We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty vile inn”
Review of Elstree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elstree Inn
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Borehamwood
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Dirty vile inn”
Reviewed 23 August 2012 via mobile

A friend and i booked in so we could go the the studios and when we checked in we wasnt there long enough to actually look around the room but when we got back too our room just how bad it was ripped bed linen stain on matress mould on window and in bathroom dead bug on floor we didnt sleep all night but when we phoned to see if we could get a refund we was told that we couldnt because the room was checked and cleaned as the receptionist did it herself (her standard of cleaning couldnt of been that good) also the electrical goods hadnt been PAP tested for over a year

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank staceythompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    30
    38
    18
    82
See reviews for
18
31
27
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Terrible that no one was here 24hours if there was a problem the room was in a vile discusting state dont think it was hoovered or polished and bathroom wasnt cleaned properly and the mattress has stains and bed linen was ripped and stained there was thick dust everywhere

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank staceythompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Borehamwood hotels

Lowestoft, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I stayed for 1 night to visit the TV studios and it was very convenient for my needs. I was given a free upgrade to a double room on arrival. The young gentleman was very polite and helpful. The room was tidy and had everything I needed. There was plenty of tea and coffee supplies and toiletries if you required them. Overall, I was very pleased and will definitely stay again in the future. A warm welcome and fond farewell from the staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2012

The irish lady in reception was very pleasant, she showed us to our room. The room was basic,clean and tidy. There was tea and coffee making facilities,TV radio, bathroom. The bedding and towels were clean and there were complimentry shampoos, shower gels and soaps. We stayed for 3 nights and it was an enjoyable stay. Being above Wetherspoons was a bonus as they did great breakfasts and meals.Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Perfect place for Olympic stopover. Station 5 mins, London 20mins and Weatherspoons downstairs. Free Parking. Good clean refreshing room and bed linen and towels in good condition. Pleasant and helpful lady on reception. Could not do enough to help.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 59r_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Rooms were not clean, bathroom was definitely not clean and the ceiling was horrid. Was booked in for a week, cancelled after one night because the room was really horrible. (See Pics) It doesn't look like what you see on the website. Told receptionist that the rooms are dirty and she didn't want to hear any of it and said the rooms are clean to her standards. Had to pay £100 cancellation fee, which was not acceptable. Will not go here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virgo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobham, Surrey
Level Contributor
107 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012 via mobile

Dirty, smelly run down place managed by the rudest miserable cow you'll be unfortunate enough to meet!
I complained about thR dirty bedding (stains and dirt) and the frayed dirty towel. I was told "what do you expect we're a budget hotel!"
I expect cleanliness...
£45 for the room - Ibis around the corner is the same price and clean!
Fire alarm went of at 4am not allowed back in till 5.05am but as it was a faulty fire panel fire service couldn't do anything so the alarm carried on all night.... Not even an apology from the rude woman...
Only good thing about this hole is the Turkish restaurant opposite! Avoid the Hellstree inn at all costs you'd be more comfy in your car....

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borehamwood
0.3 mi away
Ibis London Elstree Borehamwood
2.0 mi away
Ramada London North M1
Ramada London North M1
#5 of 6 in Borehamwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Elstree / Borehamwood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
3.0 mi away
Ramada South Mimms M25
Ramada South Mimms M25
#2 of 2 in South Mimms
3.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
2.0 mi away
Village Hotel London Watford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elstree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elstree Inn

Property: Elstree Inn
Address: 148-150 Shenley Road, Borehamwood WD6 1EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Borehamwood
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Borehamwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elstree Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elstree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing