We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family weekend”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Dolgadfa

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
6 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Bala, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mag237
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Family weekend”
Reviewed 7 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Together with my extended family we visited Dolgadfa over the weekend 2-5 June. The property is in a great location on the banks of the River Dee and the surrounding countryside is fantastic. The house is very well equipped the bedrooms spacious with comfortable beds. The 'outside living' area is extensive and very suitable for a young family. Many thanks to Lou and her staff do a great weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2017
Many thanks for your kind review and glad you had a good weekend at Dolgadfa, we hope to welcome you all back again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila T
1 review
“Dolgfada”
Reviewed 2 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We were a mixed family group from 60 down to 3 months.We had a lovely time ample space inside and out. Plenty of utensils perhaps it would be possible to have some glasses and cups etc in the annex to save the taking backwards and forwards for snacks

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2017
Thank you for your comments on Dolgadfa and that you had a good week at Dolgadfa. We take note of your comments as bout the extra cups and glasses for the annexe, as there is no kitchen over there, we tend to have all the equipment in the main house, but I think this may be a good idea to put a few over in the barn and will do so in the future. Hope we can welcome you back
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spanger20...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect accommodation, perfect location.”
Reviewed 17 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Fabulous, clean, well equipped cottage. Lovely Aga warmed kitchen. Room for 12 to relax comfortably. Great walks starting from cottage. Great pub food at llanderfel. Bala Town bustly and pleasant. Would go back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2017
Thank you for your kind review we are glad you had a good stay at Dolgadfa and hope to welcome you back soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel R
1 review
“Christmas 2016”
Reviewed 1 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

My family & I spent Christmas 2016 at Dolgadfa. The cottages are very spacious & situated in beautiful surroundings. We also took 3 dogs in our party & they loved playing in the large garden areas. The lady who rented out the property was very helpful on arrival but at the same time left us to enjoy our holiday & was not intrusive in the slightest. Bala is a lovely little village & providing you have access to a vehicle, you can see other parts of Wales quite easily. We visited Llandudno, Wrexham, Mount Snowdon & Bangor. All roughly an hour away or less. I would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed 23 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

A beautiful property in a wonderfully remote location. All my friends and family enjoyed it overall and we had some lovely walks with the dogs.

Very bitterly cold during the day with no option to put the heating on so fires are a must though not the easiest to keep going when you're not used to it and takes a while to heat the large rooms.

Comfortable beds and lovely to see so many original features throughout the property. Would make more sense for the dining room in the main house to be turned into a sitting area as the kitchen has a dining area plus a further one off it. A large party have nowhere to sit comfortably in the main house so we had to all go over to the annexe after we'd eaten and carry some chairs from the dining room over as we couldn't eat in the annexe becaue there is no kitchen, or alternatively fit a kitchen in the annexe.

Only bugbear nearby was from first thing to nightfall you can hear some sort of quad bike circuit happening in the distance which did ruin the peace a little. If that's goes on all year long I'd be very annoyed if I lived nearby!

My own personal opinion also is if somewhere is dog friendly there shouldn't be an extra charge for dogs, same as if somewhere is child friendly, but it's a non-refundable £25 per dog here in addition to a security deposit being taken. Also a £10 charge for wifi which no one used because it didn't work for longer than a couple of minutes at a time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2016
Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you found some problems with your stay at Dolgadfa, unfortunately we have to charge £25 per dog as not all guests are as tidy as you and some have left considerable mess after their dogs have been, sadly we are now not going to allow dogs from next year due to these problems. As for the dining room being were it is, it is more convenient for it to be next to the kitchen for obvious reasons. We are not allowed to have an extra "kitchen" in the barn annexe due to planning permission, the barn is ancillary accommodation to the main house. I am sorry that the WIFI was not satisfactory and as stated on our website we will of course refund you the £10 if it is not working properly, sadly due to the rural location of the property WIFI is not always great. As for the bikers across the other side of the valley, again this is out of our control and only happens on occasional weekends. I would like to say that it was a pleasure to do the changeover after you had left as the house and barn were left immaculate so thank you for that.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The huge space inside and the cottage itself is best.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Nov 2016
Thank you! Hope to welcome you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FayeB281
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Clean, cosy and spacious - perfect for a get-together with friends”
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We recently stayed for a long weekend at Dolfadga whilst visiting Wales to do the Velocity Zip Wire and Bounce Below.

The 2 x building are gorgeous, character properties with original features and open fires, there was plenty of space for all x 10 of us. Lots of kindling and wood for both fires making it the cosiest getaway!

You must visit the local pub for the Bryn Bara - best meal i've eaten in ages!

Highly recommended for a trip to Wales - it's around an hours drive from Velocity but with the best views around

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2016
Thank you and hope to welcome you back
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing