We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”
Review of ARGI-EDER

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ARGI-EDER
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ainhoa
Certificate of Excellence
Auburn, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We spent a night at the Argi Eder and it was one of our better hotel experiences over the course of three trips to France. I call it a hidden gem because it's tucked away around a corner, a short stroll from Ainhoa's main street. It gives the place a quiet and secluded feel, even though you can walk into the middle of town in 3 or 4 minutes. The hotel is charming, with plenty of antique decor. Our room was clean, comfortable, reasonably spacious and very bright, with large glass doors opening onto our private balcony. The climate control and free wi-fi were both appreciated. The Argi Eder has a very large and inviting pool as well, perfect for a hot day. We had dinner at the hotel and the restaurant is very high quality. It was definitely a contender for best meal of the trip. Overall it was a very good experience and I wouldn't hesitate to return or recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaineScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    66
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
45
226
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed for two nights, after enjoying all the other hotels in Ainhoa over the years. Unlike the others, whose buildings are often over 400 years old, the Argi-Eder is a purpose-built hotel, in the tradition of the local Basque houses. So its layout works really well (e.g. the first floor exit to the car park - convenient for dealing with luggage). We's had an excellent dinner at the Argi-Eder on our last stay in Ainhoa and liked its gardens and pool. The food remains excellent - drawing on Basque food traditions with a light hand. The sommelier's assistance with local wines to match our dinner choices was much appreciated. The breakfast choices were also outstanding.

Our two-room chambre privilege was a suite, very roomy and comfortable with two balconies looking over the garden.

The weather was rainy and stormy, we didn't use the pool and looked at the garden, rather than walking in it. If a hotel can be excellent in these circumstances, they are certainly doing well. My spouse's one regret was that it was too warm to try the hotel's lovely selection of old armagnacs.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anneverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 9 nights and we loved every moment, the hotel is situated in an idyllic location and the staff where so friendly and accommodating, they speak French, Spanish and English and helped in anyway they could. The village is beautiful and so close to the Spanish boarder, you get the best of both worlds. The only downside is that the evening menu does not change, apart from that to find a fault would be difficult. We will be returning......

Room Tip: Because of the hotels location all rooms are in a quiet location the rooms at the front have the sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveA25260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BDottax, Propriétaire at ARGI-EDER, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir
we are really pleased to see that ou have enjoyed your stay in our hotel . Thank you for having let your review. About the menu, I can recommand to choose the half-board formula for a long stay in order to receive a day-menu proposal . Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, England
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This was a last minute change of plan after a delayed ferry and spectacular mountain thunderstorm persuaded us against camping for a night. The hotel is part of the Relais de Silence chain and was suitably tucked away and quiet. Our room was delightful and we had an exceedingly good dinner in the restaurant. The stuffed squid on lemon risotto was a particular highlight. Charming, helpful staff and great location. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornish Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I just returned from a 3 night break at this hotel. We thought it was a great hotel set in its own grounds in a peaceful location. It is just a short walk into the pretty village of Ainhoa. All the staff were friendly and gave us a great welcome. The dinner was exceptional, also the breakfast. However as it was early in the season (the hotel had just reopened 10 days) it was very quiet, in fact one of the nights I think we were the only guests!!

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony or terrace with nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BDottax, Propriétaire at ARGI-EDER, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Madam
we are really pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We wish to see you again in Ainhoa in the future.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arricau-Bordes, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This is a special place in a great location. All the staff were exceptionally charming and made us feel most welcome and comfortable. The dinner was utterly delicious and memorable and a great breakfast as well! Worth a visit in this stunning area of France!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scooter0559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deux-Sevres, France
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This was our second visit and we were just as impressed. Again just one night but the staff remembered us from last year. The location is within easy walking of Ainhoa which is a charming Basque village very close to the Spanish border. The hotel is in it's own extensive grounds with mature shrubs and trees. It has an outdoor swimming pool and tennis courts. The rooms are large and comfortable, most with balconies with views over the surrounding countryside. The dinner was in the "gastronomic " category and the service was friendly, charming and very professional. There is plenty of parking, a lounge and free WiFi in all rooms. I cannot fault this hotel and we will have no hesitation in returning again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ainhoa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ithurria
Hotel Ithurria
#2 of 4 in Ainhoa
165 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Ursula
Hotel Ursula
#1 of 7 in Cambo les Bains
327 reviews
6.1 mi away
Auberge Basque
Auberge Basque
#1 of 6 in Saint-Pee-sur-Nivelle
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
La Reserve
La Reserve
#4 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
679 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Maison Oppoca Hotel Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ur Hegian
Hotel Ur Hegian
#3 of 4 in Ainhoa
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ARGI-EDER? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARGI-EDER

Property: ARGI-EDER
Address: Route de la Chapelle | Quartier Boxate, 64250 Ainhoa, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Ainhoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ainhoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ARGI-EDER 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family-run 4 stars hotel is located in a peaceful and quiet place at only 300 m of the Ainhoa center (one of the most beautiful villages in France). Traditional cooking in a modern way by Philippe Dottax, the young Chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ARGI-EDER reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing