We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage in a beautiful location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private garden & hot tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Private garden & hot tub
Local Welcome Basket
Spa treatments available
Bala White water rafting nearby
Snowdonia National Park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bala, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SurreyWor...
surrey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 9 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Loved this cottage from the moment we set foot in it. The furnishings and decoration are beautiful and the location,on the edge of the Dee, was stunning. The cottage contained everything we could possibly need, including a hot tub in the garden, which we were very grateful for after a hard days walking or cycling. We were very much in the middle of nowhere so it was very surprising to find a Michelin starred restaurant just down the road, and an amazing Thai take out from the local post office. So enjoyed the food from both establishments!
My only (very minor criticism) was the barking dogs on both side of the cottage, but these arrived the day before we left so it wasn't too much of an issue. I might have felt differently though if we had had to listen to them barking over the whole week, however as these cottages are advertised as dog friendly, this shouldn't really come as a surprise.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritapakes
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
1 review
“We discovered a gem”
Reviewed 1 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

A top-end, dog friendly, cottage in a beautiful settiing and in a picturesque part of Wales. Everyone was friendly and welcoming. The weather was incredibly hot; so, we didn't make full use of the hot-tub - but we hope to do so, if we return in the Spring or Autumn.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janetjone...
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Heavenly Place”
Reviewed 29 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

The Ghillies cottage at riverside was the most amazing place for relaxing holiday . The cottage is very well equipped with high end products and accessories and also very clean.
The well come basket is lovely and also great thought to the Doggie accessories that was left for my two westies.
The wood burning stove is cosy to come back to after a long days walking and also the hot tub was beautiful and clean. The views from the kitchen window are outstanding.
This place is clearly amazing, book it and experience a relaxing holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2018
Hello Janet, Thank you so much for taking the time to review Ghillies Cottage from your stay in April. We hope to see you again soon at Rivercatcher. Many thanks, Jen & Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine7...
1 review
“'COSY PET FREINDLY RETREAT'”
Reviewed 14 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

we had a lovely xmas before xmas stay in early December. A lovely area for walking, the cottage is immaculate and the added welcome pack is lovely, next time we stay we would order our groceries in which you offer. The hot tub was brilliant as even though it was cold once in it was fine and relaxing. Thank you we have told friends about you and we hope to come back :-)

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Dec 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased you had a lovely time with us. Thank you also for spreading the word.

Next time you may want to try one of our cabins ready for Easter?
Kind regards, Jen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RakeHey
Yorks/Lancs border
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay and great people”
Reviewed 12 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Back from a weekend away here with the two dogs. Got caught up in heavy snow and the owners were great - said we could stay an extra night if we couldn't get out and were flexible about check out time.

Cottage was great. Sitting in the hot tub overlooking the river in the snow with a glass of fizz was just fab.

Great basket of goodies on arrival and a breakfast in the fridge.

Couple of great foodie restaurants close by too if you are in to that sort of thing.

Already talking about coming back (when the weather is better!)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Dec 2017
Glad you had a lovely time despite the weather! It was beautifully picturesque with all the snow if a little impractical.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Jen & Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venture72...
1 review
“Excellent really enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed 30 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Really enjoyed our stay everything in the cottage was perfect ,loved the log fire and the welcome pack ,also the views when in the hot tub where amazing . Would highly recommend it for a nice and relaxing break

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Nov 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to see you back in the future.

Kind regards, Jen & Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing