We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This is Italy at its most beautiful”
other travellers have booked this property
Spello, North-South View (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spello, North-South View (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Unit#1 Living Room (photo copyright Geoff Beatty) Unit#1 Master Bedroom (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
149 reviews
Spello, North-South View (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Unit#1 Living Room (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Unit#1 Master Bedroom (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Unit#1 Master Bedroom (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Unit#1 Master Bathroom (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Unit#1 Kitchen and Breakfast Area (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Unit #1 Hallway with Hand Painted Ceramics (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Unit#2 Master Bedroom (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Garden Entrance to Unit#3 (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Unit#3 Upper and Lower Bedrooms (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Entry to Unit#4 (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Spello Walkways (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
East View of the Town of Spello (copyright Geoff Beatty)
Sunset View from Casa Spello (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Spello Countryside (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Sunflowers in Spello Countryside (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Fall at Montefalco
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Spello, Province of Perugia, Umbria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 149 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
klumby
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This is Italy at its most beautiful”
Reviewed 30 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Villa #2. It is well equipped...we are two adults and two daughters (14&11). Each girl had their own room. The villa is quaint and charming with lots of antiques to make it authentic. It is located right in the centre of the walled town. The town is just what you want a hillside ancient Roman town to be. This is a hidden gem. Great shopping and restaurants ....you have to go to Gusto's Bistro and say hello to Matthew. Not too many tourists as its 2 hours from either Florence and Rome...but both can be done by train for s days visit. You won't be disappointed with this vacation spot. We didn't give it a 5 star as there was a rooster that woke us up every morning and we had to close the window. Plus our hot water heater kept on tripping out and we had to reset it....a little bit of a hassle but nothing that a glass of wine couldn't fix! Nadia (the housekeeper) brought us freshly baked goodies on one day...everyone is so sweet!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2016
Thank you for your review. You will be happy to know that your water heater has been fixed. Glad that we were able to fix the problem in just a few hours. We have also told our neighbor to remove the rooster. Thank you for staying with us, please come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Owner rude and difficult to communicate with”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Spello itself is a wonderful town! I found communication with Gina to be quite frustrating - she first increased the price of our stay there, then the week before emailed many times with little changes to our stay. Meanwhile my questions to her were met with rude responses. We made some friends in spello during our stay there and realized what Gina charges is well above average.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
I would like to clarify that I have never increased the price of the Unit . In fact ,Ms. Liz paid exactly what is listed on our website and our advertisements.
When Ms Liz was quoted the rental fee + the cleaning fee she responded in an email: " Gina, That's okay about the fee ....." Had she told me that she wanted a discount, I would have been happy to give it.
I would like to clarify that I have never increased the price of the Unit . In fact ,Ms. Liz paid exactly what is listed on our website and our advertisements.
When Ms Liz was quoted the rental fee + the cleaning fee she responded in an email: " Gina, That's okay about the fee ....." Had she told me that she wanted a discount, I would have been happy to give it.
Ms.Liz received documents and instructions on how to meet our temporary keyholder Martina , and her tel. number, multiple times. I explained that our regular check in person was on vacation the day of their arrival. Ms Vitale kept asking for the same information ,again and again, and of course I kept resending it. One email after another.

I suggested that considering the heat in July that she and her partner may want to ask our temporary keyholder for a ride from the train station and I suggested that they may want to give her a tip of 10 euro (about $12) to help pay for the gas.
Ms Liz wrote an outraged emails back saying that I had not told her that they I charge an extra fee for the ride.
I explained that we do not include rides or pick ups from the Station, that this was simply a suggestion because our local taxi driver was on vacation. Ms Liz told our keyholder Martina that she would arrive around 6 in the evening. Then she finally arrived after 9pm. Martina picked up Liz and her partner from the station and drove them to the property.
Needless to say, Ms Liz didn't think it appropriate to even hand a small tip for the ride, considering that she was 3 hours late and considering that our temp keyholder had to cancel the rest of her schedule to accommodate Ms. Liz and her partner. Our regular check in person is also very flexible and do the best we can to accommodate our guests no matter the time of their arrival.
Although Ms Liz has sent an unusual large number of emails asking for information which were clearly answered in the set of documents that I had already sent to her multiple times. I didn't respond in any way rudely.

Regarding Ms Liz remarks that our charges are "above average," it is of course possible to find a cheaper simple room in Spello or a BNB. We have four units at Casa Spello: Ms Liz rented our Cleopatra which is an architect designed Medieval charming small house , built with beautifully carved peach color stone, complete with kitchen, washing machine, all the comforts, a beautiful garden with magnificent panoramic views. The property has one of the largest gardens in the historic section of Spello and it boasts some of the most magnificent sunsets. We are in the heart of the historic town and we charged Ms Liz euro 90 x night + a one time cleaning fee of euro 30 we have never changed our prices in 11 years!

Ms.Liz received documents and instructions on how to meet our temporary keyholder Martina , and her tel. number, multiple times. I explained that our regular check in person was on vacation the day of their arrival. Ms Vitale kept asking for the same information ,again and again, and of course I kept resending it. One email after another.

I suggested that considering the heat in July that she and her partner may want to ask our temporary keyholder for a ride from the train station and I suggested that they may want to give her a tip of 10 euro (about $12) to help pay for the gas.
Ms. Liz wrote an outraged email back saying that I had not told her that I charge an extra fee for the ride.
I explained that we do not include rides or pick ups from the Station, that this was simply a suggestion because our local taxi driver was on vacation. Ms Liz told our keyholder Martina that she would arrive around 6 in the evening. Then she finally arrived after 9pm. Martina picked up Liz and her partner from the station and drove them to the property.
Needless to say, Ms Liz didn't think it appropriate to even hand a small tip for the ride, considering that she was 3 hours late and considering that our temp keyholder had to cancel the rest of her schedule to accommodate Ms. Liz and her partner. Our regular check in person is also very flexible and do the best we can to accommodate our guests no matter the time of their arrival.
Although Ms Liz has sent an unusual large number of emails asking for information which were clearly answered in the set of documents that I had already sent to her multiple times. I didn't respond in any way rudely.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lazytrave...
Tacoma, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best location in Spello”
Reviewed 24 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We traveled as two couples renting the Mark Anthony and Cleopatra apartments. Both apartments were excellent. The Mark Anthony was very spacious and had every amenity you would need - full sized fridge, clothes washer, dish washing machine, gas stove, etc. The apt is stocked with tons of dishes and detergents. The bathroom was decent sized with a shower. The Cleopatra is like a studio apt, but very spacious as well. The WiFi in the Mark Anthony was great. There is A/C and heating available. In the Mark Anthony, there is a double bed upstairs with a window that opens to a great view. There is a partitioned bedroom downstairs with two twin beds. The apartments were meticulously clean. The location was the best. It's on the edge but inside the walled town. The views were spectacular. It was very quiet. Spello is a small town and you can walk to any restaurant or store you want (there are hills, of course - it is an Umbrian hill town). We had a car. Parking was easy if you park in the Piazza Republica, which is the closest to the apartment. You might have to pay a little depending on the days/hours, but it wasn't much (.60 euro/hr) and well worth it. There are a ton of great restaurants in Spello. We ate at a different one each day and all of them have a truffle dish. Nadia is the key holder (she checks you in) and is available for any needs - she is very nice and helpful. Gina, the owner, is very reliable to work with in booking. She is very responsive to emails and inquiries. We were lucky enough to meet her in person while we were there and we all went to dinner with her in nearby Collepino. With or without Gina, I would highly recommend the restaurant there (there is only one). The town is a very cute, almost abandoned hill town about 15 min from Spello. Gina did all of the renovations to the building, which used to be a cantina. The work and detail that went into the apartments is unmatched. Everything is high-quality and you really feel like you are in an old medieval building. The ABSOLUTE BEST part of these apartments is the garden area where there deck with a table and chairs. We sat out there every evening with our aperitivio (prosciutto, cheese, wine, fruit, truffle dip - all from the local stores) enjoying the fabulous views of Umbria. Sitting at the garden table, you are surrounded by lavender and rosemary and jasmine. I would highly recommend Casa Spello for anyone wanting an apartment-style place to stay in Spello. The prices are also very reasonable for what you get.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2016
We are happy to get your wonderful feedback and want to do the best we can to make our guests comfortable. Yes you are right we do have a huge garden, possibly one of the biggest within the historic village and the sunsets are waiting for you to come back. The restaurant in Collepino I took you to which I recommend is called: Taverna San Silvestro.

Thank you for choosing Casa Spello ,
Your Host Gina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
39betsy
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
“Can't imagine a more charming apartment”
Reviewed 4 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

First, I want to say that the town of Spello knocked our socks off. Beautiful, charming village that was an easy access to exploring all around Umbria. However, we were always happy to get back to our little Spello at the end of the day. That said, the apartment we stayed in took the experience over the top. Gina put us in the largest three bedroom because the others were already rented. She has done a painstaking restoration and staying there fleshed out the experience of being in a whole other time and culture.
The second floor bedrooms had beautiful views of the valley down below and lovely sunsets in the evening, sitting with a glass of wine. My husband spent hours early each morning sitting in front of the window journaling, and he was as happy and peaceful as I have known him to be. There is a nice size kitchen with everything he needed to make a big breastfast each morning, (after picking me up a pastry around the corner.) I really appreciated having a washing machine to do laundry.
The night we and a group of others that Gina had gathered together went to a nearby village at the top of a mountain to have dinner turned out to really add depth to our trip. It was a lovely experience to have deep intimacies with a group that started out as strangers.
I highly recommend this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The look of the apt.
Liked least: Spotty Internet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valeria g
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A perfect destination for a revitilizing holiday.”
Reviewed 4 June 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The location is definitively stunning. Rooms are equipped with stylish forniture and well cleaned. Lot of spaces fit for read, work or relax. The garden is really beautiful.Nadia who gave us the key is very kind and professional and available to respond to all your requests. Only point: wifi is not so much powerful everywhere in the house but there is so much to do outside! Gina the owners speaks a perfect Italian and cares a lot about people renting her house.I will return for sure!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2016
Thank you for staying with us, yes please come back. Most of our guests do! We do mostly repeat business.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartyDraw
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint, charming, fantastic sunset views, quiet and close to town center”
Reviewed 31 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great one month stay in the studio Cleopatra apartment. The owner was responsive and Nadia took great care of us while we were there. This apartment is small yet comfortable with all the expected medieval charm. The gardens were large and we rarely encountered other guests - it felt like our own place. The bed was a great size for 2 and the mattress very firm. Unlike many showers in Italy, this one was a good size and had great water pressure. It was a lovely apartment and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Casa Spello. We did see all the units and they all had the lovely medieval charm and are well appointed with everything you might need for a short or extended stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the Garden were fantastic.
Liked least: The apartments are a bit dark being of medieval vintage - there were lots of lights though.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cpw20
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment in a great town”
Reviewed 30 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Casa Spello is wonderfully positioned above the western walls of the beautiful hilltop town of Spello. We stayed in Augustus which is very comfortable and well equipped. The owner, Gina, provided lots of information and advice on where to visit and eat and we really appreciated the thought and care that went into her recommendations. We particularly liked the Porte Venere restaurant which is about a 5 minute walk away, as are most things in Spello! Nadia met us on arrival and was extremely friendly and helpful.

Casa Spello is a great place to stay and we highly recommend both it and Spello itself.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing