We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lanark
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Muirhall Luxury Holiday Cottages
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

The best accommodation we have stayed in. I would recommend Muirhall to anyone. We had a great week exploring the area with Muirhall as an ideal base. I would like to thank Tracey and the other staff who are very helpful and knowledgable,nothing is too much trouble.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Simonio750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muirhall, Manager at Muirhall Luxury Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Hi you guys,
Glad you made it home safely,It was a pleasure to meet you all.
Thank you for taking time to write your kind review, much appreciated.
Fantastic that you had such a nice holiday and were so lucky with the weather.
We hope you will all make it back to visit us again soon.8-)
Even if it is a passing visit on your way to the Kilt shop!!!!
Keep in-touch, take great care.
Kind regards,
Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Krefeld, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

It was our first trip to scotland, and it was the best decision we´ve ever made to go to and stay at Muirhall.
Not only the wonderful and with love designed cottage made us feel like home, also Angela, Tracy, Chris and the kids made us feel like that.
The area is lovely. Although you need a car to get everywhere you like, it didn´t matter to us. We didn´t want to leave at our last day and decided to come back as soon as possible.
We love you guys! Hope to meet again soon.
Hughs and Kisses from Krefeld(Germany) Hilke & Yvonne

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H_Goepel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muirhall, General Manager at Muirhall Luxury Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Hello Yvonne and Hilke,

Hope you are both well and happy ;-).
Thank you so much for sending such a nice review.
We are so glad you both enjoyed your stay here at Muirhall.
It was a pleasure to meet you both.We look forwards to your return visit, although i am not sure we could laugh anymore on your next visit!! We sure did have some giggles on your last trip.

Keep in-touch and take great care,

Thanks again,

kind regards

Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Not long back from a great stay in the shire cottage. On arrival we were met by Angela, who could not have been more welcoming and helpful through out. We had 4 nights in our beautiful, rustic and luxurious cottage. Great for a total chill out peaceful break. Log fire and open plan living area adds character and comfort. Great find and quality.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank rod_cowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muirhall, General Manager at Muirhall Luxury Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Thank you,

For taking the time to write Muirhall such a nice review.

It was fantastic to meet you all and we are so happy you enjoyed not only your stay but your Birthday celebration.

Hope to see you again in the future, until then take care of one another, be happy 8-)

Take care,

Kindest regards

Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Calder, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Wow, that is the first word we said when we opened the door to our delightful cottage. We stayed in the Ruin and have never genuinely came across anywhere like it. Everything from the uniqueness,to quality, is second to none. Although we were out in the beautiful countryside, we were still close enough to travel to towns and cities with their many attractions. It was lovely to come back to at the end of days spent sightseeing. Muirhall was great for the days we just stayed in and chilled out. Chris and Gabi should be proud of what they have achieved. Everyone is so friendly and welcoming. The only downside was that we had to leave !!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANGELA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muirhall, General Manager at Muirhall Luxury Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you for taking your precious time to give us your feedback and thoughts of Muirhall.

We know you were busy sightseeing when you were here but it was also nice that the time you did spend with us you managed to relax and enjoy your holiday..

Our donkey and horses are missing all the yummy treats you kindly gave them.

We hope to have you stay with us again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the 'Shire' for a few days...standard accommodation was fantastic, real feeling of relaxation with very comfortable amenities. One small thing is DVD/TV is to small for size of accommodation...but this was minor. Outside, lovely setting for walks and nearby attractions.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2012

All through booking process and on arrival customer service was excellent. A real home from home feel, we really enjoyed our week and wished we could have stayed longer. We are a family of 3 and the Hayloft was perfect for what we were after - peace and quiet after busy days out and about. Edinburgh day trips were a scenic drive away and everywhere you looked was picture postcard material. Thanks for a wonderful holiday, would thoroughly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Austria, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Muirhall was a great find. We stayed in The Byre which is suitable for 2 : downstairs has the kitchen & living space, upstairs the bedroom & bathroom. The cottage was cosy, clean & price appropriate. All local TV channels are available as well as hundreds of continental channels, DVD player (with DVDs available from the office if you like). The only issue we had was there was no wifi available within the cottage, we would have had to make use of wifi from the office but it wasnt the end of the world...just would have been more convenient. Other than that, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay & we"d be back in a heartbeat. Thanks Chris for making us feel so welcome!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ak0521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lanark hotels
9.5 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
9.0 mi away
Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel
10.7 mi away
Station House B&B
Station House B&B
#1 of 8 in Lanark
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Wee Row Hostel
Wee Row Hostel
#4 of 5 in Lanark
46 reviews
8.2 mi away
Oakwood Boutique B&B
Oakwood Boutique B&B
#2 of 8 in Lanark
6 reviews
8.6 mi away
Scottish Equestrian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muirhall Luxury Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muirhall Luxury Holiday Cottages

Property: Muirhall Luxury Holiday Cottages
Address: Muirhall Farm | Auchengray, Lanark ML11 8LL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Lanark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Lanark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Muirhall Luxury Holiday Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the Scottish countryside near the historic towns of Biggar and Lanark, and yet within 40 minutes of both Edinburgh and Glasgow city centres, the cottages are easily accessible by road or rail. West Calder and Carstairs railway stations are within 7-8 miles and pick up from the station is available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Muirhall Luxury Holiday Cottages Lanark, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing