We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
Spello, North-South View (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spello, North-South View (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Unit#1 Living Room (photo copyright Geoff Beatty) Unit#1 Master Bedroom (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
150 reviews
Spello, North-South View (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Unit#1 Living Room (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Unit#1 Master Bedroom (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Unit#1 Master Bedroom (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Unit#1 Master Bathroom (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Unit#1 Kitchen and Breakfast Area (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Unit #1 Hallway with Hand Painted Ceramics (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Unit#2 Master Bedroom (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Garden Entrance to Unit#3 (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Unit#3 Upper and Lower Bedrooms (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Entry to Unit#4 (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Spello Walkways (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
East View of the Town of Spello (copyright Geoff Beatty)
Sunset View from Casa Spello (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Spello Countryside (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Sunflowers in Spello Countryside (photo copyright Geoff Beatty)
Fall at Montefalco
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Spello, Province of Perugia, Umbria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 150 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
rivamirab...
Milano Marittima, Italy
1 review
“Wonderful holiday”
Reviewed 18 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

The piace is amazing. People of the strutture nice and welcoming. The house is clean, well kept, in good conditions, fully equipped, and in case you need anything, they will be ready to give you (i needed a mixer for my daughter’s soup, it was there in a copule of minutes).
We enjoyed every bit of the house, especially The terrace with fruit trees we could pick up and est and an amazing view. And The Silence!!!
Wi-fi included
Well done Gina! Hope we will do it again soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2018
Marta,It is always a pleasure to have you and your family come and visit us.
We always do our best to accommodate our guests' needs , from needing a crib to any special needs they may have. The idea is to make Casa Spello your home in Umbria. Thank you for the wonderful review, please come to visit us again are beautiful sunsets are waiting for you. This year we had a bumper crop of fruit and delicious grapes!

Best wishes, Gina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wineknigh...
American Canyon, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful accommodation in one of Italy's beautiful hill towns”
Reviewed 18 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We just returned from Italy and were fortunate to have stayed at Casa Spello, a meticulously restored property on a quiet street at the top of the town. We stayed in the Tiberius apartment which was restored keeping the stone character of the building. There is a beautiful garden in the back of the property overlooking the valley. We took advantage of it for wine and one night for pasta with shaved fresh truffles bought in town. Around the corner is a really nice bar called Tullia where we had our morning coffee and gelato later in the day. Spello is a beautiful small town with quiet vicoli, nice restaurants and great character, Gina, the owner, is American and happened to be there during our stay. She made reservations at a small, local restaurant in the hilltop village of Collepino called Taverna San Silvestro. Don't miss dinner there. The Sagrantino wine growing region is just a few minutes away around the town of Montefalco. Gina provided us with suggested itineraries and restaurant recommendations which was very helpful. Casa Spello is a gem and a great base for exploring Umbria.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert J
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Charming abode in the charming town of Spello”
Reviewed 13 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We spent 4 wonderful days in Spello and this studio apartment was a perfect home away from home for two of us. Spello is the most unusual place we've ever stayed in, and this charming apartment was unique! The apartment is located in a large house divided into 4 units, each with its own separate entry. A door to the back yard leads to a beautiful panoramic view where we enjoyed breakfasts and stunning sunsets from a lovely shaded sitting area. On the third evening when we returned from our daily adventures, we found a handwritten note from our property's host, who just happened to be in town when we were. To our complete surprise, she offered to take all of her guests, to a very small neighboring town featuring only one restaurant. Gina had pre-arranged that the owner of the restaurant and his wife (the chef) would prepare a multi-course dinner for the 9 of us. That very day, they had foraged fresh truffles and porcini mushrooms which they grilled, shaved, and stuffed.Sitting in a private room, we enjoyed non-stop conversation, and instantly bonded over wine, cheese, breads, meats, grilled meats and cheese, and of course, scrumptious desserts. As promised by Gina, It was an unforgettable dining experience. This dinner was just an example of the extra thought Gina puts into helping her guests feel at home and knowledgeable about the area. Weeks before we arrived in Italy, she emailed us a detailed document with tips of restaurants, cafes, things to do, and how to get around Italy. Her guide was so detailed and customized for visitors to Spello. This medieval town is a very special place, but is not for the faint of heart. Visitors cannot park their cars by their accommodations but must park a good 15 minute walk away. Gina's assistant met us upon our arrival, and she helped us bring our luggage and belongings to the rental. The unit has a very comfortable queen sized bed, adequate storage space, ample bathroom, and a small but serviceable kitchen. Spello streets are narrow and picturesque with flowers bursting around every bend-resisting the temptation to constantly shoot photos is hard. There are many excellent restaurants and cafes to choose from, lovely shops to visit and friendly, welcoming locals to meet. With a car, we were easily able to make day trips to nearby towns including Assisi and Perugia. This hilltop medieval escape is a gem in Umbria we'll never forget!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2018
It is my honor and pleasure to host my guests at Casa Spello.
I created this wonderful environment in my guest house because my husband and I travel all over the world and this is the way we would like to be treated. We now have a single residential parking permit which can be reserved on an availability basis. This permit was not available at the time of your arrival because you came at the busiest time in Spello , when our village was getting ready for the Infiorata - the famous flower festival. Please come again and let your friends know about us. Our wonderful sunsets are waiting for you!

Best wishes,
Your hostess, Gina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Our favourite place in Italy”
Reviewed 21 April 2018 for a stay in June 2017

After a memorable few weeks at Casa Spello in 2012 we returned to stay there in 2017 and were delighted to find it as beautiful as we remembered.
Staying there was a great base for us to explore this fantastic region of Umbria.
We loved the way the house itself has been conserved outside & tastefully renovated inside. We stayed in the ground floor Mark Anthony apartment & loved it as our cool & comfortable retreat but an easy walk to anywhere in the town. Enjoyed lots of sundowner evenings in the lovely garden with those views over the valley & to Assisi. Both of our visits were in June - Spello and its neighbours have some fantastic festivals around then - including the spectacular Infiorate in Spello itself. Gina made sure that everything was right for our stay & gave us lots of valuable tips on sightseeing, events, dining, transport etc etc. Even introduced us to the Mayor at her cocktail party on the night of the Infiorate :).
Definitely our favourite place in Italy!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2018
Thank you so so much for the lovely review. Please come and visit us again. Most of our guests are repeats.!
Best,
Gina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy G
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Base for Exploring Umbria”
Reviewed 20 April 2018 for a stay in September 2017

The Augustus apartment in Casa Spello is a beautifully restored, two level apartment in Spello, just above the wall on the western side of town, near the Porta di Venere. It is a 3-4 minute walk to the main street in town with its restaurants and small shops. Note that the short street the house is on is extremely steep cobbles and brick, so this would not be a good choice for someone with mobility issues, although I managed it using a cane.

The website descriptions and photos accurately reflect the reality.

You climb a short flight of stone steps to a small front porch, with has a bench and stone table, large enough for two (three with a squeeze)to use for dining. The view is down alongside the town, and across to the valley. It is the highway side, so not quite as bucolic or silent as from the other side of town, but you do get glorious sunsets.

Inside on the first floor is a very well equipped kitchen, with stove/oven, microwave, toaster, large fridge/freezer, desk area, and table for four. We found it easy to cook complete meals, and there was a good range of cooking equipment and some staples. The large living room has two sofas and a daybed, and lots of local guides and materials. Our son reported the daybed was fairly comfortable. A half bath also downstairs. Upstairs is a large bedroom, comfortable bed with firm mattress. Washing machine in the hall. Large bathroom with small walk-in shower, double sinks and bidet. Plenty of good towels. A welcome rarity-- all windows have pull-down screens!

Since Spello is a hilltown with limited parking inside the walls, you park about a 10 minute walk away. On our arrival day we drove up into town on the main street, dropped our luggage with one person while the driver continued out of town to park. We found the best parking for us was Lot 4, up at the top of town just beyond the gate leading to via Giulia. Nadia the keyholder will show you on the map. (take via Circonvallazione from the Borgo)

There are three other apartments in the house, and a shared garden down below with table and chairs. Wifi was on the slow side, especially in the morning and evening when the other apartments are all using it. We used a mifi connected to a phone during those times.

The owner and keyholder are both very responsive and helpful. Nadia the keyholder speaks English, helped with our luggage and was always available via text if needed.

We found this to be a comfortable base for a two week stay, and would recommend it. Spello attracts bus tours for short periods of time for people to wander up and down the main street, but at night the town returns to its sleepy self. The village school in the center of town, and residents chatting at the commuter bus stop or shopping at the forno remind you that this is a real, living town. There are a few shops up in town, and more in the modern Borgo at the base-- a good supermarket, forno, fruit and vegetable store, etc. Our best meals in town were at Il Pituricchio, and La Cantina; and L'Orlando Furioso in the Borgo for pizza.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cjlj1984
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A wonderful apartment in a fascinating part of Umbria”
Reviewed 3 November 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We spent two months in two apartments in Casa Spello and we wish we could have stayed longer. The apartments are comfortable, clean and very well equipped. The garden is lovely and we spent many evenings on the deck watching the sunset and recounting stories of our day. Spello is the perfect base from which to explore the valley between Spoleto and Perugia. You can cycle and hike, visit vineyards, olive groves and small towns, explore Assisi, Perugia and Spoleto and Tuscany. The train is easy to access as is the highway. The people are welcoming and friendly and keen to share the unique for and wine in the area. We will be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate H
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful apartment with stunning views!”
Reviewed 29 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Casa Spello....what a wonderful place to stay! From the moment we booked with Gina, the promptness of replies, attention to detail and information we were sent was fantastic. Nadia, the key lady who met us was wonderful! Her customer service was exceptional when she offered to made numerous phone calls trying to find my sisters lost luggage. With Nadia's persistence, the courier finally delivered it!
The apartments had everything we needed to cook our own meals and relax in the terrace garden overlooking the Umbrian countryside. We loved the village life and enjoyed going to the little grocer and deli daily to purchase what we needed for the day. There are also some wonderful restaurants in Spello! For two couples, the Marc Anthony Apartment and the adjoining Cleopatra Apartment were perfect for our stay as it gave us extra space.
There is only one taxi in Spello and the driver is fantastic. We booked him for the day to go to Assisi and Montefalco, but we would hire a car next time (yes, we want to go back to Casa Spello again!) so we could experience a lot more of this beautiful area in Italy.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing