We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Went Years Ago Would Gladly Return” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal El Anon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal El Anon
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Went Years Ago Would Gladly Return”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

I went to this hotel years ago with family and thought it was fantastic. Food isn't anything flash but the real selling point for the hotel is its quaint charm and friendly atmosphere. Location is completely fantastic but perhaps not the best of people with mobility problems.
I would happily going back to this hotel and would gladly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    31
    5
    6
    4
See reviews for
16
54
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

This is a pleasant enough place to have a drink but it is in need of a revamp as the decoration is very 1980's. You can wait a very long tome for your food and you do pay more for the privilege of eating and drinking in this establishment.
We waited 45 minutes for two tapas: two pieces of toasted bread with smoked salmon and strong blue cheese on top. The place was not busy either!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathiB2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

We paid 62 € for a small room with a very dated bathroom with a shower over the bath where you couldn't avoid contact with the unpleasant shower curtain. There were no toiletries other than a cheap pump bottle of handwash. There was a bed, a built in wardrobe and drawer unit and nothing else in the bedroom. The bar and restaurant were very pleasant however the bedroom, whilst I appreciate was 'rustic' it was very basic and overpriced when compared to similar accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joexoxoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

We're so glad we found this little gem in the white village Jimena de la Frontera! After a scary snake incident in our rural cottage just on the outskirts of the village, we decided to leave and find alternative accommodation. Hostal El Anon turned our holiday into something very special. It is situated in the center of the village with tapas bars and restaurants in walking distance and has a small pool on the top terrace looking out over the quirky streets and the beautiful countryside. It is ideal for couples and families alike. Breakfast is served outside on another of the many terraces with beautiful gardens. It really is a hidden gem.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estepona, Spain
Level Contributor
159 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Eight of us from our Spanish language class had a field trip in Jimena de la Frontera and went to the Hostel el Anon for our lunch.

The welcome was extremely friendly and the ambience of the bar area was also extremely welcoming. On a very hot June day the interior was lovely and cool and the terrace areas also gave a lovely respite from the heat. After eating we were able to go on the roof terrace to get a bit more sun, whilst people used the swimming pool to cool down a little.

The lunch was very good indeed. The menu was extremely varied and offered some traditional Spanish dishes as well as a Cottage Pie if you were so inclined - none of our group were.

A shared mixed salad was the starter, together with lovely home made liver pate on home made bread. I had the salmon fillet in an orange sauce, which was lovely and others in our group had the roast quail, venison, pork, chicken tagine and more. All of us were unanimous that the food was excellent.

A couple of bottles of house wine and the odd beer rounded everything off for about twenty something euro's a head.

A really enjoyable day out!! Would certainly recommend an overnight stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy_in_Estepona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

A quaint homely comfortable hotel with a great atmosphere. Situated on a steep street with lots of stairs to get about in the hotel so you need to be reasonably fit to enjoy this hotel. Rooms basic but comfortable and clean. Good continental breakfast served on a lovely terrace which is lively bar area in the evenings. One of the best restaurants in Jimeno. Beautiful gardens and a rooftop pool make the el Anon a great little hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

Fantastic cosy secluded restaurant, lovely setting, a bit hit and miss on the menu, some very tasty, some not so tasty dishes, all very well presented.Service was great, all in all a good experiecne but te food was not the highlight unfortunately. Still the best place in Jimena by far.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robotcowbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jimena de la Frontera
9.6 mi away
Hotel Rural Buitreras
Hotel Rural Buitreras
#3 of 4 in Gaucin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
7.3 mi away
Complejo Turistico Castillo Castellar
Complejo Turistico Castillo Cast...
#2 of 2 in Castellar de la Frontera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
22.5 mi away
Molino del Santo
Molino del Santo
#1 of 2 in Benaojan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Hotel Monasterio de San Martin
Hotel Monasterio de San Martin
#1 of 1 in San Martin del Tesorillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Henrietta
Hotel Casa Henrietta
#1 of 6 in Jimena de la Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Estanque y El Almendro
El Estanque y El Almendro
#1 of 8 in Jimena de la Frontera
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal El Anon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Anon

Property: Hostal El Anon
Address: Calle Consuelo 36 | Cádiz, 11330 Jimena de la Frontera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Jimena de la Frontera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Jimena de la Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just half an hour from the coast the popular village of Jimena de la Frontera is wrapped around a hillside which overlooks farmland, forest and Gibraltar 40 kms away. With a nearby train link to the famous cities of Ronda and Granada, this White Village is an ideal vacation centre perfect for biking, hiking and bird watching. In the centre of this typical cobbled village Hostal El Anon has been providing hospitality for over 25 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal El Anon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal El Anon cádiz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing