We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad day”
Review of la bastiglia

la bastiglia
Ranked #15 of 44 Restaurants in Spello
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: you have the hotel but they also have a restaurant worth of note
Bayreuth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad day”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We were very disappointed by La Bastiglia Restaurant, they did not have one of their best days. Only the scallops on creamed goat cheese sauce did match our expectations. But a charred toast, black side down and pasta with truffles cream sauce instead of truffle slices is not worth a star. Besides portions are small; and when “contorni” are included in a dish, you expect something else than two halves of a very small onion and three tiny cherry tomatoes.
Besides, at two neighboring tables we noticed, that courses were not brought at the same time for everybody, also not star worthy.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JH5A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    69
    23
    22
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nocera Umbra, Italy
Level Contributor
102 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

High class cuisine from an absolutely faultless menu.

Helpful?
Thank Carole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
98 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Pricey but exquisite”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We ate two meals at La Bastiglia as part of a walking tour package. Truly glad we had six hours of hiking to justify the first night's multi-course tasting menu with matching wines... The chef and staff really know how to orchestrate an evening's series of taste experiences. Must say, I hadn't previously thought of creating tomato sherbet or a lime souffle, but each worked wonderfully well. Presentation and service impeccable... we will treasure the moment the waiter rushed over to alert us that a full golden moon was rising over the Apennines. It would be a pity to come here if you have a long list of foods you won't eat: it's best to be open to all kinds of meat. And cheese. The cheese plate offered possibly the most macho challenge of pungent choices I've ever faced. Like the town of Spello itself, and its Roman aqueduct trail among the olive groves, the restaurant at La Bastiglia is a perfect condensation of Umbria. Just bring a good wallet.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrancesOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food, amazing view”
Reviewed 22 July 2011

This restaurant is the bistro part of a Michelin style restaurant in Spello and was recommended to us by locals as great value for money. They were right! Relaxed setting with outdoor seating overviewing the entire valley and mountains beyond. The food was excellent, very local, the wine was really good and our waiter who also prepared the dishes was very friendly and also extremely professional.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SorenLotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great view, eat at the osteria, not restaurant”
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We arrived on a Wednesday evening after a hot day of travel. We walked all around Spello before settling on the Osteria for its beautiful outdoor patio setting overlooking the valley. A spectacular setting!

The restaurant is closed on Wednesdays but the osteria is open...and we were very glad. Prices were so reasonable on wine as well as the various courses. We used the osteria menu, where most courses were priced at about 10 euros. The 4 of us ate for about 140 euros, including 2 bottles of reasonable and delicious wine.

Make certain to get to there before the sun sets...and have your camera ready. Eat, drink and drink in the view.\

Unfogettable.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveiWashington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed la bastiglia also viewed

Spello, Province of Perugia
Spello, Province of Perugia
 
Spello, Province of Perugia
Spello, Province of Perugia
 

Been to la bastiglia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing