We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel with nice staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Castellar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Castellar
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice hotel with nice staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

Very helpful staff, very clean rooms, good service, good food. Hotel felt a little isolated but some beautiful walks can be found in the area. Difficult to find any maps or information on what to do in the area but if you visit the Castle speak to the shopowner (at the entrance) his wife is a guide. We saw storks, vultures, kestrals, eagles daily so great area for birdlovers.
I thinks the hotel caters more for celebrations e.g weddings and special events than the travelling tourist that is why there is no information. The celebrations going on did a great atmosphere to the hotel.Only negative was that one evening a party went on well into the middle of the night and disturbed us all. I know that the Spanish like to party late but it was too late and too loud!!

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank harryquinn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    105
    20
    12
    3
See reviews for
46
179
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marbella, Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

Great hotel, great service, looked after our group with every care.

This was our 3rd year and we will be back again next May.

Thank you Inigo for all your effort.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Stayed here for one night as part of a group of 40 friends. Great, spotlessly clean and modern rooms. The staff were exceptional, the food OK, hotel decor lovely and simple, in fact, nothing to complain about. Would recommend it to anyone as a perfect location to meet up if you are a big group.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieB's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grouville, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

I travelled with my husband and parents to Castellar de La Frontera for a weeks holiday in April 2012. We all like the opportunity to explore new areas and get a taste of local life.

The rooms in the hotel were clean and comfortable and the hotel pictures look exactly like what you get! It was peaceful without the noise that you normally have to deal with when you book a holiday in a resort area. Whilst it was still cool in the bottom of the wardrobe was a duvet which was more than ample.

The buffet breakfast was a wide selection of cold meats, cheeses, breads, pastries and fruits. They also provide either scrambled or fried eggs if you request them. There was enough choice to vary your meal every day.

The dinner menu was limited to a choice of 3 or 4 starters, 4 main courses and 1 or 2 desserts on the half board but the options were varied, normally 2 fish main courses one red meat and fowl. Do not expect to get potatoes and vegetables with your main course as from our experiences in other restaurants in the region this is typically Spanish. However the portions were ample the food was freshly prepared and as a very fussy eater I only had one meal when I struggled to find something that I would eat.

The bar opens at 7pm and dinner starts at 8.30pm which was very difficult on the first night, however the rooms all had mini bars and the hotel staff were more than happy for us to purchase our own drinks from a local shop and bring them down to drink in the courtyard out of service hours. To be honest this probably saved us a fortune!

It is out of season and the hotel was quiet and was staffed accordingly. The staff that were there did their best to ensure that we had a wonderful stay, even with the language barrier.

The town of Castellar de La Frontera may be fairly new of origin and may have few English speakers but for a small town/large village there were a good selection of bars we found 4 around the main square, 1 a little further up and another one a little further up the road before the turn off over the railway tracks towards the hotel. All of these were within a 15 minute walk. The bars all serve traditional tapas during the day and evening and the majority of them also do a la carte menus for lunches and dinner if you ask.

The people that we met in Castellar were warm and welcoming even with the language barrier and we would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renishaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RG27 8ND
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed here in March on a half board deal from Voyage Prive which was extremely cheap. Suprised to find it was on the edge of a brand new town, very clean, with a few bars and no life. Our room was spacious with a small patio looking out onto a courtyard with a fountain. The hotel is built to resemble an old hacienda, there are lots of fountains but, unfortunately, very few guests! The breakfast was a generous cold spread but the evening meal was very poor, mostly catering stuff and pretty dull. Wonderful reception area, but again empty except for a golf party who stayed for a few days. The staff were friendly, helpful and polite. The downside is that it is situated inbetween a mountain range and one has to either use the motorways to get anywhere or wriggle over the twisty mountain roads. The nearest town is Sotogrande and it is easy to get to from Gibraltar airport. If you were thinking of touring Andalucia it is not a great place to stay.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 22 overlooking the courtyard and it was large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hedwig4080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

If you want to be in the middle of a very Spanish village with the hotel only available for breakfast and then nothing opne until 8.30pm then this is for you. The spa was freezing cold and you needed to book to use it as everything needed to be switched on. The town centre was within walking distance and had only a couple of very Spanish bars with 2 restaurants. No life and no atmosphere at all although the guy on reception was very nice!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnOrmerod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Situated on the outskirts of what seems like a brand new town of affordable housing. I can only presume that NH pounced on cheap land to build this hotel as I see no sense in building a hotel here - it's surely doomed! The castle of castellar is a good 15 mins drive and there are no beaches close. The new town is a sleepy housing estate speckled with a few local bars but one could expect to see tumbleweed more than life out of season. The hotel deserves some of the negative comments but I feel they've probable taken on board some of these and have tried to improve although I hope you like your burgers on the rare side! The menu for dinner was very limited, adequate, but not of 4 star quality.
So I'm taying here right now for 2 nights under a Voyage Prive booking and wished I hadn't due mainly to the season and it's location. I'm a seasoned independent traveller of Andalucia and I advise caution and research before staying here.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikebown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castellar de la Frontera
2.8 mi away
Complejo Turistico Castillo Castellar
Complejo Turistico Castillo Cast...
#2 of 2 in Castellar de la Frontera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Almenara Resort
Hotel Almenara Resort
#1 of 6 in Sotogrande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
22.1 mi away
Hotel Utopia
Hotel Utopia
#1 of 2 in Benalup-Casas Viejas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hotel Monasterio de San Martin
Hotel Monasterio de San Martin
#1 of 1 in San Martin del Tesorillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Guadacorte Park
Hotel Guadacorte Park
#3 of 4 in Los Barrios
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
10.4 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 6 in Gibraltar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castellar

Property: Hotel Castellar
Address: C/ La Fuente, 11350 Castellar de la Frontera, Spain (Formerly NH Castellar)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Castellar de la Frontera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Castellar de la Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Castellar 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Castellar offers 74 extraordinary elegant rooms, a cozy bar and stunning restaurant which prestigious kitchen proudly presents the magic and freshness of delicious Andalusian produce. It includes a Gym ,a Wellness Zone, 2 tennis courts with artificial grass ,free parking outside and an underground car park ( day cost ).With its beautiful environment, Hotel Castellar is the ideal place for the celebration of any type of congresses, conventions , social celebrations, etc. The technical resources, the services and the thorough personal attention of the hotel staff will guarantee the success of your event. A visit to Hotel Castellar will be special in all respects. You will be able to enjoy the sensations created by our location and impeccably designed space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Castellar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Castellar Hotel Castellar De La Frontera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing