We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo Bocci

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Palazzo Bocci
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Spello
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

It's easy to find charming, historical accomodation in Italy - what makes the difference is customer service. This hotel had little to give us. We arrived, wet and tired after motorbike riding in the rain,looking forward to the 'Superior upstairs room with a view' as per our confirmation email. We were greeted with "You're a day late" (they'd not updated their email correspondence and bookings to show our changed booking), and were shown to a dark, dreary, ground floor 'suite' with a view of roof tiles. Wi-fi was only available in the dark, dreary, outdated lounge room on the ground floor. Our travel companions, on the other hand, received a lovely 'Superior Suite' upstairs, with a balcony and view, next to the beautifully painted lounge room. On questioning our disappointing accomodation, seeing that we were paying the same as our friends, we were informed we could look for another place if we wanted. After incredibly helpful and friendly service at Amalfi 'Hotel Margherita' we were quite taken back by the attitude of the owner. The next morning he stubbornly refused to give us the room at a reduced rate even though we showed him the email confirming a 'room upstairs with a view'.
Our experience was very disappointing and we certainly can't recommend this hotel. On the other hand, our friends got exactly what they expected and are more than happy. Goes to show, it's all about your own experience of a place.
If you decide to stay, ensure you confirm you have a 'Superior Room' upstairs with a balcony and view - or you too may get put in the 'dungeon'!

Room Tip: If you decide to stay, ensure you confirm you have a 'Superior Room' upstairs with a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    82
    29
    15
    8
See reviews for
39
112
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights when travelling by myself. My room was right beside the elevator, great for a woman traveller, and had a view out over the valley/plain. Room was cosy and the staff helpful. A lovely old hotel with real character and quiet this time of year.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

My daughter and I just returned from a fabulous trip to Umbria where we stayed at this wonderful hotel. It is beautiful inside and the drawing room is glorious. We went up one afternoon and just sat and read as it was so lovely. We had a little junior suite and it was terrific. We had the most glorious sight out of our window. The buffet breakfast was terrific and the cappucino was divine! Great foam! I have been to many hill towns in Italy and must say Spello is now my favorite. It is stunningly picturesque and the people were friendly and helpful. We rented a car and took several day trips and were always happy to return to "Bello Spello" at day's end.

Extra kudos to Fabrizio at the front desk for his excellent directions getting us back to Fuimicino. Greta and Martina were also very nice.

Only drawback was getting our luggage up the stairs. Otherwise, we would stay here again in a minute.

Room Tip: We faced a side street and it was lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulaJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
96 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

Our small room #206, described as a junior suite, was rather dreary. I concur with AnnFlorence there were small areas of up & down steps here & there; no big problem but, as there is no one to assist with the luggage, this is something to know about if you have a back problem. The "suite" consisted of a very small area with a desk and lounge chair on which you may wish to put your suitcase. There was, also, a patio with a table and two chairs.
Wifi was available in the public areas and cramped parking is available in an outdoor public area right across the street from the hotel entrance. Our room faced the street, but there was no discernible street noise to which we would have been very sensitive. Breakfast was a satisfying selection of fresh fruit, yogurt, cheeses, meats, cakes and breads.
The young woman at reception was less than helpful when asked about the restaurant, which I mistakenly thought was on the premises. I asked about reservations at Il Molino, apparently owned by the same family. She shrugged and told me they probably opened at 7:30. I walked over to make a reservation and we enjoyed a nicer experience there than at Palazzo Bocci.
Palazzo Bocci was a convenient choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shi Hu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

This property is simply beautiful. It was obviously lovingly restored. The fresco paintings in the main room and the detail painting in all the rooms are quite lovely. There is a charming garden space with views over the countryside. Many rooms have views as well. The breakfast is quite substantial and elegant. Best of all, it's located in the heart of Spello, allowing you to simply walk out the door to begin to explore. And it's mere steps away from great restaurants, sights, and shopping.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodienomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

The hotel itself is very nice; if there is one drawback it was in the extra steps that we had to face once we were in our room - 7 down into the room (no handrailing which can be a problem) and another three up to the bathroom where there were still two to go down. In other words, avoid room #103 unless you don't mind the exercise. The best feature is the location which is right in the middle of town on the one main street that runs through it, top to bottom. This meant that there was considerable choice of restaurants or wine bars or whatever we were in the mood for after long days of touring Umbria. Spello, incidentally, is well placed for just that - whether it be to make a circle around the edge - Assisi, Perugia, Todi and Spoleto - or to head over the hills into Le Marche for a quick look at a different world. To be avoided, in any event, is the Umbrian plain which has been so badly given over to cement in the past few decades.

Room Tip: Avoid #103 ! Ask for one on the ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnFlorence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
207 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

Rooms at Palazzo Bocci vary in size and we enjoyed a larger room with a separate sitting area on the ground level. The hotel is located in a convenient location. Staff was cordial and helpful. The bathroom was spacious with a tub/shower combination. There were abundant electrical outlets to charge phones, computers, and electronic travel aids. Good quality sheets and extra pillows were provided.

Room Tip: Rooms vary in size. Request a larger room with a sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ancheviaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spello
0.3 mi away
La Bastiglia
La Bastiglia
#1 of 11 in Spello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
1.5 mi away
Agriturismo il Bastione
0.2 mi away
Hotel Il Cacciatore
Hotel Il Cacciatore
#4 of 11 in Spello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Albergo del Teatro
Albergo del Teatro
#6 of 11 in Spello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
18.2 mi away
Palazzo Leti Residenza D'Epoca
0.3 mi away
La Residenza dei Cappuccini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Bocci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Bocci

Property: Palazzo Bocci
Address: Via Camillo Benso Conte di Cavour 17, 06038 Spello, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Spello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Spello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Bocci 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Bocci, which opened as a hotel in 1992, has paintings by Benvenuto Crispoldi and an architectural style that is enlivened by in-between floors, split-levels and niches. The building offers its guests surroundings and rooms that evoke an atmosphere of rare beauty, such as the fountain at the entrance, the hanging garden with two century-old palm trees, the spectacular Hall of Frescoes, the rooms, the luxurious suites, plus views and hidden corners that the Hotel Palazzo Bocci jealously preserves as if they were a treasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Palazzo Bocci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Bocci Spello
Palazzo Bocci Hotel Spello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing