We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room but not perfect stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis London Elstree Borehamwood

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ibis London Elstree Borehamwood
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Borehamwood
GreenLeadersBronze level
England
Level Contributor
190 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Nice room but not perfect stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Firstly this is a genuine review and my personal experience.
I have stayed here for two days and have found that the room was very comfortable although it was noisy from early morning traffic maybe double glazing could be considered.My towels were not changed on one day and I had to request these to be changed as they were dirty and wet.
The breakfast was in my view one of the worst I have encountered on my travels and I travel alot.
The scrambled egg was literally disgusting the containers for the food do NOT keep the food piping hot as the items at the bottom of the container are warm but at the top the food is cold.I did mention this to the staff but to be honest they did not seem bothered.The breakfasts need a total overhaul and a rethink.Try looking at the Premier Inn they have got it right! Alot of people were complaining while I was there and the tables were not even clean sometimes really no excuse here just bad management.When checking in there was a very unhappy customer making a scene about their room shower and it was not a nice environment.
Very disappointing to be honest.
Things could be alot better especially the food and remember people will eat in the hotel if the food is good and spend money which is more profit.
Hotel not recommended unfortunately.

Room Tip: Trya to get a room away from the main road if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrT98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisLondonElstree, General Manager at Ibis London Elstree Borehamwood, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Ibis London Elstree Borehamwood, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back at Ibis London Elstree Borehamwood and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Yours sincerely,

Melih Yanik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    325
    182
    76
    57
See reviews for
171
304
79
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dorset
Level Contributor
134 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 night whilst having treatment at the orthopaedic hospital at stanmore (10 minutes away) hotel was easy to find with a big council car park at the rear- you can get a voucher to park all day for free. The room was very clean with a comfy bed;we slept really well. Typical ibis toilet "pod" but this is a budget hotel which is half the price of seem of the hotels nearby. Staff were very friendly and we ate at the bar on the first nightmare. I had the tastiest gammon I have had.for ages at a good price. The only downside is the.noise - we had a room at the front and then is quite a lot of traffic noise. We had to open the window as we couldn't make the air con work and the road infront was very noisy throughout the night. However it wouldn't stop us staying again and I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisLondonElstree, General Manager at Ibis London Elstree Borehamwood, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
I very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Ibis London Elstree Borehamwood. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Please accept my apologies for the noise

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience

Yours sincerely,

Melih Yanik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Used this for over a week. Room was fine but noise is an issue. The room door has very little acoustic isolation. I was woken up several times each night by people's doors shutting and inconsiderate guests speaking loudly to each other/knocking on doors etc.
The main problem however was the local youths using the large council car park at the rear for impromptu football matches (don't ever park your car there overnight), shouting and hollering for an hour or two some nights, and, even more annoying, the car park appears to be a meeting place for 3 or 4 young drivers who love to race their vehicles round the car park while having most of their exhaust system removed
It was possible to shut the window (although it involved slamming it very hard to get it to shut), but then the room heated up making it all a bit uncomfortable. Although there is an aircon unit in the room, the hotel cannot turn this on unless the temperature outside exceeds 18 degrees.
All in all, if you have to stay there, and want a decent night's sleep, ask for a room at the far end of a corridor, on a high level floor, and overlooking the front main road not the rear car park.

Room Tip: Choose a top floor room facing the main road to avoid noise nuisance from large council car park at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisLondonElstree, General Manager at Ibis London Elstree Borehamwood, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Ibis London Elstree Borehamwood, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back at Ibis London Elstree Borehamwood and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Yours sincerely,

Melih Yanik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Used this as a base on a recent weekend trip to London due to getting a good price when we booked. We were more than happy with the stay.

Rooms were spotless, staff friendly and gave us a comfortable nights sleep at the end fo 2 long busy days spent in Central London. It is slightly out the way for getting to Central London but a short bus trip from the bus stop opposite the hotel and a 20 min train ride and you are in St Pancras station. would happily stay here again on future visits.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jambo4life1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisLondonElstree, General Manager at Ibis London Elstree Borehamwood, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
I very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Ibis London Elstree Borehamwood. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience

Yours sincerely,

Melih Yanik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Nice hotel booked on line,just to be outside London.Esay access from motor ways,not far away from Warner brops studios...quite comfortable rooms,easy to visit the surrownding area.Goood rates for rooms,well recomented.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grlover59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisLondonElstree, General Manager at Ibis London Elstree Borehamwood, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
I very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Ibis London Elstree Borehamwood. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience

Yours sincerely,

Melih Yanik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

good budget hotel, we booked early and got it for £32
not far from rail station for central London about 15 mins walk(£5 by taxi)
trains to London Blackfriars/london bridge which is as close to the centre as you want to be
rooms clean, comfortable and well presented
beds comfortable
bar on the expensive side, but it is London so its what you expect
staff helpful and attentive
free wi-fi works and is not that complicated to set up
parking is free in the hotel car park and you get a pass to display if you have to use the public car park which is behind the hotel, hotel is easy enough to find and is not far off the M25 or A1
breakfast a little dissapointing, would give this a miss if we stay again and go elsewhere
top end of the budget range of hotels, expect we will stay here again
note:- bit of noise from the road if you are on the front, but its not a major problem

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mhirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisLondonElstree, General Manager at Ibis London Elstree Borehamwood, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
I very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Ibis London Elstree Borehamwood. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience

Yours sincerely,

Melih Yanik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borehamwood
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Elstree / Borehamwood Hotel
2.1 mi away
Ramada London North M1
Ramada London North M1
#5 of 6 in Borehamwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Borehamwood
Travelodge Borehamwood
#4 of 6 in Borehamwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Elstree
Holiday Inn London - Elstree
#608 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
1.2 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
5.6 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis London Elstree Borehamwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis London Elstree Borehamwood

Property: Ibis London Elstree Borehamwood
Address: Elstree Way, Borehamwood WD6 1JY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Borehamwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Borehamwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis London Elstree Borehamwood 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Elstree Borehamwood is just minutes from Borehamwood centre and station, next to Millenium Studios and BBC. Easily accessible from M25 and A1, only 30 minutes drive from central London, and 20 minutes from Wembley Stadium. Kings Cross station is just 15 minutes by train. Stay in one of our 122 rooms featuring air cooling and broadband internet, and enjoy the restaurant, bar, and 24 hour snack services. Guests benefit from reduced rates at the adjacent leisure centre and pool. Free parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and ACCOR so you can book your Ibis London Elstree Borehamwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis London Elstree Borehamwood Hotel Borehamwood
Accor London Borehamwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing