We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel That Just Misses”
Review of Chateau de Lignan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chateau de Lignan
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lignan-sur-Orb
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Arrived at the chateau having, that morning, booked the 'last available room' only to be allocated a room that was not made up. We were then moved to another room where the air conditioning did not work - it was hot - and finally ended in a third room which was satisfactory. The hotel did not appear to be full at all. All three rooms were more or less identical and we could have been in a Holiday Inn or similar characterless hotel. The exterior, however, was very pleasant, set in spacious grounds with a medium sized swimming pool.

The evening meal was served on the terrace under the trees - a pleasant environment. The food was good but not outstanding unlike the price which was high.

A buffet breakfast provided a reasonable selection.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vjkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

The outside space, dining room and pool have the ambience and charm of a five star exclusive hotel but step onto the floor of the rooms and you could be in some shabby motel.
Our chambre superieur came with a plastic bath and very poor grouting. This made it hard to relax
Overall hotel is ruin by the state of the rooms

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoscoTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

When we made the booking we were a little disappointed to find out that we would not be able to eat at the restaurant, which had excellent reviews on here, due to a wedding that had been booked some time ago; however the help and assistance the staff gave me by email correspondence to find a good replacement was excellent, especially as my French is awful.

They not only provided a list of 6 alternatives (most of which are on trip advisor), but when my wife & I decided on which one, they even made the reservation for me.

We only stayed for just the one night yesterday on our way back from Spain & had no problem finding it just off of the Beziers ring road (D19). The building itself is exactly what you would expect with decent grounds and a swimming pool if you are staying longer; however if you are expecting the interior to look like a Chateau, you will be disappointed as it has been redecorated to a modern standard.

The rooms are clean and functional, no more, no less, with TV & wifi (only 1 device at a time though).

Possibly a bit overpriced for what it is, but not enough for me not to return.

Overall, wish we had more time to spend enjoying the surroundings, but will definitely return so we can go to the restaurant!

Stayed: August 2013
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

The drive from Provence to the Dorgdogne is long and we were looking for an intermediary stop as we headed North West from the indescribable comfort of Les Baux towards the next chateau on our route. Beziers seemed a good half-way harbour and, featured in the brochure of the ‘Chateaux Hotels of France’ we fortuitously found the Chateau de Lignan. It was the aerial photograph that sold us!

Built in the 9th Century, on the banks of the River Orb, and with 300 year old Lebanese cedars lording it in the 6 hectare park, the architecture and grounds of this former fortress are grand indeed. There is even a village church on the site - a stone’s throw from the reception desk - and the hourly peeling of bells, far from having a jarring effect, is inexplicably pleasant.

Our welcome was cheerful, the staff were pleasant and, as the sun was shining, we headed for the large outdoor swimming pool to soak up the rays until sunset.

This is a boutique hotel and not a chateau – the bedrooms will not stir emotions but they are comfortable and offer tea and coffee-making facilities, as well as free Wi-Fi. Remember you will not be paying an arm and a leg and, with a buffet breakfast included, a rate of around E120 for two people is very competitive for this quality of hostelry.

Then we made the delightful discovery that the restaurant is a culinary gem of note: indeed, it is an obligatory stop and almost a shrine for gourmets passing through this area of Languedoc. The menus are innovative, varied, delicious and inspired by traditional cuisine - also the prices are quite undaunting. It is really worth a visit just for the meal alone! Do not forget to book a table for dinner and, so popular is the dining room, that you should also request a time to dine or you might find yourself waiting until the other diners have left.

Once the summer residence of the high and mighty Bishops of Beziers, the elegant proportions of this huge L-shaped chateau invite you to spend the night in a cultural and historic place. (And I am still dreaming of the strawberry and apple tarts served as an adjunct to breakfast.)

This was our second visit and we will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Relais-Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We enjoyed our stay. From outside the castle is pretty, inside the atmosphere is a bit cold, partly because it is painted in shades of grey. It is decorated with modern art pictures, but none of the strange statues mentioned in some of the previous reviews are still there. The dinner was fairly good, with attractive food but relatively small portions. We were there on a Saturday evening and there was nobody over the age of 25 to be seen, so we had the feeling that the adults had gone out and left the kids in charge. They have four different types of room ranging from standard to junior suite. Our room had a very large bed (the mattress was a bit too old) and a good large screen TV and WiFi. It was very quiet and it was clean. The breakfast buffet was very good, even including some nice large fruit tarts. The bread at breakfast looked and tasted as if it was left over from dinner the evening before. We walked around the gardens, which are not very well kept. This sort of place should have a decent gardener. There was also an outdoor swimming pool which was green and a real mess, although the pool does not officially open until May (we were there in April). We also noticed that the pool had neither an alarm or a fence around it, which according to French safety regulations is not allowed, because a child could fall into it. On the whole it is worth visiting, although I wouldn't want to stay for more than a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zenMaster62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Welcome arrival for us and our 2 dogs. Room comfortable and clean. Quiet. Huge bed and lovely bedding. Lovely view of parkland. Friendly staff.
Comfy lounge/bar area.
Nice looking restaurant, but looked expensive.
Bedroom looked more like a good hotel room, than a Chateau Room, but as it was so clean this was not a problem.
Would definately recommend this Chateau to our friends and family and would return ourselves for another stay if in area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We have stayed at Chateau Lignan for maybe more than 15 years, over this time we have seen various owners come and go.
There is new owners now and things have improved quite considerably, rooms are being updated and the decor has been improved, its seen some quite odd decorative styles over recent years.
The new owners are changing things in the general day to day activity of the hotel, its has many conferences etc but the hotel does lack the hotel feel, there are no possibilities to eat in the hotel except at set meal hours, i.e. breakfast, lunch or dinner. As with many hotels it would benefit with maybe a bar menu from which guests could order snacks etc.
The staff do also tend to be hit and miss, I agree with other contributors service can be slow and a little sloppy. Possibly inexperienced staff could be the cause, which is not really suitable for this type of establishment. The chateau is the only decent place to stay in the area, as Beziers does lack a decent hotel in the centre of town, there are only motel type of hotels which have very small rooms and are not suitable for more than a couple of nights.
The chateau is situated in a beautiful park, the new owners need to ask their clients how they could improve their experience. Despite this whenever we visit Beziers , Chateau Lignan will be our choice as the plus points outweigh the negatives.

Room Tip: There is a junior suite at the Chateau, consists of 2 rooms, nothing luxurious but a little bigger s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ladygourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lignan-sur-Orb
7.4 mi away
Garrigae Distillerie de Pezenas
5.7 mi away
L'Hotel Particulier Beziers
5.7 mi away
Hotel in Situ
Hotel in Situ
#2 of 32 in Beziers
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Auberge de Val Moureze
Auberge de Val Moureze
#1 of 2 in Moureze
132 reviews
15.2 mi away
Hotel Navas Les Hauts de Moureze
4.8 mi away
Ibis Beziers Est Mediterranee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Lignan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Lignan

Address: Rue des Freres Piques, 34490 Lignan-sur-Orb, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Lignan-sur-Orb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lignan-sur-Orb
Price Range: £62 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de Lignan 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chateau de Lignan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Lignan Hotel Lignan-Sur-Orb

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing