We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderfully relaxing short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Lanark Mill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lanark
Certificate of Excellence
Oban
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A wonderfully relaxing short break”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

New Lanark is a favourite location but we hadn't visited for a few years. We have just enjoyed a two night stay via 5pm Deals at the Mill Hotel. Our room was luxurious and very well appointed. It was very hot but a fan is provided. The staff are all very helpful and friendly, most approachable, the evening menu is out of this world and the portion sizes excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our three course meal on both occasions. Breakfast was good. The Internet was down whilst we were there and we were worked one morning at 5am by a fire alarm fault..but we still enjoyed our visit. We used the leisure facilities which were good. A word of advice: if wanting a beauty treatment, book well in advance before coming as they are very busy. We enjoyed the New Lanark attractions and enjoyed seeing what had been developed since our last visit. 5pm Deals cheated somewhat in advertising the deal as having 25% off attraction entry and 10% off beauty treatments and free use of leisure facilities - all guests staying at the hotel have all of that anyway!! It is a particular pleasure to walk around the mills after visitor's closing times - it is so peaceful and quiet, with just the river noise. The Falls of Clyde Walks are well signposted and the paths are good. A thoroughly enjoyable two days.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaneyBOban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,180
    392
    79
    27
    10
See reviews for
387
856
31
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bannockburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Booked a Classic Britain deal for a one night "romantic" break for a Sunday night DBB plus Strawberries & Champagne for £49pp. We found the hotel and surrounding attraction fabulous and our room had a fantastic view of the River Clyde, the room itself was spacious and clean. The food was superb with a lovely a la carte menu to choose from and the staff were polite and courteous. We will return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeSmith1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Great food, lovely room and views. A very comfortable stay & even with a wedding party no noise was heard. Would definitely recommend and will definitely be back in the future. Enjoyed nice local walks too. All staff we encountered were very pleasant and happy to help.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rhona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had our wedding here on May 25th 2014 and could not have wished for a better day. Rachel was our wedding co-ordinator and did a fantastic job of making the whole process smooth, relaxed and informal, which is just what we were looking for.
The accommodation both in the hotel itself and in the self-catering waterhouses was superb and allowed the whole wedding party to stay the night before the wedding without the risk of bumping into each other in the morning. We had a family meal in the restaurant the night before the big day which was delicious and reasonably priced. The wedding breakfast was excellent and thoroughly enjoyed by all guests.
All of the staff were very polite, efficient and attentive to the needs of both the wedding party and guests. We would highly recommend New Lanark Mill hotel to anyone looking for the perfect wedding venue.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
994 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 441 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed here and it was just as enjoyable as the first stay. The restaurant has been refurbished and looks better.... The sounding doorbell can be a little annoying, surely the waiting staff could carry an alarm which vibrates/ flashes on their wrist when food is ready in the kitchen!

Staff were pleasant and helpful , we were able to have some 'banter' with the staff on both nights we ate in he restaurant. The food was exciting.
Staying mid week meant the hotel and pool were not too busy.
Our bedroom was on the 6th (Top) floor with views of River Clyde. It was a nice room our only issue was the that the bed was too firm for us (we have a softer bed at home) also there was a plastic mattress protector which made our sleep uncomfortable.
Besides a kettle we also had an Espresso machine and coffee pods

Overall we had a very good relaxing stay and would certainly return again (if the mattress protectors can be removed!)
Situated on a world Heritage Site, allows you to enjoy a peaceful and enjoyable environment. We were unable to book any of the Spa services as they had no appointments (enough staff) available on either day. Prices are very reasonable and I would suggest you make appointments before you arrive.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OldBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I bought a groupon voucher for a spa day which included treatments, lunch and access to the facilities. It was fantastic and the staff went out of their way to make sure we had a great day. I have been to Stobo and I would say this comes in a very close second for the Way we were treated and the treatments themselves. I really couldn't fault this spa in anyway and I can't wait to go back!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sammyanne08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
185 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We went for three day DBB deal and I don't understand how they did it for the money. The room was clean, spacious and a great view of the Clyde, but I think they all do. The dinner menu is apparently there for the season but there was plenty of choice and none, between us, disappointed. Breakfast was always good too. To cap it all the staff, to a person, were pleasant and helpful. My only gripe would be that there was a wedding reception on the Friday night and although our room was two floors above it, I still felt a part of it until it stopped at around midnight. There's a pleasant walk along the Clyde as well as the heritage centre, the tickets for which were included the cost, all well worth a visit.

Room Tip: The top floor (6) is the furthest away from the function room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tilt-scale-gyro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanark
1.3 mi away
Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel
6.4 mi away
Popinjay Hotel
Popinjay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosebank
591 reviews
7.6 mi away
Radstone Hotel
Radstone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larkhall
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Tinto Hotel
Tinto Hotel
#2 of 3 in Biggar
248 reviews
6.5 mi away
Robertson Arms Hotel
Robertson Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnwath
166 reviews
23.1 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Lanark Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Lanark Mill Hotel

Property: New Lanark Mill Hotel
Address: Mill One | New Lanark, Lanark ML11 9DB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Lanark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lanark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — New Lanark Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Lanark World Heritage Site is a truly unique setting. Surrounded by native woodlands and close to the famous Falls of Clyde, New Lanark was founded in 1785 as a cotton spinning village and became famous as the site of Robert Owen's pioneering social reforms. Now beautifully restored, New Lanark is both a living community and tourist attraction. New Lanark Mill Hotel is a stunning award winning conversion from an original 18th century mill. It offers fantastic views across the surrounding conservation area and River Clyde ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your New Lanark Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Lanark Mill
New Lanark Mill Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing