We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightfully located on a lake”
Review of Hotel Toruno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Toruno
Ranked #3 of 12 El Rocio B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Loved this hotel. El Rocio is very unusual, picturesque and compact. I was with a group birdwatching and one could bird from the bedroom! Flights of flamingoes, spoonbills and glossy ibises abounded. Good walks around the lakeside. El Rocio is a town designed for horses, with hitching posts outside all residences, and even a high bar for riders to stay mounted whilst enjoying refreshments.

Breakfast and dinner were provided in the restaurant across the road and it was lovely in the evening sitting under the ancient olive tree for dinner. I particularly liked the crusty sponge cake on offer at breakfast time, along with meats, cheeses, breads, yoghurts and cereals.

The hotel is quaint. Soft drinks, fruit and snacks awaited us on arrival. The staff were very pleasant, friendly and professional. Rooms were clean, and there was air conditioning.

Book a safari around Donana Park. We met others lucky enough to see Iberian lynx.

Room Tip: There is no lift, and no offer of assistance, so a ground room might be preferable for some. I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

Comfortable, clean, good value, friendly, great location..
El Rocio is an amazing place to visit and hotel toruno was a great stop. Good views, easy access to park donana, good meal and good basic breakfasts. Stayed 2 nights, no complaints.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Welshcyclists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed at Hotel Toruno as a base to visit Donana National Park. The hotel was charming. with lovely views of the marshland from our room. The rooms are comfortable, clean and reasonably priced. The staff was fantastic, and even packed a breakfast picnic for us because we would miss it at the hotel in order to make the morning tour.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sonia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

My wife and I had a 3-night stay here on a full-board basis. The hotel has a lot of charm and is ideally located, with views of flamingoes on the marshes from our bedroom. The food was of a very high standard and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Meals are taken in the restaurant across the street and again there were superb views from the dining room. On our last day we had to leave very early in the morning and as we would miss breakfast the staff prepared packed lunches for us for our journey. I look forward to returning here in the not-too-distant future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the marsh.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Outside the main pilgrimage season, El Rocio is a ghost town and our group visiting the nearby National Park (on an all-inclusive tour) seemed to be the only guests in the hotel and the majority of diners in its adjacent restaurant across the sandy street.
The hotel is a lovely, typically Andalucian, building with a light airy feel.
Rooms were basic and rather small but quite good. I requested and got a double bed but there was then little room for my luggage. The ubiquitous Spanish bolster was a pain in the neck. Very limited storage space, but we were only staying two nights. A large window with a "juliet balcony" had views of the nearby lake and its birds. The en suite bathroom was fine but with the shower inside the bath which I personally find a hazard. Most bathroom have lovely tile panels with bird or animal motifs.
The spacious front hall has more and larger tiled panels, pleasant seats, free wifi (slow but reliable), free wine on tap and we were welcomed with baskets of local cheese and fruit.
Meals are provided at the restaurant Toruno across the street (you may like to bring a torch for negotiating the hotel steps and front garden). Surprisingly good buffet breakfast including cereal, yogourt, fruit, as well as ham, cheese, etc. and a wide variety of breads and cakes. Lunch the first day (platters to share) and two dinners (individual choices) were all very good and much better than I had expected for a tour group inclusive deal. Picnic lunches provided for our outings were fine.
This is the restaurant which famously has high level tables outside the bar so that mounted drinkers can stay on their horses.
The staff (many of them "family") at both the hotel and the restaurant were all very attentive, pleasant and obliging.
I really liked this place. It would make an interesting short break even without the wildlife.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Humanitarian-Loggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I stayed at Hotel El Toruno for three nights in the middle of September 2013. I was there for a business trip. The hotel provides basic services but it is very nice and comfortable. However, Internet connection is available for free in both the hall and in the rooms. The staff is nice and speaks quite a good English. Fares are honest.

The "El Toruno" restaurant, just in front of the hotel, is nice and serves Spanish recipes. I would suggest meat rather than fish. The restaurant serves breakfast and allows you to choose full- or half-boarding.

Next to the restaurant, you can enjoy the sight of a majestic, thousand-year old tree, called "viejo", which deserves the visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gianluca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed two nights here while exploring the National Park. The room was basic, very clean and although a two star, very comfortable. The view from the room's balcony was stunningly beautiful, and is the main reason for staying in this hotel. Reception service could be improved as no one was particularly welcoming and we were left waiting for service on occasions. Breakfast is served in the restaurant across the sandy road and was ok. We had dinner on both occasions in the restaurant and the food was very good as was the service provided by the waiters.

Room Tip: We had room 221, a twin room, which had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eoinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Rocio
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Malvasia
Hotel La Malvasia
#1 of 3 in El Rocio
145 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pequeno Rocio
Pequeno Rocio
#2 of 3 in El Rocio
55 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hotel Flamero
Hotel Flamero
#5 of 7 in Matalascanas
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
On Hotels Oceanfront
On Hotels Oceanfront
#1 of 7 in Matalascanas
1,149 reviews
18.7 mi away
Hotel Albaida Nature
Hotel Albaida Nature
#2 of 3 in Mazagon
131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal La Fonda del Rocio
Hostal La Fonda del Rocio
#1 of 12 in El Rocio
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Toruno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Toruno

Address: Plaza Acebuchal 22, 21750 El Rocio, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Huelva > El Rocio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in El Rocio
Price Range: £42 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Toruno 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Toruno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing