We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, great terrace view, excellent adjoining restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Il Cacciatore
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Spello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Attentive staff, lovely terrace view for a glass of wine. Room was a nice size, but bathroom was quite small. We stayed with friends who had a much larger room with a great view- so be sure to ask for a room not facing the street. The hotel was willing to move us on the second night, as they were full the first night. A quiet hotel in a charming Umbrian town of 8,000.

Adjoining restaurant had wonderful food.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the valley, not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

As an alternative to Tuscany - due to price, amount of expected tourists and restrictions with time - we headed to Umbria. After a little searching we decided on Spello. So glad we not only chose Spello but also Cacciatore. Driving into town you see how amazing the old town is, like out of a fantasy movie. Sitting on a hill the town is breathtaking - but small i.e. not overwhelmed with tourists.
Cacciatore is towards the top of the hill. The view from the terrace where breakfast is served (as well as dinner if you chose to eat there) is to die for. In fact most (about 10 of 15) rooms face the valley - probably the best view from a room I have ever had.
The breakfast spread is unbeatable. Meat, amazing wholemeal croissants, coffee, fruit and the general cereal/yogurt/bread/juice. Dinner is fantastic. Cacciatore literally means 'hunter' so expect great meat. While in town though we definitely recommend 'il trombone' just up the hill - get the mixed grill and a pizza.
Overall very clean, comfy, quite, easy to do day trips to Assisi and wine country, and parking available.
Definitely recommend this place.

J+A

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndieJeffV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

An unassuming very basic hotel, with clean rooms, air con, a good shower, and an amazing terrace view! The staff are incredibly friendly and make you feel very welcome. Breakfast has juice and croissants, cake, yoghurt and coffee. Just perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbr009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

This is a wonderful hotel, Claudia is the warm and friendly daughter of the owner! She goes out of her way to make you feel at home and very comfy! The views are to die for, we loved the view from our room! The stunning landscape makes it an unforgettable experience! And the restaurant serves good food with a great view as well....we loved Spello, go there to relax, visit the church for the frescoes, walk on the road to Monte Subassio and just unwind, for a truly rewarding and quiet time....

Room Tip: Take a room overlooking the view at the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeenakshiT_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This past March, we made plans to visit Assisi. Rather than stay in that town however, we chose a small hotel in nearby Spello. We wanted to experience an Umbrian hilltown on a more personal level, and we couldn't have made a better choice. Spello, unspoiled by tour buses and big hotels, is wonderful to walk through, up and down its typical narrow streets with views at every turn. We felt immediately at home at Albergo Cacciatore - the couple who own the hotel couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. We parked our car in a little garage beneath the hotel. We had a nice room for the 3 of us with a breathtaking view of the countryside: fields and distant snow-capped mountains. We were happy to find that the food in the hotel restaurant was excellent, with many typical dishes of the region; so nice not to have to search for a place to eat at the end of a long day of sightseeing. If it had been warmer, we would have loved to eat on the restaurant's terrace and enjoy the view. The breakfast offered much more than a typical Italian one: a freshly-baked cake and breads, yogurt, fruit, cereal. We will definitely stay at this hotel again the next time we're in Umbria!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendellandLuisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Albergo Cacciatore looks totally unassuming from the street. But walk inside and it is a whole different story. Since Spello is another Umbrian walled city built on a hill, guests will enjoy a wonderful view from the back side of the hotel. It’s a stunning view to the valley below with a crazy quilt of farms. Either ask for a room on the back side of the hill or simply enjoy the view from the spacious hotel terrace. After a day of hiking, there was nothing better than enjoying the glass of wine from that back terrace.

We had room 204, which was on the front over the street. Totally fine room—A bit on small side but everything worked and the bathroom was the now-familiar small, effiently-laid-out modern variety. I’ve really gotten into how well the Italians can engineer all bath fixtures into a small space. I’m guessing the shower was 26” wide. Fine for my husband and I, but maybe small for other guests. We had friends staying in rooms on the back side of the hotel and they were much nicer…larger, wonderful views and newly renovated tiled larger bathrooms. Next time I will ask for a room on the back side.

Restaurant was great. Dinner delicious with local Umbrian choices! Breakfast offered tasty variety of breads (plain and sweet) as well as the expected yogurt, fruit, meat, and cheese.

As for the couple running the hotel, the husband was warm and very friendly…the wife, more of a cool professional.

Room Tip: Rooms on back side of hotel have wonderful views. Also, visiting the rooms of our friends who were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Perched high-up in a narrow one-way street in Spello we were met by Mr and Mrs Cruciani who gave us a car park opposite the hotel. Room 101 was very spacious and clean but basic. The view from the room in the morning was spectacular. We ate in the restaurant for dinner. Breakfast was basic and slightly lacking. We would recommend it to any visitor to Spello but don’t expect too much.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandJFarnhamCommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spello
0.1 mi away
La Bastiglia
La Bastiglia
#1 of 10 in Spello
536 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Bocci
Palazzo Bocci
#5 of 10 in Spello
225 reviews
1.3 mi away
Agriturismo il Bastione
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Albergo del Teatro
Albergo del Teatro
#6 of 10 in Spello
52 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Foligno
5.2 mi away
Hotel La Terrazza & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Cacciatore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Cacciatore

Address: Via Giulia 42, 06038 Spello, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Spello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Spello
Price Range: £65 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Cacciatore 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Il Cacciatore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing