We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
38
14
6
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
14
6
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews children's menu cooked to perfection high standard carvery meal waitress
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2018

Staff and customers were brilliant. Pub was wheelchair assessable with disabled toilet through double doors opening in one direction which made it even more difficult & loads of kid toys in the way, even one large sized toy in the actual disabled toilet which proved interested and we did mention to the landlord. Food was poor, chicken was over cooked (double cooked so dry), you couldn't cut the veg. Complained & second time around was better, although chicken was still dry. Landlord did knock 1 meal off the bill.
Expedia said it was assessable so we took it that the bedrooms were too but they weren't. The bedrooms were upstairs, Expedia must add this to their site. Luckily, I can walk a bit with help so the landlord & barman helped us up stairs.
The room was nice with on-suite bathroom but superking bed was 2 singles pushed together, the quilt was a double in a kingsized cover. One of the mattresses was very used, lumpy isn't the word for it. You keep rolling off the bed. Being over the bar, you had music until 12.30am and doors banging. (soft close door downstairs would help. There was a kitchenette outside the room with extra tea, coffee, hot chocolate, but the milk in the fridge had gone off and we only had 3 UHT milks in the room so we couldn't more than 1 drink in the morning.
Unless you wish to get a taste of Scottish partying and having a late night, I don't recommend staying at this hotel, unfortunately, but everyone was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Noisy pub.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjmonwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

The restaurant in the newmachar hotel was quiet when we came, very open planned. The staff were very kind, missing the "nice restaurant" atmosphere and service a little considering the prices. We started with the black & white pudding starter and the fish sharing platter. The black and white pudding was gorgeous, couldn't fault it and the jam that accompanied it was perfect for the dish. The fish platter came with haddock goujons, calamari, white bait and mackerel pate, it was gorgeous also, the only fault is that there was no kind of toast or oatcake to go with it which we were expecting. For mains we had a T-bone steak which was amazing, maybe a fraction overcooked for medium-rare. The other dish was pork tomahawk which was absolutely lovely too. I had the duck breast which was lovely too and cooked to perfection, only issue was the brocolli that came with it was stone cold, that I couldn't eat it. The carrots that came with it were also lovely and the jus went perfectly. Our final course consisted of a the cheese board which again, could not be faulted and exceeded expectations it came with an array of cheeses and a substantial amount of oat cakes. The cheesecake which was stated on the menu to be Bailey's and white chocolate, had been replaced with a lime cheesecake, which was nice. I personally would not have paired it with a chocolate sauce as the flavours did not particularly compliment each other but over all was an alright dessert. Overall would rate this 4/5 stars as we overall had an absolutely lovely meal and would definitely return back.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

We had a table for 8 + a high chair. It was busy but well organised. Service was efficient and all the food was enjoyed. I had the salmon and it was lovely. The wee one had lentil soup and bits from everyone. She had a great time. The toys were a good diversion and kept her amused.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank dpaberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

Visited here tonight with family about 23 in total which included 7 under 10 yr olds granted they were a little loud but were excited about seeing there cousins. Were shown to conservatory by a man in a shirt who was nice the waitress came to take our order along with a man who were both nice no problems all going well.

Food was coming out and a lady was helping to give us our orders she claimed the kids plates were so hot she could no longer hold onto them that she flung them onto the nearest table beside where I was standing at my sons table I picked up my sons plate and it was not hot (if said plates were hot why was she handling them without protection to her hands and why fling them where there were small children sitting)

Upon her next visit she was bringing desserts out which got a little confusing only because adults were trying to get correct puds to kids and ourself’s she was very rude rolled her eyes and wasn’t interested in where she placed our puds, this lady has changed my dining experience in how she treated her customers her attitude was very arrogant and rude she muttered under her breath several times and made it very clear she was it happy. There was a misunderstanding regarding our bill which was a genuine mistake but this lady assumed we had made this mistake and yet agin muttered under her breath. I’m truly disgusted by her actions she has zero respect for paying customers I do hope she reads this and learns for her behaviour especially when making her comments in front of us all all other staff were lovely

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Culture661512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

there was a party of 11 of us went for dinner on Monday night, 3 kids and 8 adults. i would like to begin with the positives, the service was good, gentleman looked after us, the kids food; steak, burger and hot dog was good. The adults had mac and cheese, seafood linguine, pork tomahawk and Chicken Kormas. While the korma and pork dishes were barely acceptable the Mac and cheese was bereft of cheese sauce and seasoning, the seafood linguine was an abomination, all adults had a taste of this dish and agreed, it tasted like fishy rice pudding, must have been cooked in Sugar.
The linguine was removed from the bill which was good, but the standard of cooking we were presented with has / will dissuade us from going back.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews