is a lovely place set in wonderful surroundings, warm, welcoming, cosy & comfortable. If you want to go home totally horizontal, this place will help you. Secure grounds for dogs and wooded walks on your doorstep, views to die for. The Bryntirion Inn,just down the road, is a lovely place to eat, reasonably priced & also dog friendly. Lots to see & do. We would often watch the buzzards & kites & listen to the owls at night from the covered porch area at the front of the house. As this was our first visit to Wales it has wetted our appetite for more visits. Do visit Tyn y fron you really won't regret it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved it all
Liked least: No negative comments to make
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne_n_A...
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Recommend”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

If you ever feel that you want to stop the world and get off for a while, then head for this delightful, cosy, quirky and yet homely little Barn. Fully and thoughtfully equipped with everything you need for a self-catering break. By all means, take in the walks through forests, see the waterfalls or go to the top of Snowdon, but bask in the evening silence, the birds and the sheep and if you're lucky, the sun going down on the distant hills. Thank you to Dee and Peter, who were the perfect hosts, for allowing us to share a small part of their idyllic Welsh Utopia.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace
Liked least: The Rain
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2015
Thank you for such a lovely comment on our little bit of paradise.Please visit again soon.Cats miss you!!!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise R
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Seeing in the new year”
Reviewed 12 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Arrived at cottage on 27th December and had 5 nights stay seeing in the new year. The cottage was perfect after a hectic run up to Christmas, was just what we needed to chill out and spend some quality time together. If you are not a confident driver check your sat nav as ours sent us through some interesting B roads but the views were stunning especially the snow covered valleys. Cottage itself very comfortable - TV more modern than expected with DVD player built in. However didn't spend all our time watching films. Had some great walks and local pub excellent! Dee met us when we arrived and made us feel very welcome and we felt at home in cottage and cooked a lot. There is a lot of information about the local area including maps etc and everything we needed. We enjoyed our stay and recommend it if you are looking to get away from the rat race.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing