We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Purely Delightful!”
Review of Le Gue du Holme

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Gue du Holme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Aline and Dany Pignot at Le Gue du Holme. Aline greeted us upon our arrival and made us feel so at home. (She was very kind to converse with me in French, which I haven't used for 40+, even though she spoke excellent English.) Our room was very comfortable, with a lovely view of the back garden. The dinner prepared for us in the cozy diningroom was absolutely fabulous, finished off with the most amazing Crepes Suzettes prepared at our table by Aline. Merci, merci, merci beaucoup!!! They were out of this world! It is a great location for anyone visiting Mont Saint Michel, which we did, as it was only a short car trip away. We understand that the Tour de France goes right by their front door too! Breakfast was very nice in the morning....the eggs were cooked to order! Once again, Aline was taking care of us. I don't think this woman every sleeps!!! She was the consumate hostess and we would highly suggest this restaurant/hotel to anyone fortunate enough to be traveling in this area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2013

Excellent service and treatment one seldom receives in other hotels.The new owners refurbished the hotelthree years ago, which still is a work in progress. Owned and managed by a mature very professional couple in the branch. Attention is paid to every very minute detail, as both are obviously perfectionists. The hotel is well-organized, friendly, and safe location. You’ll feel at home immediately. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbmeyersr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Good location, some 15 minutes drive to Mt St Michel. Quite big rooms, everything freshly renovated and very clean. A pleasure to stay there, but as we were on a road trip we only stayed one night.
Parking available in the back with doors leading right to the hotel.
Very nice and helpful owners. We arrived quite late at night and it wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewelina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed here while on a 6 week tour of France as it was close to Mont St Michel. It was a pleasure to stay at, a peaceful village and not far from the bustle of Mont St Michel. The room was quiet, spotlessly clean and very nicely decorated. The staff were very helpful and spoke good English. As their restaurant was closed for the evening, they recommended a delightful alternative in a nearby village. Parking was on site.We have no trouble with recommending this hotel . Excellent value.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DandJAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We booked a four night stay here in late August as a mini holiday before getting the ferry back to Ireland after a road trip to Germany.

The hotel is in a small quiet rural village, which may not suit everyone, but it is well positioned for visiting Mont St Michel, St. Malo and numerous lovely Normandy towns and villages.

It is a family run business as mentioned in some of the other reviews, and the owners are truly hospitable and helpful people.

Our bedroom was most comfortable. Yes, both bedroom and bathroom are on the small side, but fine for a few days' stay.

The restaurant is a real highlight, and I can only echo the other positive reviews in relation to the food, service and value for money. Superb.

Breakfast is also excellent, with the emphasis on quality local products.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John5672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

One of the best experiences we had in France. The restaurant was first rate, the service terrific, and the rooms large an comfortable. IT was an easy drive to Le Mont St. Michel, and we wish we could have spent more time at this hotel and eaten more than one meal. A terrific place, and they went out of their way to handle our places. Definitely five stars to us.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Le Gue du Holme is a hidden gem & cerainly worth a visit. After a hectic day at Mont St Michel we enjoyed a lovely stay with a truely beautiful meal in the hotels restaurant. Rooms are well presented & yes as previous reviews state the bathrooms are on the small size but very clean & more than adequate for an overnight stay. The key for me however was in the service, staff are friendly & very helpful with all requests / questions. The restaurant is also very very good & we enjoyed a beautifully presented 4 course menu for 36 euros which I would of happily paid double for. The food was fresh with great flavours, prawns followed by fab Seabass, cheese & a melt in the middle chocolate pudding all with excellent service & a decent bottle of Loire red wine. We did hear the church bells (briefly) but I'd recommend a glass of Calvados Brandy to ease! Breakfast is again well presented with plenty of choice & a warm welcome. We would certainly advise a night at the Le Gue du Holme, a small family run hotel with excellent standards, good food & a view of Mont St Michel!! We'll certainly be returning next year which is always a good recommendation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dov6373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Quentin-sur-le-Homme
2.1 mi away
Best Western Le Moulin De Ducey
2.6 mi away
Altos Hotel
Altos Hotel
#2 of 5 in Avranches
231 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel La Ramade
Hotel La Ramade
#1 of 5 in Avranches
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Hotel Patton
Hotel Patton
#4 of 5 in Avranches
153 reviews
2.1 mi away
Auberge de La Selune
3.1 mi away
Hotel de la Croix d'Or
Hotel de la Croix d'Or
#3 of 5 in Avranches
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Gue du Holme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Gue du Holme

Address: 14 rue des Estuaires | Saint Quentin sur le Homme, 50220 Saint-Quentin-sur-le-Homme, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Saint-Quentin-sur-le-Homme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Saint-Quentin-sur-le-Homme
Price Range: £59 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Gue du Holme 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Gue du Holme is an hotel with 10 rooms and gastronomic restaurant. It is located in Saint-Quentin sur le Homme near Mont-Saint-Michel. The rooms are confortable and fully equipped with television, privative bathroom & WC and free Wifi. During your stay in our hotel, you will discover beaches of landings, the fabulous Mont-Saint-Michel, Saint-Malo… You will savor a local French « cuisine » in our restaurant with our large choice of menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Gue du Holme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing