We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect start to our Italian honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Agriturismo il Bastione
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Spello
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect start to our Italian honeymoon”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed at Il Bastione for five nights at the start of our Italian honeymoon and were very happy with our choice. The peaceful location on a hill above Spello made for wonderful views. Our room - Camere nobiliari - was very comfortable, quiet and spacious. This room also had lovely views over the neighbouring region.
We chose the half-board option and the nightly five-course dinners were a magnificent feast- antipasto, soup, pasta, main course and dessert, accompanied by wine and bottled water. It was quite an effort to complete the meal! But it was difficult to resist, especially the delicious homemade pasta and desserts. A highlight for us, visiting in autumn, was the truffles included somewhere in our meal every night (in pasta, on bruschetta, with cheese).
The farmstead is a steep half-hour walk from Spello (on partially paved road). In an effort to prepare our appetites for the nightly feast, we walked in to town several nights to enjoy a predinner drink at an enoteca before the brisk uphill walk home. Other than that, we used the car to get to and from the farmstead.
Spello is ideally situated to explore Umbria - we visited Assisi, Montefalco, Orvieto, Perugia, Norcia, Gubbio and Castelluccio.
Jacupo was a delightful host and he and his father made us feel very welcome. We would love to return one day!

Room Tip: Camere nobiliari was an excellent choice - large room and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    23
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
50
128
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leatherhead
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Jacobo, who is the host that will greet you on arriving at this lovely rural retreat, is just so wonderful and patient. We arrived the day after they had spelndid weather, hence no heating on or open fires. Sadly, we were hit head on with cold and extremely wet weather. We moved from the ground floor wedding room to the first floor to be a little more insulated from the damp, here the walls were plastered rather than open stonework. Jacobo was attentative and kind and his grandmother's food was authentic and prepared with love. We discovered a circular walk, which we managed to do during a fine spell. The Cantina in Spello is wonderful as is The Enoteca. Altogether a picturesque place to stay, I imagine in the summer that Il Bastione must be divine.

Room Tip: Hard to say, the wedding room would be lovely in the summer, although it needs a drain in the floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vabcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AUSTRALIA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We had amazing time at Il Bastione. The team were friendly and more than helpful and we were sorry to leave. The food was amazing and we thouroughly recommend it to anyone. It is within close proximity to many fantatic towns.
Ciao Josh, Tracy and FINN!! (australia)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOSH W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Il Bastione was a terrific base for us to explore Assisi and Spello. The family who runs the place (we met the son, dad, and "nonna") are kind people, proud of the 13th century building's history and their efforts to restore it. We hadn't planned to have dinner there each night but the food was so good we kept coming back. It's a bit of a drive down a dirt/gravel road outside of Spello, but the reward is peace and quiet and a lovely olive orchard with a view of the Umbrian terrain below. Artwork by Norberto, an artist of the "little monks" from Spello, appears on many of the walls. We would definitely return. We loved participating in the infiorate festival with all the gorgeous "paintings" of flowers on the medieval streets, www.infioratespello.it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheesetaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Il Bastione for 3 nights in June and it was great. We got totally spoiled by the whole family and the food prepared by nonna (granny) was superb.

The place is on the side of a natural reserve between Spello and Assisi and we walked to Assisi the one day (very hot walk - about 10km - but very nice especially through the woods).

Would also recommend a drive up to Colepino.

The only negative was that the room was a bit musty but this wasn't an issue.

By next summer they should have a pool which will be a good addition.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicklongley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AgriturismoBastione, Proprietario at Agriturismo il Bastione, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Thanks for your review
We are happy that you have a good remembrance of your holiday in Agriturismo il Bastione.
We sorry for the presence of little mold in your room, but in this Spring rained to much, and the walls of stone had captured umidity.

We hope to see you the next time you'll come in Spello.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apple Hill, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We are a couple who stayed at Agriturismo Il Bastione for three nights and it was supberb, the food homemade fine cooking by grandma, great service and welcome by the owners. Beautiful location with the view of and fields of poppies and olive trees. Comfortable bed.
We were warmly welcomed and pleasantly surprised from the start to the finish of our stay!
The only drawback was there was too much food with 5 services. Ask for smaller portions.
Les Beaulne's from Canada

Room Tip: Good location not too far from Spello and the owner's son was kind enough to pick us up and driv...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank tulip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spello
1.2 mi away
La Bastiglia
La Bastiglia
#1 of 11 in Spello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Il Cacciatore
Hotel Il Cacciatore
#4 of 11 in Spello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palazzo Bocci
Palazzo Bocci
#5 of 11 in Spello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel La Terrazza & SPA
1.3 mi away
Albergo del Teatro
Albergo del Teatro
#6 of 11 in Spello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
2.7 mi away
Il Barco Spello
Il Barco Spello
#1 of 24 in Spello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo il Bastione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo il Bastione

Property: Agriturismo il Bastione
Address: Via Fontemonte 3, 06038 Spello, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Spello
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Spello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agriturismo il Bastione is a farmhouse in Spello. The historic house is an architectural medieval jewel , builded in 1300. Its position on the hill is an extraordinary beauty, surrounded by a thousand olive trees, adjacent to the Nature Reserve of Subasio, distant 1.7 km from the historic center of Spello, near Assisi, Perugia, Montefalco, Bevagna, Foligno and the other most beautiful towns of Umbria. Many paths are around Agriturismo il Bastione. One of this is panoramic, in direction to Assisi crossing the wonderful park of Subasio. The Bastione is an umbrian typical restaurant. Expert hands produce every dish , with our products of superior quality. In our Agriturismo every meal is of the umbrian tradition and it follow the experience of our grand mothers. We offer to our customers special Umbrian wines and extra-virgin olive oil, that we produce with the methods of the past. Agriturismo il Bastione has comfortable and panoramic bed-rooms. There are different types of rooms: Suite, Scudiero, classical. Each bedroom has a private bathroom, air conditioning, refrigerator, TV, private entrance. Daily cleaning-service in the bedroom. Agriturismo il Bastione is perfect to meet the different needs of tourists who want to visit Umbria. Panoramic swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Agriturismo il Bastione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing