We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other travellers have booked this property
Double bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Double bedroom
lounge area pond, winter view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Double bedroom
lounge area
pond, winter view
kitchen
view from back door
View from lounge window
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bala, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Chris S
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed 26 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Tidy and well kept inside, situated on a working farm but we just wanted a place to sleep off our days out. Owners were more than accommodating and even gave us a tray of cakes!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire W
1 review
“A pleasant stay.”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I stayed in this cottage with my three year old daughter and my Father. Cottage was incredibly peaceful. The whole cottage was clean and tidy and made for a pleasant stay. The hosts were very friendly and on hand to light the fire and provided delicious cakes.

Look forward to seeing the property when the surrounding grounds are completed to match the smart standard of the house.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C
Sudbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth every penny!”
Reviewed 17 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We visited this property for two nights in May.

It is situated very conveniently should you be sightseeing in and around Bala/North Wales and is a very tranquil and relaxing site. We didn’t need to use it, but should you wish to do so, there is what looked like a very nice pub just minutes along the road.

I had been in email communication with the owners Yan and Bernie and found them to be very responsive and quick in answering any questions. They gave very thorough directions and on finding the location we were given a very warm welcome by Bernie who is an extremely interesting and friendly chap. His delightful wife, Yan also welcomed us with some tasty cakes which I thought was a very nice gesture.

By the owners own admission, this property is a ‘work in progress’ and as such it is located amongst many run down out buildings close to the main house. But, for me, not only did this add to the character, it reminded me of the classic case of ‘never judge a book by it’s cover’ as, whilst externally there is still some work to do, once inside, the cottage is absolutely delightful. Bernie is clearly a talented man who has done much of the work in renovating the cottage to a very high standard.

The cottage was very clean, has all the facilities you need and provides for a very relaxing stay. In the event you need something, Bernie encourages you to ‘just ask’. The lounge area has TV and a very easy to light and use wood burner – Bernie even supplies the wood! Upstairs there are two bedrooms which were a reasonable size, with towels and all bedding supplied which was immaculately clean. The bathroom is also good quality and there is enough hot water to fill the local river!

Whilst we were lucky with a fine spell of weather during our stay, Bernie still ensured the heating was on for us. We had asked him if it was OK to have a BBQ for our second night’s meal which he agreed to and on our return that evening we were very impressed to see he had provided some garden furniture for us to use and had also cut the grass – nothing seems to be too much trouble for this owner.

Overall this was a very positive experience for us and we would most definitely return without any second thoughts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly manner of owners
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beeali
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant and Adventurous”
Reviewed 7 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed the stay in cottage....Good hospitality by the owner... Services and utilities were good... A bit adventurous and mysterious.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brucespro
newport gwent
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed 30 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We loved staying in this really attractive cottage, The surrounding nearby are beautiful and the up the road (5 mins walk) is great. The heating is by a log burner and portable heaters but that was fine, we were plenty warm enough. The owners were lovely and welcoming, couldn't do more for us. The farm in which it is situated is a "work in process" lots of outbuildings surrounding are in a state of disrepair which, for us, gave the whole place more character, this is real life .. we would go back as in a heartbeat .. loved it!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendy f
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing