We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect house in a superb position for many...”

Review of La Crouzette

La Crouzette - a house with majestic views of the historic castle and surrounding valley.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
La Crouzette - a house with majestic views of the historic castle and surrounding valley.
A private pool, overlooked by nothing but lush green valley. Open lounge & dining room with tv, dvd, wifi and stereo to help you unwind.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
La Crouzette - a house with majestic views of the historic castle and surrounding valley.
A private pool, overlooked by nothing but lush green valley.
Open lounge & dining room with tv, dvd, wifi and stereo to help you unwind.
A light, airy and spacious living room with great views.
The living room, looking through to the dining room.
Enjoy outdoor dining - with prime views of the golden castle and lush green valley hills.
Use our bbq with fresh food from Castelnaud village or Sarlat market. Yummy!
Make use of the bbq and watch the starry skies if you decide to have a night in.
When you hear the roar of the burners, you'll know there's a hotair balloon near by!
Hire canoes and pass chateaux, Roque Gageac, Castelnaud & Beynac castles
One of 3 double bedrooms (+ 1 twin room), all beautifully decorated.
Modern and well equipped kitchen with dining table.
Private pool with private valley views in this relaxing sun trap.
Visit Castelnaud castle & see the village, Dordogne river and valley from the turrets.
Walk up to the castle or down to the river - they're both so close.
Don't miss market days in the gorgeous medieval town of Sarlat.
Sarlat is less than 20 mins by car. Markets, restaurants, church, entertainment!
Lots of entertainment on in Sarlat during the summer.
La Roque Gageac is only 5 mins away by car and not much more by canoe!
The bastide of Domme is close by, with a history of The Knights Templar!
Great food + wine! Dinner party outside.
The ideal French getaway.
Chilling in the pool on a hot day.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Castelnaud-la-Chapelle, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Margaretm...
Hawkhurst, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A perfect house in a superb position for many attractions.”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We were a family of 6 adults and 2 children (3 generations) and the house was perfect. We had many lovely meals outside and particularly enjoyed the magical evenings when the hot air balloons would go past. The position made for easy access to the many attractions of the Dordogne.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scook2014
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gorgeous house with beautiful views”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed here 28 June 2014 to 5.7.14.

The house is lovely , light and airy with views from every window. Great pool area,gardens and verandah, . It was peaceful , but just a short walk ( 5/10 minutes ) up to Castlenaud Medieval Village with restaurants, creperie , bars, although we were slightly early in the season so they were not all open. At the bottom of the hill there are more facilities , a small supermarket , bar , canoeing, 5 minutes by car.

The house is perfectly placed to visit tourist attractions. We visited pre-historic caves , went canoeing , visited Domme, Beynac , Le Bugue and it is only 20 minutes by car to the lovely Medieval town of Sarlat which has great restaurants and street entertainment in the evenings.

We have been to this area before and love it, there is so much to see. This is the best house we have stayed in and we would definitely go there again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely views from each window , light and airy.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GML385
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not as good as it looks”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This house is beautiful to look at and in an ideal location. However it is not well looked after. When we stayed there in July 2014 the smell of dampness in the basement made one of the bedrooms unusable. There is no TV reception, as there is no aerial or satellite dish. The shower was only semi-operable. Some of the electrical appliances and fittings were on their last legs or broken. There was a mouse living in the house which came out at night.

It is a pity to have to publish these details, but I think the owner needs to be encouraged to invest an appropriate amount of money in this property, which has the potential to be an excellent holiday home. Based on my own experience I could not recommend it for the money being asked.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2014
We are truly sorry that, in this instance, you were not entirely satisfied with your stay. We take great care to ensure everyone's stay is as enjoyable as possible. Therefore, we have taken your comments on board and have investigated and rectified any issues we have found, which turned out to be minor (such as replacing one of the fans).

Nevertheless, we are disappointed and surprised that the issues you mention were not brought to our attention during your 14-night stay. Had they been brought to the attention of our agents (via the contact numbers given), I am sure any matters could have been addressed there and then. If our agents are unaware of any problems, they are obviously not able to rectify things. It helps no one to only report any problems once you have returned home.

We feel that your review was very harsh. For example, to put your scores in perspective, 3/5 for the lovely Laura Ashley and John Lewis bedding seems extremely odd. And we have only ever been praised for the fully equipped kitchen (it is our French home, not just a gite, and is equipped accordingly). Our agents have investigated and report no problem with damp. And the website does clearly state that the TV is supplied solely for use with the DVD player (although channels are being seriously considered for next year).

This is the first negative review we have received and prospective guests should not be put off such a great experience. We feel confident that the photos on the website and the other reviews given are testament to the love and care we give this house.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria...
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect house with perfect views in the Dordogne”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I have stayed three times now in La Crouzette and I think the location is more beautiful with each visit. The house is welcoming and large enough to spread out to have your own space if there is a group of friends or large family. The house and gardens provide a lovely environment for lazy dinners to BBQ and pool side relaxation with a glass of wine where you can sit surrounded by tress, blue sky and views of a castle. The location is perfect as a base with many places to visit within a very shot car ride. I would highly recommend a visit and can't wait to go back next year!

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hal_Kidde...
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 5 March 2014 for a stay in July 2013

A top holiday experience throughout! After a long drive we were all amazed at how perfect La Crouzette is! Better than any of the pictures, our stay here surpassed all our expectations...perfect house, pool, gardens and surroundings. The View of the Castle and surrounding valley is just breath-taking and something we can all appreciate. Everything is close by, although a car is essential for supplies and going further on sight seeing trips. Booking was easy and support/advice was very good (Thank you David!) We definitely want to return here and will soon!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki959
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely house with great pool”
Reviewed 27 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here in August 2012, there were 4 adults and 3 children aged between 7 and 14. The house is in a great area with lots to do within an hours drive. La Crouzette is a lovely house which is well equipped. On the ground floor there is a double bedroom and laundry room, first floor double bedroom, large dining kitchen, large lounge with fantastic views and separate dining room, shower room (shower and sink) and separate toilet on the second floor there is a double and twin bedroom and a bathroom with bath, toilet and sink. The pool was heaven when we stayed as it was very hot - couldn't get our boys out! We really enjoyed our stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the pool
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lap7819
Leeds
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful rustic French house!”
Reviewed 9 July 2011 for a stay in June 2011

We loved this house! Perfect for families as there is loads of space inside and out especially having its own swimming pool. The house is picture perfect and the views from the garden are stunning. Its also a very private and quiet location not overlooked by any other properties. The house is beautifully decorated and has everything you need to a great stay. A short walk to the bottom of the road there are a couple of restaurants, shop, bakery etc. We would definitely recommend La Crouzette and plan to visit again next year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing