We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, quiet and great view”
Review of La Bastiglia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Bastiglia
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Spello
Certificate of Excellence
Milano, Lombardia, Italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice, quiet and great view”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We have been in Spello last week, and we just would go to Ristorante La Bastiglia, but when arrived, we decided to ask for a room, because the hotel was really nice! We were luky, there was just a room!
nice room with a fantastic view. there is a small pool too if you want to relax a bit before going sightseeing in the morning.
Big Breakfast on the terrace in the moring.
We'd love to be back again.
by the way: the restaurant was very good too!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    163
    58
    42
    16
See reviews for
57
287
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This hotel was once an establishment which rightly enjoyed an extremely good reputation with a restaurant with a Michelin star… in the very distant past. Unfortunately the place is trading off its past reputation and its service and appointments are now extremely disappointing. We travelled with people who had been regular guests when the hotel was still being professionally operated and, importantly, loved. They were shocked to the core at the parlous state of this once great boutique establishment. There is no way La Bastiglia is currently a 4 star hotel. This is currently a dismal and depressing place being run into the ground.

One of the greatest features of this hotel in the past used to be the hotel restaurant (run by Executive Chef Marco Gubbiotti) which achieved a Michelin Star status in 2005. It is quite obvious that Gubbiotti no longer runs this now appalling excuse for a restaurant. We endured one meal at this restaurant and it was quite literally the worst dining experience I had during our recent holiday in beautiful (and delicious) Italy - quite an achievement.

On the plus side the hotel is in a good location in Spello and the outlook from the restaurant terrace is truly beautiful. The hotel also retains some of the fittings (such as sculptures, artwork and antiques) that were in place when the hotel was still being professionally operated.

The negatives: The hotel has no lift. We had to truck our baggage up and down 67 steps to our room in the semi gloom. No porters or offers of help from the staff. I have never experienced anything like it in my life. Once we arrived panting, our room was just okay if tired. The bar fridge operated at about room temperature, the air-conditioning never operated effectively and it was actually cooler outside than in our room – this was very difficult to cope with as temperatures were in the mid 30 degrees Celsius at the time in Umbria. We couldn’t get the television to operate. To cap it all off the toilet flushed gently but persistently for both of the nights we had to endure at this Italian “Fawlty Towers”. Despite bringing this to the receptionist’s attention nothing was done to fix the problems. I got the distinct impression that they simply wanted us to go away. After two nights (we had planned to stay for four) we were forced to check out and escape to another hotel. You have been warned.

Room Tip: avoid the poolside rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Venustas96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fancelli, Proprietario at La Bastiglia, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Venustas96,

Thank you for posting your comments on your stay with us at Hotel La Bastiglia, Spello. Your feedback is appreciated and valued and we thank you for providing us your stay experience comments.
We are sorry to learn that you were disappointed with the level of service you experienced during your stay, and that you found some facilities inadequate during one of our busiest periods.
We although have to say that we checked the rooms you stayed in, and we found that fridge, Tv and air conditioning were perfectly working.
About the restaurant: two years ago we decided to turn our Michelin star restaurant in a restaurant which could serve good food, but with prices which could be affordable for everyone.
We had to take this decision overall to give a better service to our hotel clients, because very few people may spend 100 Euro for a dinner. As you have certainly seen on our menu, prices changed very much since our "Michelin star" time, so now our clients may have a dinner with three courses, water, wine and coffee for only 30 Euro. We have although to specify that our kitchen staff is the same since then, and that we pay still now very careful attention about our raw material.
Finally, we try to satisfy our clients accepting customers also out of the opening time of the restaurant (as happened in your case).
For these reasons we are very surprised for your complaints, but anyway please accept our sincere apologies for any disappointment you experienced.
We do hope that if you will ever come back to Umbria, we will be given another opportunity to welcome you back.


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Great location in Spello. Had a bit of glamour, but although staff sweet were not customer focused - lots of popping out for ciggies and chatting together rather than providing excellent service. Pool really grim. But all there if someone took control - rooms nice, wonderful views and potentially smart atmosphere. Would still probably stay there if visited Spello as location could not be better.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maximilion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I'm a person who traveling a lot in the World, so why I discovering that wanderfulll place"La Bastiglia" in Spello where I spent a lovely week-end . The hotel have 4 shining stars and the restaurant gave you a most original Italian taste of Umbrian cuisine. I say hallo to the owner Luca and my friend doctor Stefanescu wishing you all the best !

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank floraflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
369 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

As we had a dinner date with friends in Spello and had booked a concert in Assisi we decided to stay in Spello. We did not have a booking anywhere so walked into La Bastiglia and try our luck. We were offered a room and breakfast for 80 Euro, we looked at each other and both thought for a 4 star this was a good price and we would enjoy it. The receptionist gave us a voucher for free parking in the nearby small square, and we were lucky to find a free bay. Otherwise we would have to use the hotel's undercover parking at charge. We were accompanied to the Ambra room on the first floor via a narrowish staircase (it appears there is no lift) and upon opening the door we could immediately smell stale cigarette. Indeed when we opened the curtains and the shutters to look at the beautiful valley, there was a cigarette butt in a flower pot just near the window on the tiled roof. Decor is contemporary and we loved the heated bathroom floor. The bathroom was a good size and had courtesy toiletries and hairdryer. But the bad surprise came went we went to bed that night - a badly sagging mattress, especially on one side. You would not expect this in a 4 star hotel. If we had discovered it earlier we would have asked for a different room. We did not stay here for dinner because we knew the famous chef had moved away to a restaurant in Terni.
A young staff member did provide assistance with Google map directions to Bosco di San Francesco which we appreciated.
The next morning we left at 7.45am (we had paid the night before), and noted there were no staff on duty. Breakfast was offered from 8am to 10am. We also think breakfast timing should be more flexible, again for a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussies11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We liked this hotel. It was clean and nicely appointed. The staff were a bit reserved but were still helpful and accommodating. The views are wonderful. The hotel is at the top of Spello so there is a lot of uphill walking and the streets are very steep. We used the hotel as a base for day trips to other parts of Umbria - Assisi, Spoleto, Perugia. It was very relaxing to sit on the wide terrace with a cool drink after our daily exertions. We didn't eat at the restaurant but breakfast was good - typical continental breakfast with fresh croissants, bread rolls, juices, pastries, meat, cheese, etc. I'd certainly stay there again - if I had a car!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mima89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We love Spello and wanted to try a different hotel. La bastiglia looked really good and it has a pool which we were keen on. OveralL the hotel is nice, fairly clean and the Locatin is very good, with great views onto the valley and hills beyond (from rooms and the pool also). However as others have said, this doesnt feel like a 4 star hotel and I think the main let down is the staff. You could probably overlook other things if the staff acted like they cared, in particular we had a young guy 'greet' us who didn't seem to care about much, didn't give us any information about the hotel, facilities... Didn't tell us about the hotels supposedly good restaurant (we read about this separately). We also had terrible trouble parking our car which we didn't receive any assistance with either. I'm bothering to write such a lengthy review as I think the hotel could be a lot better with some tweaks to the way guests are treated etc... And by not just relying on the fact they have a great location in a great and a,axing Italian town such as Spello. at the moment it feels over priced for what it is and not sure I'd go back without knowing it had improved.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jputzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spello
1.2 mi away
Agriturismo il Bastione
0.4 mi away
Palazzo Bocci
Palazzo Bocci
#5 of 11 in Spello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Il Cacciatore
Hotel Il Cacciatore
#4 of 11 in Spello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hotel La Terrazza & SPA
5.8 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
0.2 mi away
Albergo del Teatro
Albergo del Teatro
#6 of 11 in Spello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bastiglia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bastiglia

Property: La Bastiglia
Address: Piazza Vallegloria, 7, 06038 Spello, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Spello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Spello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — La Bastiglia 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Bastiglia restaurant hotel in Spello is mentioned among the most important gastronomic and hotel guides (one star in the Michelin Guide). It is located at the foot of Subasio Mountain, the enchanted mount of San Francis. Here love and wisdom have transformed, like magic, an ancient mill into the Hotel Restaurant la Bastiglia, an unforgettable place, were customers are welcomed as friends, and may find modern comforts and ancient atmospheres. There are 33 rooms divided into three categories, looking at the Umbrian landscape, characterized by the cypress tree green-black colour and the olive trees green-grey colour. The restaurant, expresses the typical Umbrian dishes with ancient recipes and modern creations using highly selected foods; this is the meeting-place of international customers. Inside la Bastiglia hotel restaurant there are some important collection of ceramics, antique furniture and important paintings from the private collection of Schifano and Norberto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your La Bastiglia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bastiglia Spello
La Bastiglia Hotel Spello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing