We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect UK getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Local welcome basket
Mountain biking trails nearby. Secure bike storage at rivercatcher
Snowdonia National Park
Bala White-water rafting nearby
Spa Treatments available
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bala, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Steve P
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect UK getaway”
Reviewed 17 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

This was our third visit to Rivercatcher and certainly not our last. In fact we've already booked our winter break there. We stayed in Gamekeepers Cottage which sleeps eight. The cottage is extremely well maintained The kitchen is well equipped and the lounge and all four bedrooms very comfortable The view from the cottage over the Welsh hills and valleys is breathtaking and the hot tub in the huge garden is a great plus. I would certainly recommend a holiday or long weekend here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Perfect Stay!”
Reviewed 26 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Eight of us stayed in Gamekeepers Cottage in March and it was just perfect! Beautifully decorated, comfortable, spacious and immaculately clean. It is in a great location with fabulous views from the hot tub even in the snow! We all enjoyed our stay so much and not one of us could fault anything. Attention to detail is second to none and everything has been thought of. We felt so welcome and communication was quick and friendly at all times. Thank you Rivercatcher - we’re already busy finding an excuse to come again :).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2018
So pleased you had a lovely time! Come back and see us soon, Jen, Andy and the team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Winter Retreat”
Reviewed 28 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

This is the second time we have stayed at Gamekeepers Cottage at Rivercatcher and it certainly wont be the last. The cottage is furnished and maintained to a very high standard and is spotlessly clean. The view from the back garden is incredible with views of the Welsh countryside and the River Dee flowing next to the property. The hot tub is a huge plus and is checked and maintained daily. The TV's in most rooms support a host of channels including Netflix. If you do encounter any problems (which is extremely doubtful), the owners (Andy and Jen)are on site most weekdays and help is just a phone call away at weekends. In the local town there is a great pub and restaurant and there is a supermarket just a short drive away. I would highly recommend Rivercatcher and especially Gamekeepers Cottage and cannot wait to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6541tina
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a beautiful place!”
Reviewed 10 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

From the moment we all arriving we felt at home.
All our rooms were on-suite and all very comfortable indeed, every detail was thought of.
The whole place is just so relaxing from the personal Jacuzzi in the garden, from which the views were spectacular to just enjoying the comfort of the place.
I would recommend this place to anyway who is after a relaxing break, or a base with amazing views and surrounding walks.
We ventured away from the garden and Jacuzzi to enjoy some trips out to the zip wire (about 45 minutes away) and a 'lock in puzzle room' (about 1 hour away)- great things to do, but we also purchased a fishing license as the River Dee is amazing and runs across the bottom of the garden
We were a family party of eight and all reluctant to leave - couldn't fault it - 10 out of 10
We took a dog and a baby and had the packages to go with it - it was just perfect for all of us.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillyseni...
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage in great location - Perfect”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Booked the Gamekeepers cottage to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary and finding luxury space to accommodate 8 persons including an infant and dog under one roof is hard but Rivercatcher and in particular the Gamekeepers Cottage comes up trumps!

The setting is beautiful in lovely Welsh countryside and overlooking the River Dee and the accommodation has been transformed into beautifully decorated and luxuriously fitted space. The four double bedrooms each with en suite facility are ideal, fabulous comfy lounge to easily accommodate all and brilliant dining kitchen.

The hot tub is a great addition together with the built in BBQ. The large garden was perfect and safe for children and small pets to wander around and our pre- Easter egg hunt was great fun also when other family members arrived for a visit.

The attention to detail was very noticeable throughout, clearly Jen and Andy have great taste and the hands on attendance of Aled if you had any maintenance queries (highly unlikely) was really useful.

You ahve plenty of nearby trips out including Lake Bala (and the train ride), Chirk Castle and LLangollen and we also enjoyed the lovely drive to the Pistyll Rhaeadr Waterfalls about 17 miles distant where we had a lovely lunch.

For a REAL treat we visited the Tydyn LLan (Michelin star) restaurant a short distance from Rivercatcher (1 minute by car!!). Yes its not cheap by any stretch of the imagination but the food was lovely.

We certainly hope to be back at Rivercatcher in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2017
How lovely to read your great review! It was lovely to meet you and I'm so pleased you had such a lovely time. Hope to see you again, Many thanks, Jen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steph b
Cheshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely”
Reviewed 22 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Stayed here for a weekend with my family, was so impressed with the cottage so luxurious and spotlessly clean, log burner and hot tub added bonus even though the weather wasn't great when we stayed had walks round the surrounding countryside, a meal at one of the local pubs (Dudley arms) and still made use of the hot tub in the wind and rain, totally chilled out holiday well worth a visit

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2017
Thank you Steph, great to see you enjoyed your stay and used the local facilities too. The Dudley is always a favourite as too The Berwyn Restaurant in the village and the Tyddyn Llan. Hope to see you again, many thanks, Jen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonedward...
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another great break at Rivercatchers”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second trip to Rivercatchers this time staying at the gamekeepers Cottage...Again the stay was flawless and we had a great time....would highly recommend this to everyone

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and great views/walks
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing