We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Provencal cuisine”
Review of Le Provencal

Le Provencal
Ranked #3 of 14 Restaurants in Aups
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Provencal cuisine”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We dined at Le Provencal during our honeymoon and are so pleased we did. The provencal menu is packed with delicious dishes. Between us we tried the escargots, vegetable soup, sting ray, rabbit, duck, creme brulee and chocolate mousse. Every single dish was DELICIOUS! the waitresses were friendly and the restaurant was packed with locals, which is always a good sign. We hope we get a chance to return!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank PaulandAbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    124
    36
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Provencal by name, Provencal by taste”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Pleasant mid range, village restaurant in the largest of Aups hotels. On a May Monday evening, there's not much culinary choice in a town like Aups and we did well with this last minute find. The waitress made the evening with her charming service and clear desire to do anything to help. Aups being the truffle centre of Provence, there are many truffleicious options on the menu - including tagliatelle and beef fillet, but I opted for a straightforward and simple beef fillet with a pepper sauce - perfectly cooked to my instruction and good quality meat, accompaned with some pan-fried courgettes and a stuffed potato. My partner had a magret de canard with honey - pretty good, although we had to ask for a replacement when the first offering was over-cooked (actually our fault probably, so we agreed a small surcharge)...but no sign of bad humour on their part! Some nice ice creams for dessert and a reasonable bill.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GrantCalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent experience & food”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Very popular place this one...whilst others were empty this was full, so that was an encouraging sign. It's a lovely room, for a start, and there is a 250 year old tree in the courtyard. In summer it would be a lovely place to sit outside. The tomato soup was utterly yum. My honey duck was great...served with a very original potato with stuffed tomato perched on top. Cant go wrong with coconut icecream I say!

The service was superb. What a lovely waitress. She got a very good tip from us

Make sure if you like it pink, that you ask for your duck rosé...because the cuisson is just a tiny bit over what you ask

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AshleyGlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent traditional Provencal meal”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We have been in Var for a week and this was our last restaurant meal. Our family enjoyed the ambience and decor - unfortunately inside and not under the vines, but attractive nonetheless. I had the Provencal menu - a Salad for starter, pork as mains and lemon tart to end for 16 Euro. The food was very good and the portions more than generous. Highly recommended

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 450DEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Review for hotel not restaurant”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Stayed in room 3 in the hotel, worst experience ever. Staff were friendly, room itself was ok for the price, but overnight was horrendous - heating system incredibly noisy (even noisier when the radiator valve was actually turned on), and a mechanical buzzing sound happened every 30 seconds for 10 seconds. Impossible to stay asleep, we watched the hours tick by (reception unmanned through the night) and were glad when 7am came by and we could escape to buy breakfast elsewhere. No-one to complain to, just a kitchen porter to take our key. Cannot recommend this place for sleeping!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Le Provencal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing