We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“6 days at Shepherds Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Local Welcome Basket
Bala White-Water Rafting nearby
Mountain Biking trails nearby and secure storage at Rivercatcher
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Bala, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Len H
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“6 days at Shepherds Cottage”
Reviewed 21 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

This really is the best holiday cottage we have ever stayed in. Beautifully situated in a peaceful and picturesque setting and close to Llandrillo village with a wonderful gastro-pub and restaurant. We were able to take walks from our doorstep through stunning mountain uplands - and with the benefit of returning to sink into our very own hot tub. The cottage was finished to the highest standard and was really well equipped. The nearby farm shop on the Rhug Estate was a great place to visit, not only for the range of local produce but also the opportunity to take the farm walk to see the Bison and Seeker deer.

On a couple of day we ventured further afield to summit Snowdon and visit Beddgelert (both about 50 minutes drive through the mountains).

It is hard to achieve hotel style and luxury in a self catering cottage but Shepherds Cottage does this - and some more. We received a warm welcome from the owners and they ensured everything was done to make this a fantastic and memorable holiday for us. We will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2018
Thank you Len for such a detailed and lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Many thanks, Jen & Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather B
Exeter
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful cottage and location”
Reviewed 20 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We could not fault this holiday. The cottage has everything you need and more. It is ideally located. We would definitely return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millink
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect place to relax”
Reviewed 17 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

I’ve just returned from my stay at Rivercatcher with my 4 legged friend.

We stayed in Shepherd’s cottage. A beautiful cottage in which every detail has been thought out. The underfloor heating was a definite favourite for the dog!

We both enjoyed our welcome baskets, with his tennis ball picked up from the minute he walked through the door!

The location is lovely with easy access to all the places we had planned to visit.

Aled was on site each day and really helpful and knowledgeable of the local area.

We’ll be back, we still have Snowdon to conquer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful and relaxing weekend away”
Reviewed 2 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Wonderful and relaxing weekend away. The accommodation is immaculate and very high end, combined with a fantastic hot tub! Will defiantly be visiting again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny S
Dulverton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 28 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Very comfortable warm cottage, all basics thoughtfully provided, dog loved the underfloor heating! Sitting room a bit small, but bedrooms a good size, lovely walks from Llandrillo, amazing food at Tyddyn Llan next door. Can thoroughly recommend this place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl A
West Hallam
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, dog friendly and added bonus of a hot tub!”
Reviewed 1 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed for a week in Shepherds cottage. The cottage was very clean and there was a lovely surprise of a dog blanket, bowl and ball for Rosie, our cocker spaniel. There was also a welcome hamper and a breakfast hamper in the fridge. The hot tub was a lovely addition and we used every night. We enjoyed walks round Llyn brenig, pisteall rheadr waterfall and we managed it all the way to the top of snowdon (tip - dont do the pyg track!). Th Rhug farmshop is also worth a visit. All in all a lovely stay and we hope to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B
East Sussex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Rivercatcher, our cottage was beautiful and so well equipped, everything had been thought of to make our stay so relaxing. The hot tub was a real luxury treat. Being able to find such a lovely cottage where we could also bring our dog was great.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing