We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Castellar
Nearby Hotels
Complejo Turistico Castillo Castellar(Castellar de la Frontera)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Almenara Resort(Sotogrande)(Great Value!)
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Finca Monasterio(San Martin del Tesorillo)
US$211
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
NH Sotogrande(Sotogrande)(Great Value!)
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alcaidesa Hotel(Alcaidesa)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Almoraima(Castellar de la Frontera)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Posada XVI(Castellar de la Frontera)
Agoda.com
View Deal
San Roque Suites(Sotogrande)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Redonda(San Roque)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (286)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveller rating
145
106
20
12
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
106
20
12
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 286 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We visited NH Castellar in early December and had a great price offer. We would not choose it at regular price since it needs remodelling and be freshened up. Staff was very friendly and proposed two good restaurants in the very charming village of Castellar de la Frontera. As beeing a 4 star hotell, should there be no hair dryer in the room? Except for a wardrobe, there were no hangers anywere and we also missed a floor mat in the bathroom. The bed was quite hard, but ok comfortable. Aircond worked well, we only used it in heat mode. It was quiet! Breakfast buffet was good considering that we were very few hotell guests, but we did not have any warm food, not even a boiled egg.
Location of the village & hotell is great, nice surroundings and propably great walking in the countryside? Well worth staying here if the price is right!

Room Tip: Ask if they have a room that is remodeled.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lars L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Travelled here in October, and stayed for two and a half weeks whilst visiting family and friends in La Linea and Gibraltar. Having viewed some of the hotels/hostals in those two locations I can say with some confidence that this was the best accommodation in the area at a reasonable price based on the NH web price.
The hotel has been well designed in the Andalucian style complete with outdoor pool and tennis courts. The lounge area is tastefully arranged, and there's a good choice of sofas to wallow in. Plenty of parking, and a very quiet location.
Rooms were a reasonable size, and I'd recommend the ground floor rooms for the terrace space that they provide but beware of stray cats that may wish to also make use of the room if you leave the french window open too wide! The soundproofing was excellent - there was a baby in the room next to ours for several nights but it must have been very contented as we never heard it!
That's not to say that there weren't some issues - we were told by a member of staff that bedding would be changed every four nights - not so, I'm afraid, and it was six nights before the sheets were finally changed despite our protestations. The beds themselves were fairly firm but very comfortable.
Also, breakfast was very much a variable feast with plenty of options when the hotel was full at the weekend but very, very rudimentary during the week when there weren't many guests. More consistency is required.
Storage space is an issue in all rooms if you're staying for more than a few nights (the only difference between the categories of room is size - features are the same). More cupboard space would be greatly appreciated.
We didn't eat evening meals in the restaurant but the nearby town of Castellar (a couple of minutes by foot) has several options although none of them were particularly wholesome or satisfying.
I'd like to thank both Rebecca and Rashid who were both very helpful in answering questions, and thoroughly professional in their approach.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have a terrace space but you do have to watch out for stray cats wandering in.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

october 2013, we book for a night and we decide (there is nothing around!) to eat into the hotel.
Searching for the room in the dark corridor, we found it. So after a shower in a nice room we go to eat. Disaster!!! The quality of the food is normal but the location no. In front of the bar, during a passage of many old style men (a secret meeting?) in a cold wild tryng to ask for someone to have water. The suggest pie (3x3 cm) was orrible!
Same situation in the breakfast time.
So, if you want to sleep in the desert the place is ok but do not eat into.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveTDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Charming and very efficient welcome to an attractive and immaculately maintained hotel. The atmosphere was gloriously, traditional Andalucian which, combined with 21st century state of the art technology puts it effortlessly in the top league. Room perfect, crisp linen, amazing toiletries and a charming private terrace with beautiful bay tree hedging - we are happy bunnies indeed!

Room Tip: Try room 19! Or any one on that row. We had a great view of the mountains and the setting sun.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Foxtrot0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Just returned from a week in Hotel Castellar, travelling as a couple. We were extremely pleased with the hotel. Our room was lovely - very clean, modern and stylish with a comfortable kingsize bed and crisp white sheets. Also very quiet air con. We stayed half board and found the food to be on the whole very good.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
Most guests were Spanish families with the occasional English and German. Tour operators using the hotel were Spanish and German so no English information on the local area available in reception.
The pool area was not big but was very attractive and as most guests seemed to be out sightseeing during the day there was no shortage of sun beds.
The hotel is on the edge of a small town which has a few bars and restaurants but does not have the feel of a resort. Le Bodegon was very good.
A trip to the old village and castle is a must and we also enjoyed a whale watching boat trip in Tarifa when we saw lots of dolphins and a couple of pilot whales.
We would highly recommend this hotel for a quiet relaxing authentic Spanish holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rade3058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews