We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Self catering Waterhouse trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Lanark Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
New Lanark Mill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lanark
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Self catering Waterhouse trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Having stayed at New Lanark Mill Hotel for a friends wedding in 2010 and thoroughly enjoying our stay, we recently decided to try out one of the self-catering Waterhouses for a short two-night break. The accommodation had plenty of space, with a nice sized living, kitchen, plus large bathroom upstairs. The two bedrooms were downstairs and both were huge. The main bedroom had a double and a single bed, and still had plenty of open space for getting ready.

The setting right beside the Clyde was lovely and the view out onto the river was available from every room. The kitchen had every self-catering utensil and appliance you would probably need.

We booked into the hotel restaurant for dinner on one of the nights and the food was superb. Every member of staff we talked to over the 3 days were very friendly and helpful.

While we found the Waterhouse we were in to be in need of a little updating in places, it didn't detract from the stay at all as it had lots of charm and the location is fantastic. We'll definitely be back to stay in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pilsner78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsmanager, General Manager at New Lanark Mill Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
I just wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a favourable review of our Waterhouses and Hotel at New Lanark following your recent stay.

Since your stay we have completed a refurbishment of three of our cottages. We plan to do the same with the remaining five by the end of the year. I am confident that if you are to return you will see a big improvement. However I am delighted that although you felt that the cottage did require a little updating, you were not disappointed. It is always a pleasure to read comments from guests who say they will return again. We strive for this and try our best to ensure our guests have an enjoyable experience.

I am pleased to read that you also chose to dine in the hotel and that you enjoyed the food on offer.

On behalf of the team, thank you for posting a favourable review of our facilities and I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,
John Stirrat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,094
    372
    73
    26
    10
See reviews for
363
793
30
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

Big room, big bed, big view of the Clyde.
It has all the feel of a corporate hotel including the warm cooked breakfast in the big metal trays. These buffet breakfasts are disappointing.
Bar Meal was okay.
The main thing was the location in the amazing New Lanark Experience - well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nookman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsmanager, General Manager at New Lanark Mill Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at New Lanark Mill Hotel. It does appear that on the whole you had an enjoyable stay, although I am disappointed to read that you felt the hotel had a corporate feel. We are an independant hotel operated by New Lanark Trust and we strive to portray an individual image. I'm sorry if you did not experience that.

I am glad you enjoyed the location and that you were able to spend some time at the Visitor Centre. As you say, it is well worth the visit with so many things to see and do.

Hopefully the corporate feel that you experienced will not deter you from staying with us again.

Kind regards,
John Stirrat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012 via mobile

We spend the bank holiday weekend in this georgous hotel. It's our third visit this year alone and can't wait to return. The staff are so welcoming, food is outstanding and the accommodation is perfect.
If we lived nearer we would certainly stay there lots more.
Thank you to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Shelleydunbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsmanager, General Manager at New Lanark Mill Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Thank you once again for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor following your recent stay. It is always a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to your future visits. Your support is very much appreciated not only by me, but the entire team here at New Lanark Mill Hotel.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
John Stirrat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for three nights a couple of weekend ago for our son's wedding reception. The accomodation was excellent, service brilliant and the management team did all they could to make the occasion run smoothly.
There had been a problem over some room bookings early on, but the staff member responsible is no longer employed from what I understand, and the manager and his staff did all they could to resolve the issue early on - this certainly did not detract from what was a thoroughly enjoyable weekend for all the party.
I have two very small gripes - at the wedding meal, my wife asked staff for a decaffeinated coffe, which she was promised but never materialised. Would it also be possible for coffee to be available in the Robert Owen room at the bar? I had to go to the bar on second floor at ther end of the evenign to get a (decaffeinated) coffee.

Just to reiterate - a Big Thank You - should the need arise in the future, we will return.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep with the window open and are a light sleeper ask for a room at the front of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsmanager, General Manager at New Lanark Mill Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
I just wanted to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay. Sorry I have not responded sooner.

I am delighted that your son's wedding went so well and that you were very impressed by everything my team did to ensure this. We always strive to ensure our guests have an enjoyable time and its always very much appreciated to receive positive feedback.

I certainly hope to see you return again in the future and in the meantime please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any further assistance.

Kind regards,
John Stirrat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Spent a long weekend at New Lanark with two other couples, hotel was excellent; nice big rooms, great staff and wonderful food, could not fault it.

The whole area is lovely, the restored mill, school, houses and shop were really interesting, and the nature walks were good as well.

Highly recommend it if you are looking for a break for a few days, good to see that Scotland can produce something like this where history is preserved, but good hotel standards and value for money are also high on the agenda.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arolphAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsmanager, General Manager at New Lanark Mill Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
I just wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor following your recent stay at New Lanark Mill Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback, not only on our hotel but the adjacent visitor centre with all its attractions.

We strive to provide a high level of service offering value for money and I am pleased that you recognised this. I certainly hope to see you return in the future and if I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,
John Stirrat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
home
Level Contributor
286 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

we only stayed one night here, it is a beautiful building with some of the most beautiful views of the falls we heve ever seen.Parking could be quite difficult- especially if there is a wedding on.Reception is lovely homely and very welcoming,as was the bar where food and drinks were comparatively priced. Our room was very nice first seat on the bed -- it seemed very hard but was lovely to sleep in with the thickest duvet ever.We looked onto a lovely part of the river,and were able to see ducks flying in and out.Breakfeast was very substantial with a good choice of hot food and excellent service,it was a lovely day and a nice leisurly walk around just made it all the better for us.

Room Tip: Overlooking the river is good (maybe they all do ) it's very theraputic just watching out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janiceHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turriff
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed at this hotel to attend a wedding and found it to be very mixed. The website gave the impression it was a top class place but we found everything to be quite average. There was nothing particularly bad, but nothing very good either. Booking was not as trouble free as it should be as every time we or another couple who were staying phoned we got different prices and different availability on the same day. We ended up booking through late rooms and the hotel still made a mistake. Any problems were rectified politely and promptly by staff though. All food was fine but not fantastic (buffet breakfast). View from room was very good and the room itself was very spacious and clean. All in all staff good, food ok, room good but quite expensive for what it is and we wouldn't return unless someone else decides to get married there!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanark
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge Hotel
7.7 mi away
Radstone Hotel
Radstone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larkhall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
6.4 mi away
Popinjay Hotel
Popinjay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosebank
3.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Tinto Hotel
Tinto Hotel
#2 of 3 in Biggar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
15.1 mi away
Macdonald Crutherland House
Macdonald Crutherland House
#3 of 7 in East Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
9.7 mi away
Cornhill Castle Hotel
Cornhill Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coulter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Lanark Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Lanark Mill Hotel

Property: New Lanark Mill Hotel
Address: Mill One | New Lanark, Lanark ML11 9DB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Lanark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lanark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — New Lanark Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Lanark World Heritage Site is a truly unique setting. Surrounded by native woodlands and close to the famous Falls of Clyde, New Lanark was founded in 1785 as a cotton spinning village and became famous as the site of Robert Owen's pioneering social reforms. Now beautifully restored, New Lanark is both a living community and tourist attraction. New Lanark Mill Hotel is a stunning award winning conversion from an original 18th century mill. It offers fantastic views across the surrounding conservation area and River Clyde ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your New Lanark Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Lanark Mill
New Lanark Mill Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing