We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“exceeded every expectation..” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Madrugada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Madrugada
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Benissa
Certificate of Excellence
Shipston-on-Stour, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“exceeded every expectation..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

from entering the security gates we know we were somewhere special. What a view! Owner and staff were charming, room opened onto the glorious terrace... and the pool is magnificent.
Slight gripe was condition of tennis court.... but overall a fab place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janekg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
49
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

Just an update on my previous review, unfortunately this lovely place is now for sale, I think as a private house.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ornsayboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
125 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

We had a absolutly wonderful stay here. Just for one night.
The breakfast was absolutly lovely with the excelent choice and fresh juice. And the pool is also very good. Service minder owners...yes a bit of the beaten path but absolutly wonderful

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bergen74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2010

This is a great place to stay for a couple of days. Slightly out of the way place and a little hard to find but well worth the effort. Rooms are immaculate, very well equipped and comfortable. (beds by Vi Spring) and have wifi. Each room has its own little terrace beside the pool, which is heated and floodlit at night. Would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ornsayboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2008

Hotel La Madrugada is one of those small quiet out of the way hotels that we like so much. We'd flown to Alicante airport and picked up a car there. We decided to go on the non-toll roads so it took us about an hour and a quarter to get to Benissa, at which point we realised we'd missed the hotel turning at it's a couple of km outside of Benissa (if you're coming from Valencia on the other hand, you need to go through Benissa to get to it). Either way, pay attention to the hotel's written directions and keep an eye out for the km marker on the main road! The entrance from the road (plot 64b) is secured by an automatic gate. Buzz the buzzer and someone will open the gate for you.

Once inside you can forget about the world outside apart from what you can see of it from the dining and pool areas that look up to the spectacular hills and down to the town of Calpe with its prominent rock Peñón de Ifach.

We had room No. 1 which is a poolside room with its own covered outside seating area. The room and the whole hotel were very tastefully decorated and exceptionally clean. The main staff, Theo and Emma, are very friendly, helpful and always pleasant to talk to.

The room had air conditioning, a ceiling fan and floor standing fan. The air con is currently part of the overall hotel system; this had been playing up when we were there. All the same we managed to sleep okay after it had been 30 degrees plus during the day.

The hotel provides breakfast and lunch but does not server evening meals. For that you can go to the sister hotel the Casa Del Marco, or one of the local towns / villages. You will need a car / taxi though.

It is extremely quit here. There’s no road noise (well the odd motorcycle) there's no industry, pubs or noisy nightclubs around. There is a railway track close by and the odd train passes. Mostly though it is just the sound of the breeze in the palms and cicadas. Ah, there is one thing; there is background music on the whole time. It is at a very low volume and not intrusive. We didn't ask for it to be turned down or off, but I feel sure they would oblige if that's what you wanted.

We spent most of the time on the sun loungers by the pool. Nice fresh towels available each day, no post-breakfast scrum to bag a bed as there's enough to go round. In the large gardens there are various other seating areas, a tennis court and orchards to wander around in, if that takes your fancy.

For no particular reason, we never sat in the bar or lounge.

In summary, we've had a thoroughly relaxing five nights here. We'd gladly go back and recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday.

  • Liked — Small hotel = peace, quiet and service
  • Disliked — I can't go there more often
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Crustyfur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benissa
3.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Sol y Mar
3.5 mi away
Hotel Swiss Moraira
Hotel Swiss Moraira
#1 of 4 in Moraira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Al Zaraq
Hotel Al Zaraq
#2 of 5 in Benissa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hotel SH Villa Gadea
13.5 mi away
VIVOOD Landscape Hotels
VIVOOD Landscape Hotels
#1 of 1 in Benimantell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
11.2 mi away
Alahuar Hotel
Alahuar Hotel
#1 of 1 in Benimaurell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Madrugada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Madrugada

Property: Hotel La Madrugada
Address: Partida Benimarraig 61 B, 03720, Benissa, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Benissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Madrugada 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the summer of 2007 this delightful villa was transformed into a small luxurious and charming hotel. La Madrugada offers 7 extremely stylish bedrooms, 1 exclusive suite with a private balcony and Jacuzzi, a comfortable lounge with a bar and a library. During the day tasty snacks and light meals are served, if required. You are most welcome to dine in our comfortable gastronomic restaurant Casa Del Maco which is only a few kilometres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Hotel La Madrugada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing