We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Agriturismo il Bastione
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
La Bastiglia(Spello)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveller rating
219
24
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
219
24
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssoupolive oilpastahunting lodgeantipastiwonderful placetwo nightslocal ingredientsfantastic foodhistoric centerentire familygorgeous poolfive coursesdining room iswonderful accommodationsoverlooking the valleywould love to return one day
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 246 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Il Bastione is the most unique of places! It's high in the hills above the historic center of Spello & a bit difficult to find even with an up-to-date gps system. Just when you think you've gone as far as you can go, keep going...down now...and there it is....an amazing sight. We were met by Jacobo, the sweetest, most welcoming of hosts who seems to be a man of all trades. He is the one who will greet you, show you to your room, explain about breakfast and the sumptuous 5-course dinners that his Nonna prepares and be your go-to guy for anything you need or could want (he is the only person at there who speaks English). His enthusiasm, desire to please his guests & sincere appreciation of your choice of Il Bastione is really extraordinary. This is why travelers should get off the beaten path a bit...to experience something unique & to meet people who are the heart and soul of a country. Where else could you muse that it would be nice to have some wine after a day of sightseeing & have a tray with a carafe of house red and a bowl of delicious home-grown olives presented to you? At dinner, the dishes keep coming...starting with a huge antipasti for each person...delicious, fresh ingredients & enough for a meal in itself. Then, a big bowl of wonderful soup made of chick peas, vegetables, broth and olive oil that was like nothing else we'd ever tasted. Next, the fresh pasta, then the meat with a green salad & finally a light & delicious dessert. Of course, all the wine you can handle, coffee, bottled water. Truly, everything was so good and the portions were so generous that we had to ask for only one main dish and one dessert. Ditto the next evening. And, our enjoyment of each course was met with big smiles of happiness. At breakfast, Nonna's freshly baked assortment of cakes greet you along with freshly squeezed orange juice and whatever else you may want. Prior to our departure when I suggested that Nonna's recipes would make a great cookbook to sell, Jacobo jotted down the recipe for the soup we loved & presented it to me along with a bag of beans and a can of their precious olive oil as a parting gift! Simply lovely...the spot, Il Bastione and the people, who obviously love what they do & love having you stay with them.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Nobliare room...very large & comfortable with windows opening to the hills & valley below, you are virtually in the clouds on some mornings. Tiny shower...but not at all terrible. Worth the higher rate.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bardysh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Il Bastione is a hidden gem in the hills of Umbria. Located halfway between the charming, medieval walled town of Spello and Assisi, this unique Agroturisimo makes an excellent base for exploring the region. Built in the 1300's and boasting lovely antique furniture, this property is beautiful and unique. We stayed in the Nobliare/Marriage room . It is a gorgeous, huge room located off a common lounge/sitting room. The views of the rolling hills are incredible and there are some large terraces and patio areas whete you can sit and enjoy the idyllic scenery.And the host and his family are incredible..so attentive and accommodating.

Room Tip: If possible, stay in the Nobliare/Marriage room. The standard rooms are nice but that room is exceptional.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed at Il Bastione for five nights at the start of our Italian honeymoon and were very happy with our choice. The peaceful location on a hill above Spello made for wonderful views. Our room - Camere nobiliari - was very comfortable, quiet and spacious. This room also had lovely views over the neighbouring region.
We chose the half-board option and the nightly five-course dinners were a magnificent feast- antipasto, soup, pasta, main course and dessert, accompanied by wine and bottled water. It was quite an effort to complete the meal! But it was difficult to resist, especially the delicious homemade pasta and desserts. A highlight for us, visiting in autumn, was the truffles included somewhere in our meal every night (in pasta, on bruschetta, with cheese).
The farmstead is a steep half-hour walk from Spello (on partially paved road). In an effort to prepare our appetites for the nightly feast, we walked in to town several nights to enjoy a predinner drink at an enoteca before the brisk uphill walk home. Other than that, we used the car to get to and from the farmstead.
Spello is ideally situated to explore Umbria - we visited Assisi, Montefalco, Orvieto, Perugia, Norcia, Gubbio and Castelluccio.
Jacupo was a delightful host and he and his father made us feel very welcome. We would love to return one day!

Room Tip: Camere nobiliari was an excellent choice - large room and views.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Jacobo, who is the host that will greet you on arriving at this lovely rural retreat, is just so wonderful and patient. We arrived the day after they had spelndid weather, hence no heating on or open fires. Sadly, we were hit head on with cold and extremely wet weather. We moved from the ground floor wedding room to the first floor to be a little more insulated from the damp, here the walls were plastered rather than open stonework. Jacobo was attentative and kind and his grandmother's food was authentic and prepared with love. We discovered a circular walk, which we managed to do during a fine spell. The Cantina in Spello is wonderful as is The Enoteca. Altogether a picturesque place to stay, I imagine in the summer that Il Bastione must be divine.

Room Tip: Hard to say, the wedding room would be lovely in the summer, although it needs a drain in the floor for the shower water. The upstairs rooms are roomy and clean, although the room s echo with the sound of other guests, but, hey, its the kind of place where you can grab a nap in the day!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vabcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We had amazing time at Il Bastione. The team were friendly and more than helpful and we were sorry to leave. The food was amazing and we thouroughly recommend it to anyone. It is within close proximity to many fantatic towns.
Ciao Josh, Tracy and FINN!! (australia)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JOSH W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews