We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular views in Spello”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Il Cacciatore
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Spello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We enjoyed our time in Spello, which is a beautiful and quaint town. Hotel II Cacciatore is a wonderful location for spending a night there, and provides some spectacular views of the region. The breakfast options are of high quality as well.

Room Tip: Simply ask for a room for a view, and the hotel staff will grant your request
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bhgilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Il Cacciatore
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

Getting there was the half the fun, naviagating those tiny winding laneways, but on arrival I was Instantly smitten. The lovely lady at check in, good suit and all came out to assist us in unloading the and storing the bikes, which it seemed was typically of all the people who worked there, especially the hosts. Our room was decorated in a style than felt suitable for the area and the views were breathtaking from our room overlooking the balcony into the hills. Breakfast was simple, but tasty. Location to everything Spello had to offer was perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the balcony side for best views
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maddison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My wife & I stayed a few nights in this hotel in the heart of Spello, a wonderful place to stay and use as a home base for exploring Umbria, Tuscany, & the Marches. We had a breathtaking view from our room and thoroughly recommend staying here. If you have a car, this place is ideal because the hosts will park your car for you in their underground parking lot right under the hotel, after you have the fun of negotiating the twisty-turny narrow street to get to the hotel. Breakfasts are served on a covered outdoor terrace with a spectacular view of the surrounding hills and countryside. Our room was more than adequate & comfortable with a nighttime view of all the stars & a daytime gorgeous hill & countryside landscape. The family hosts were friendly and attentive to our every need.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Constant_Discovery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Attentive staff, lovely terrace view for a glass of wine. Room was a nice size, but bathroom was quite small. We stayed with friends who had a much larger room with a great view- so be sure to ask for a room not facing the street. The hotel was willing to move us on the second night, as they were full the first night. A quiet hotel in a charming Umbrian town of 8,000.

Adjoining restaurant had wonderful food.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the valley, not facing the street.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

As an alternative to Tuscany - due to price, amount of expected tourists and restrictions with time - we headed to Umbria. After a little searching we decided on Spello. So glad we not only chose Spello but also Cacciatore. Driving into town you see how amazing the old town is, like out of a fantasy movie. Sitting on a hill the town is breathtaking - but small i.e. not overwhelmed with tourists.
Cacciatore is towards the top of the hill. The view from the terrace where breakfast is served (as well as dinner if you chose to eat there) is to die for. In fact most (about 10 of 15) rooms face the valley - probably the best view from a room I have ever had.
The breakfast spread is unbeatable. Meat, amazing wholemeal croissants, coffee, fruit and the general cereal/yogurt/bread/juice. Dinner is fantastic. Cacciatore literally means 'hunter' so expect great meat. While in town though we definitely recommend 'il trombone' just up the hill - get the mixed grill and a pizza.
Overall very clean, comfy, quite, easy to do day trips to Assisi and wine country, and parking available.
Definitely recommend this place.

J+A

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndieJeffV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

An unassuming very basic hotel, with clean rooms, air con, a good shower, and an amazing terrace view! The staff are incredibly friendly and make you feel very welcome. Breakfast has juice and croissants, cake, yoghurt and coffee. Just perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbr009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

This is a wonderful hotel, Claudia is the warm and friendly daughter of the owner! She goes out of her way to make you feel at home and very comfy! The views are to die for, we loved the view from our room! The stunning landscape makes it an unforgettable experience! And the restaurant serves good food with a great view as well....we loved Spello, go there to relax, visit the church for the frescoes, walk on the road to Monte Subassio and just unwind, for a truly rewarding and quiet time....

Room Tip: Take a room overlooking the view at the back!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeenakshiT_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spello hotels
0.1 mi away
La Bastiglia
La Bastiglia
#1 of 10 in Spello
517 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Bocci
Palazzo Bocci
#5 of 10 in Spello
220 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albergo del Teatro
Albergo del Teatro
#6 of 10 in Spello
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Agriturismo il Bastione
0.1 mi away
La Corte del Conte
La Corte del Conte
#2 of 17 in Spello
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Residenza dei Cappuccini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Cacciatore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Cacciatore

Address: Via Giulia 42, 06038 Spello, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Spello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Spello
Price Range: £69 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Cacciatore 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Il Cacciatore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing