We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, beautiful and wonderfully relaxing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lanark
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Muirhall Luxury Holiday Cottages
Reviewed 11 June 2012

All through booking process and on arrival customer service was excellent. A real home from home feel, we really enjoyed our week and wished we could have stayed longer. We are a family of 3 and the Hayloft was perfect for what we were after - peace and quiet after busy days out and about. Edinburgh day trips were a scenic drive away and everywhere you looked was picture postcard material. Thanks for a wonderful holiday, would thoroughly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

Muirhall was a great find. We stayed in The Byre which is suitable for 2 : downstairs has the kitchen & living space, upstairs the bedroom & bathroom. The cottage was cosy, clean & price appropriate. All local TV channels are available as well as hundreds of continental channels, DVD player (with DVDs available from the office if you like). The only issue we had was there was no wifi available within the cottage, we would have had to make use of wifi from the office but it wasnt the end of the world...just would have been more convenient. Other than that, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay & we"d be back in a heartbeat. Thanks Chris for making us feel so welcome!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ak0521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We got this recommendation from the parents-in-law of our daughter. Reality shows what pictures on web page are promising. We had a very friendly welcome and extensive introduction of Muirhall farm facilities by Chris. We booked Muirhall farm since it is centrally and close to Edinburgh and most interest places in the Borders. The Shire was a ideal place to plan our daily excursions and to relax afterwards in the evening. During our 3 week holiday in Scotland we had 3 different cottages and Muirhall farm was second to none. We found Muirhall farm and surrounding area very interesting and worth for a longer stay than 1 week.
Eva, Thomas, Claudia and Georg from Cologne, Germany

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia_Georg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

From the booking to the end of the stay everything was 5*.

We stayed in The Ruin - and could not have asked for more.

Chris and Gabi both made us welcome and did all they could to ensure our stay was excellent.

It's a little remote - the mobiles and 3G network are 'sporadic' and the WiFi on site means that you have to go to the office or sit on the bench outside to get a connection - some may think this is bliss but if you need to stay in contact be advised.

Off the beaten track a little adds to the experience, but means that you have a 15/20 mins journey minimum to do anything - shops for supplies through to any visitor attraction. This is OK as long as you are aware in advance as there isn't a corner shop within walking distance! This did add to the charm for me.

So would I recommend or go back - most definitely to both!!! A real treasure and find.

Room Tip: Book in plenty of time to avoid disappointment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PMRMoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

A superb and convenient location for a visit to Edinburgh. This lovely renovation of farm cottages provides all the luxury and warm welcome that you could want in this peaceful corner of Lanarkshire.
We stayed in ‘Shire ‘ cottage, which has two en-suite double bedrooms, one of which is situated on a mezzanine floor above the living room. The accommodation is all new, tastefully designed and furnished and great fun.
Edinburgh can be reached by a twenty-minute drive to the park and ride or by train from West Calder. Either of these is a good option to trying to drive in.
A five star experience that we would firmly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

I very rarely give full marks for anything, but this is one of the few occasions where I consider it to be fully justified. The cottages are wonderful - clean, spacious, bright -, the atmosphere is extremely friendly and we almost immediately felt at home. We will definitely be back, and next time probably longer than the one week we stayed there. You cannot get it much better than here.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLubanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2011

My boyfriend and I had the pleasure of staying in 'The Byre' at Muirhall over New Year. The cottage was absoulutely beautiful with lots of oak and stone which made it very cosy. We definately hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mya_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lanark hotels
9.5 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
10.9 mi away
Station House B&B
Station House B&B
#1 of 8 in Lanark
84 reviews
9 mi away
Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Scottish Equestrian Hotel
0 mi away
No photo provided
Scottish Equi B&B
#7 of 8 in Lanark
19 reviews
9.5 mi away
Wee Row Hostel
Wee Row Hostel
#5 of 6 in Lanark
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muirhall Luxury Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muirhall Luxury Holiday Cottages

Address: Muirhall Farm | Auchengray, Lanark ML11 8LL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Lanark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Lanark
Hotel Class:5 star — Muirhall Luxury Holiday Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the Scottish countryside near the historic towns of Biggar and Lanark, and yet within 40 minutes of both Edinburgh and Glasgow city centres, the cottages are easily accessible by road or rail. West Calder and Carstairs railway stations are within 7-8 miles and pick up from the station is available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Muirhall Luxury Holiday Cottages Lanark, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing