We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lanark
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely surprise!”
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Husband, daughter,son-in-law & I just back from a lovely overnight at the Cartland. We were all attending a function at New Lanark. All your staff were equally nice and helpful, from the first welcome at reception, night porter and breakfast staff. How nice it was to be greeted by Scottish staff.
My husband and I were originally from the Lanark area and many a good night we had at the Cartland over 40 years ago! Happy memories!
Many thanks for everything.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    66
    28
    21
    14
See reviews for
72
80
9
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

My wife and I have just spent 3 days over New Year at the hotel and had a fantastic time. All of the staff were pleasant, helpful and efficient, nothing was too much trouble.
The manager (Robert) was on site most of the time we were there and was always keen to have a chat and make sure everything was o.k. for us.
The Gala Dinner Dance was brilliant, with excellent food and service. We also invited some family for a bar meal which everyone enjoyed, the only slight criticism being that a couple of things were 'off' the menu and we weren't told before ordering.
We stayed in room 104 which was spacious and clean with traditional furnishings in keeping with the country house theme. Ensuite was functional with a good shower over the bath.
The Cartlan Bridge will be our first choice the next time we visit this area.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

On August 27th 2011 we held our 30th Wedding Anniversary reception and party and in the Baronald Suite of the Cartland Bridge Hotel.

The hotel and grounds are stunning and the interior of the hotel is very well presented and did not suffer from that old rundown look so often seen in other hotels of this type and age.

In the weeks prior to the function the Manager (Mr Robert Duncan) went out of his way to help and be of assistance, and the staff at the hotel were fantastic and extremely helpfull at all times.

Our function was held in the Baronald Suite and when guests arrived at the hotel all were greeted by the staff with a glass of champagne and a lot of smiles.

We booked a package at the hotel which included drinks for all guests on arrival, a glass of wine with dinner and for the toasts. It also included a 4 course meal with good choices from the menue and the food and the service was excellent.

I should also mention that as well as our function taking place there was also a Wedding fuction being hosted at the same time in another suite (the Lanimer Suite), and we feel that all due credit should be given to the hotel and staff for coping admirably with these both functions simultaneously, Excellent Service!!

The value for money, service and food were all excellent and everything went according to plan with the help from the hotel manager and his staff. All our guests commented on the great atmosphere, food and service.

Based on our experience with this hotel and staff we would highly recommend it to anyone for functions or similar events.

We cannot comment on the bebrooms/ accomodation as we did not require the use of them for our function.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auburn851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

great helpful staff, seanic location, good food. clean comfortable room. would quite happily book in here again when i need to stay in lanark. reasonable value for money. and great to get to sit in frount of the really wood fire after dinner.

Room Tip: room 105, we had a family room and it was lovely and large nice comfy seats in front of tv. shower a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertduncan11, General Manager at Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2011
Thank you so much for your favourable review following your stay here at the Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit and found the team and the hotel comfortable and helpfull.

As you say - you can't beat a good log fire - it just makes it feel like home.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future.

Robert Duncan
General Manager

Cartland Bridge - Large enough to cope - Small enough to care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Just returned from a couple of days break in Lanark. The Cartland Bridge hotel proved a very warm and welcoming place to stay. All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. special thanks to Scott for breakfast and his useful directions, also to Robert for his advice on local eateries.

Food was excellent, fresh cooked breakfast and on the evening we ate in the hotel food was freshly prepared and home made...yummy fishcakes!!!!

Would certainly recommend this hotel if staying in Lanark area and we hope to be going back soon.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grendel46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertduncan11, General Manager at Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2011
Thank you so much for your positive review of the Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel.
Guest feedback is of great importance to myself as it allows me to constantly monitor our performance as seen and experienced by our all important guests.

I shall most certainly pass on your comments to all of our small but dedicated team here at Cartland.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future.

Robert Duncan
General Manager
Cartland Bridge - Probably the best kept secret in Lanarkshire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

1st time here, Won't be the last, Lovely Hotel,in its own grounds quiet and peaceful, Period building and fantastic grounds, Booked for a One night and one room, The Staff and the Management go out of their way to make you feel like an "old friend" I was given room 101 lovely size, clean, and comfortable Slept like a log, To be welcomed in the morning with a delightful breakfast and met by the staff with big smiles, Sorry that it was only one night, but next time it will be longer, Its just outside the main town (1 mile) pleasant shallow up hill walk to the Train Station local buses, Banks Chemist, etc, and the return walk very easy, Good parking at the hotel and town if needed, Garden Center's close by,and lovely area to visit,
Does Best Western, Lanark and Scotland Proud

Room Tip: Room 101 & 102 Very Nice (Expect all to be)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lufc0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertduncan11, General Manager at Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Thank you so much for your kind comments following your stay here at the Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit and indeed look forward to welcoming you back.

Cartland Bridge - probably the best kept secret in Lanarkshire.

Large enough to cope - small enough to care.

thanks

Robert Duncan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strathclyde
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Stayed at the cartland bridge hotel in Lanark in September 2011, couldnt fault the hotel the staff were very accommodating and helpful we were at a tribute night the dinner we had was lovely then entertainment was good also. Our room was just what we required,. the bed was comfy the bathroom a good size tea and coffee in room and hairdryer in bathroom with the usual toiletries. I would stay here again and i would recommend this place the breakfast in the morning was yummy the usual help yourself to cereals, orange juice etc fresh fruit and pastries and the cooked breakfast was cooked to perfection so well done cartland bridge and the price was good also will be back at some point.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjjj129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertduncan11, General Manager at Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Thank you very much for the review that you have posted following your visit to our Michael Buble Tribute evening and your overnight stay.
I am really pleased that you enjoyed it.
Guest feedback is great as it allows myself to constantly monitor our service and quality levels as seen and experienced by our all important guests.

Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back .

Robert Duncan
General Manager

Cartland Bridge - Probably the best kept secret in Lanarkshire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanark
1.3 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
5.3 mi away
Popinjay Hotel
Popinjay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosebank
3.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
9.1 mi away
Tinto Hotel
Tinto Hotel
#2 of 3 in Biggar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Radstone Hotel
Radstone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larkhall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
6.5 mi away
Robertson Arms Hotel
Robertson Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnwath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
10.7 mi away
Cornhill Castle Hotel
Cornhill Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coulter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel

Property: Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel
Address: Glasgow Road, Lanark ML11 9UE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Lanark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lanark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stone's throw away from the Royal Burgh of Lanark, located in the Clyde Valley stands Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel. Completed in the late 1800's the hotel is the finest example of Sir John James Burnett's Baronial style of Scottish architecture and is a Grade A listed building. An hour's drive from Glasgow or Edinburgh, set in 19 acres of woodland, this 3 star hotel is virtually unchanged from its days as a splendid family mansion. Now the hotel serves as an excellent venue for business meetings, conferences, weddings and social events, each catered within a varied range of suites. Facilities accommodate gatherings for two or 250 guests, with ample free parking. Nearby attractions:-Falls of Clyde, Royal Burgh of Lanark, Roslyn Chapel (noted in the 'Da Vinci Code'), Lanark Loch, Clyde Valley Tourist Route, Tinto Hill, The Glenmuir Outlet. BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge - Large enough to cope - Small enough to care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lanark
Cartland Bridge Country Hotel
Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel Lanark, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing