We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great despite the Rain/Malgré la Pluie”
Review of ARGI-EDER

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ARGI-EDER
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ainhoa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed for two nights, after enjoying all the other hotels in Ainhoa over the years. Unlike the others, whose buildings are often over 400 years old, the Argi-Eder is a purpose-built hotel, in the tradition of the local Basque houses. So its layout works really well (e.g. the first floor exit to the car park - convenient for dealing with luggage). We's had an excellent dinner at the Argi-Eder on our last stay in Ainhoa and liked its gardens and pool. The food remains excellent - drawing on Basque food traditions with a light hand. The sommelier's assistance with local wines to match our dinner choices was much appreciated. The breakfast choices were also outstanding.

Our two-room chambre privilege was a suite, very roomy and comfortable with two balconies looking over the garden.

The weather was rainy and stormy, we didn't use the pool and looked at the garden, rather than walking in it. If a hotel can be excellent in these circumstances, they are certainly doing well. My spouse's one regret was that it was too warm to try the hotel's lovely selection of old armagnacs.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank anneverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
There are newer reviews for ARGI-EDER
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 9 nights and we loved every moment, the hotel is situated in an idyllic location and the staff where so friendly and accommodating, they speak French, Spanish and English and helped in anyway they could. The village is beautiful and so close to the Spanish boarder, you get the best of both worlds. The only downside is that the evening menu does not change, apart from that to find a fault would be difficult. We will be returning......

Room Tip: Because of the hotels location all rooms are in a quiet location the rooms at the front have the sun...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveA25260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BDottax, Propriétaire at ARGI-EDER, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir
we are really pleased to see that ou have enjoyed your stay in our hotel . Thank you for having let your review. About the menu, I can recommand to choose the half-board formula for a long stay in order to receive a day-menu proposal . Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This was a last minute change of plan after a delayed ferry and spectacular mountain thunderstorm persuaded us against camping for a night. The hotel is part of the Relais de Silence chain and was suitably tucked away and quiet. Our room was delightful and we had an exceedingly good dinner in the restaurant. The stuffed squid on lemon risotto was a particular highlight. Charming, helpful staff and great location. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cornish Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I just returned from a 3 night break at this hotel. We thought it was a great hotel set in its own grounds in a peaceful location. It is just a short walk into the pretty village of Ainhoa. All the staff were friendly and gave us a great welcome. The dinner was exceptional, also the breakfast. However as it was early in the season (the hotel had just reopened 10 days) it was very quiet, in fact one of the nights I think we were the only guests!!

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony or terrace with nice views.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BDottax, Propriétaire at ARGI-EDER, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Madam
we are really pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We wish to see you again in Ainhoa in the future.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This is a special place in a great location. All the staff were exceptionally charming and made us feel most welcome and comfortable. The dinner was utterly delicious and memorable and a great breakfast as well! Worth a visit in this stunning area of France!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scooter0559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This was our second visit and we were just as impressed. Again just one night but the staff remembered us from last year. The location is within easy walking of Ainhoa which is a charming Basque village very close to the Spanish border. The hotel is in it's own extensive grounds with mature shrubs and trees. It has an outdoor swimming pool and tennis courts. The rooms are large and comfortable, most with balconies with views over the surrounding countryside. The dinner was in the "gastronomic " category and the service was friendly, charming and very professional. There is plenty of parking, a lounge and free WiFi in all rooms. I cannot fault this hotel and we will have no hesitation in returning again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We Stayed for three nights. The hotel is in a beautiful country location. The room was very comfortable, and the swimming pool excellent for a hotel of this size. We were a little disappointed with the restaurant for dinner. I did not think the food was up to the standard of other restaurants in the Basque Country

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EDW99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ainhoa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ithurria
Hotel Ithurria
#2 of 4 in Ainhoa
171 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Ursula
Hotel Ursula
#1 of 7 in Cambo les Bains
330 reviews
6.1 mi away
Auberge Basque
Auberge Basque
#1 of 6 in Saint-Pee-sur-Nivelle
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
La Reserve
La Reserve
#4 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
706 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Maison Oppoca Hotel Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ur Hegian
Hotel Ur Hegian
#3 of 4 in Ainhoa
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ARGI-EDER? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARGI-EDER

Address: Route de la Chapelle | Quartier Boxate, 64250 Ainhoa, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Ainhoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ainhoa
Price Range: £89 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ARGI-EDER 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family-run 4 stars hotel is located in a peaceful and quiet place at only 300 m of the Ainhoa center (one of the most beautiful villages in France). Traditional cooking in a modern way by Philippe Dottax, the young Chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your ARGI-EDER reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing