We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A mazing place”
Review of Hostal El Anon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal El Anon
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A mazing place”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Spent a few nights here in late September. As its been built up from 5 village terrace houses all on different levels, the civil engineering needed to weld it together has produced a wonderful maze of shady courtyards, secluded mini terraces and interesting staircases. Walk in the bar amid the locals and just take it from there. You want dinner? Seat yourself wherever you want and you'll found -on one of the terraces, in the bar or in the cosy, atmospheric dining room(s). It makes for a really relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisl31nt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    31
    5
    6
    4
See reviews for
16
55
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antequera
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013

After several years absence, it was wonderful to rediscover the peace and calm of Jimena de la Frontera, and even more delightful to be reunited with what must surely be one of the jewels of Andalucia - Hostal el Anon.
This veritable oasis of tranquility does not loudly or brashly boast its quaint charms; rather it gently and modestly exudes its unique character and ambiance, so evident in every little shaded courtyard and every individual room, irrespective of whether it be a bedroom, dining area or the intimacy of the cosy bar.
Inside this cool refreshing haven of serenity with its friendly owner and staff, life meanders along peacefully and efficiently at a gentle relaxing pace.
As you stand on the roof terrace or by the pool, gaze across the rolling Andalucian landscape. Pause for a moment and listen to the silence on the hillside and hear Nature's musicians play a different tune in every season. You will be at peace with the world. Hostal el Anon - a rare experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ERTinSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimena de la Frontera, Spain
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I just recommended this secluded and very romantic little hotel to a friend and her "former" lover...well, to say the least the romance was rekindled here! OK, I confess, it is not just for romance but with the rooftop pool overlooking the charming white village of Jimena de la Frontera, Gibraltar and north Africa on a clear day the views are amazing!
This hotel is comprised of many village houses connected together perfectly, you'd never know that if I did not say it. The restaurant and bar have good food and there are even vegetarian options, thankfully for me. We found the live music, while only occasionally offered to be wonderful too. Great staff and service always!

Room Tip: They are all different and lovely, you cannot go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s2smoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kirby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I have just come back from a few days stay in this magical hideaway. A little bit of rustic charm, in the heart of this historic pueblo. You are made to feel very at home by the staff and the terraces and small pool area make it an easy decision to return.
Previously family members have stayed during the winter months and thoroughly recommmended it to me and I wasn't let down.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Sometimes, a restaurant really can only be described as being more than the sum of its parts. We had dinner at the el Anon two weeks ago; the views from the rooftop patio were lovely, the tapas and entrees were well prepared, and the service was attentive, and more importantly, truly welcoming and warm. Our waiter spoke no English - we spoke no Spanish, and yet somehow we were able to have a delightful evening of conversation with this very engaging individual.

One of the owners of the el Anon came to our table during the evening and we also had a lovely conversation with her about the area and things to do.

This was a very enjoyable meal in a lovely Andalucian white-washed hill town. If you're staying in Jimena, you should take the time to enjoy a meal or an afternoon drink here.

I can't comment on other reviews over the quality of the accommodations themselves as we had rented a private casa for our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunriseBayVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I went to this hotel years ago with family and thought it was fantastic. Food isn't anything flash but the real selling point for the hotel is its quaint charm and friendly atmosphere. Location is completely fantastic but perhaps not the best of people with mobility problems.
I would happily going back to this hotel and would gladly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

This is a pleasant enough place to have a drink but it is in need of a revamp as the decoration is very 1980's. You can wait a very long tome for your food and you do pay more for the privilege of eating and drinking in this establishment.
We waited 45 minutes for two tapas: two pieces of toasted bread with smoked salmon and strong blue cheese on top. The place was not busy either!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathiB2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jimena de la Frontera
9.6 mi away
Hotel Rural Buitreras
Hotel Rural Buitreras
#3 of 4 in Gaucin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
7.8 mi away
Complejo Turistico Castillo Castellar
Complejo Turistico Castillo Cast...
#2 of 2 in Castellar de la Frontera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
22.5 mi away
Molino del Santo
Molino del Santo
#1 of 2 in Benaojan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Hotel Castellar
Hotel Castellar
#1 of 2 in Castellar de la Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Henrietta
Hotel Casa Henrietta
#1 of 5 in Jimena de la Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Estanque y El Almendro
El Estanque y El Almendro
#1 of 8 in Jimena de la Frontera
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal El Anon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Anon

Property: Hostal El Anon
Address: Calle Consuelo 36 | Cádiz, 11330 Jimena de la Frontera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Jimena de la Frontera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Jimena de la Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just half an hour from the coast the popular village of Jimena de la Frontera is wrapped around a hillside which overlooks farmland, forest and Gibraltar 40 kms away. With a nearby train link to the famous cities of Ronda and Granada, this White Village is an ideal vacation centre perfect for biking, hiking and bird watching. In the centre of this typical cobbled village Hostal El Anon has been providing hospitality for over 25 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal El Anon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal El Anon cádiz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing