We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastico”
Review of Refugio Marnes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Benissa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Refugio Marnes
Ranked #1 of 6 Benissa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fantastico”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Far enough from the crouds on the coast. Close enough to the coast for a day on the beach. Lovely mountains for walks ans nature in spring. I enjoyed the hospitality, the rooms the environment and the other gests.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jannine50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
51
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

It takes a small half hour from the coast to drive up to this gorgeous place almost in the middle of nowhere and it's well worth it.
The place itself is huge, a bit rough and allows for plenty of privacy by the pool or somewhere in the garden (only 2 donkeys as company:-)). The hosts Richard and Willem take care of a very nice breakfast and have styled the rooms and the rest of the place with good taste.
You can explore the area by foot (beautiful hiking options), visit Valencia and the coast, plenty of options. Have fun!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NFleuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willem100_12, Owner at Refugio Marnes, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Hello how are you!? Hope you are great Thank you so much for your great review!! That gives us a real boost in making our place even nicer, better and guest oriented, hope to welcome you again to Refugio Marnes some day! Its a great day by the way, sunny and about 22 degrees!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We were a little nervous just before we reached Refugio Marnes - would it be as nice as the photos on their website? We've had such disappointments before. But not this time - absolutely stunning location, tastefully presented rooms and a very relaxed atmosphere. Richard & Willem (the owners) are doing a great job. Couldn't have been happier there and can't wait to go back.

A car is essential, especially if you are B&Bing as you will need it to get to restaurants. The local restaurant food, although not expensive and quite nice, can get a bit much after a couple of days so would consider self-catering next time. Hiking boots (or just a load of good books!) a must.

Thanks Richard & Willem for a great time!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yassmin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

we just spent a relaxing week in one of the coolest accomodations ...
if you want to name the term ´tranquility´ it is Refugio Marnes, to name ´privacy´ it´s La Jaima, the names Willem and Richard stand for ´hospitality´ :-)
be aware: life proceeds in a different rhythm in this place ... and: you will need a hire car and good shoes!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liondor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Two of us stayed in the self-catering house in the grounds of the Refugio Marnes bed and breakfast in early July. It was very relaxing and completely quiet; surprising, given it's only about 20k from the high rise skyline of Benedorm. In the evening we sat out in the warmth and enjoyed the stars, free from street lights! The small house had everything we needed (everyday stuff such as salt, olive oil and washing up liquid was there in the store cupboard when we arrived) and well-furnished. Bed was very comfy and the shower was good. The swimming pool is beautiful. Closest restaurants are down the hill (5mins drive) or you can shop in nearby Benissa (20 mins) for fantastic food and cook it yourself. Market day is Saturday. Views from the house to the mountains around are stunning and there's a choice of challenging or gentle walks either from the house or a short drive away. The hosts, Richard and Willem were always helpful and friendly with suggestions about good beaches and other outings in the neighbourhood. A lovely place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

This was our first vist to Refugio Marnes but was very Impressed with the quality of rooms and the lovely location in the hills.

The review below ( amazing week ) sums everything up very well.

We also went to restaurant pinos just up the road and found the paella very nice which included starter, wine and dessert for 14 euros.

Just for information there is no reception on mobiles here so it is very quiet.

Willem and richard have done a grand job with refugio marnes and let's hope the success continues.



Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We had never stayed here before, but we will be back...!

This was the most perfect B&B/semi-self-catering hotel/refuge we have ever stayed. It was perfect. From our arrival to departure we were taken care of excellently by Willhem & Richard. They have just the right mix of interaction with the guests (not too much, not too little), they gave us a very warm welcome, showed us to our room (B&B) of which there are 3 (each with a seprate entrance from outside, so no need to wander through the living/eating area if you don't wish to).

Each bedroom has en-suite of course, and is very tastefully decorated in a mix of Spanish & modern chic. The living/eating area is also very well done - a large table where a delicious breakfast is served each day at 9am. Full of various breads, fruits, yoghurts, cheeses, sometimes scrambled eggs, meats, great confiture... etc, it was a great start to the day...every day! Richard & Willhem also cook an evening meal once or twice per week, depending on the time of year and we ate once during our week with them - a fabulous fish dish with a super bottle of red - was a relaxing and enjoyable evening.

The pool area is perfect - sun loungers and clean, fresh pool of varying depths so also suitable for children. Lots of Cypress trees around and wonderful foliage and plant life - Cactii so enormous it's quite unbelievable!

If you are visiting in May-June - don't miss the Iris Garden - a 10 minute walk from Refugio Marnes and worth every step. Owned by an English couple.

Don't forget your hiking boots - even if you are not a big walker!

We can't recommend this B&B enough - it was EXCELLENT! - THANK YOU VERY VERY MUCH!!

Room Tip: * Samsonite tourists - take one of the 3 B&B rooms - all perfect & with easy access. * Back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benissa
3.8 mi away
Hotel La Madrugada
Hotel La Madrugada
#1 of 5 in Benissa
67 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Al Zaraq
Hotel Al Zaraq
#2 of 5 in Benissa
23 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel Swiss Moraira
Hotel Swiss Moraira
#1 of 4 in Moraira
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Sol y Mar
0.0 mi away
Cases de Sant Jaume
Cases de Sant Jaume
#4 of 5 in Benissa
16 reviews
18.5 mi away
Servigroup Montiboli
Servigroup Montiboli
#1 of 5 in Villajoyosa
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refugio Marnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refugio Marnes

Property: Refugio Marnes
Address: Refugio Marnes Pda Marnes 2015, 3720, Benissa, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benissa
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Benissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse Refugio Marnes, your rural holiday haven on the Costa Blanca. Arriving at Eco Lodge Refugio Marnes in Alicante, Spain, means going back in time, back to the basics of life. Sun, peace, wild nature and the ancient history of the hard Spanish farmlife. Refugio Marnes consists of a centuries old rural finca (estate) spanning 50 acres of agricultural land, situated in a our own private valley. The finca is named after the hamlet of Marnes, at about 500 meters altitude on a small mountain, the Sierra de Bernia in the hinterland of the Costa Blanca. We focus on offering ecotourism /sustainable tourism in a form that is unique in terms of location and design. Peace, spaciousness and original holiday accommodations on this estate situated on the Costa Blanca, you will find the trees so typical for this area: carob, olive and almond. The terraced structure of the terrain dates from the time of the Phoenicians! Three buildings are located on the finca: the old farmhouse where the owners live, the B&B wing Los Establos and a cottage called La Ruina. In addition, beautifully hidden in the countryside, the luxurious tent La Jaima, that defines the new term "glamping", meaning glamourous camping.Ecolodge, Guesthouse, B&B or Camping?Refugio Marnes is difficult to catch in one phrase. Would you like to share this wonderful place with us, for a peaceful holiday? Ecolodge Refugio Marnes offers three types of accommodations. Bed and Breakfast Los Establos housed in the completely renovated stables, has three lovely rooms with a shared spacious living / dining room. The luxuriously decorated tent La Jaima, a huge and beautifully designed Bedouin tent. And the holiday cottage La Ruina is a restored sheepfold designed for a terrific and comfortable stay. For more information about these different but highly original accommodations please visit the corresponding pages on this site. Focus on sustainability in the operation of this beautiful finca (rural tourism and agriculture) environmental sustainability has top priority. For example: the electricity is entirely generated by a large solar installation. During your stay you are free to use the lovely pool of Refugio Marnes. This emerald green tiled pool has been desgined to fit in with its Mediterranean setting. The water of the (11x 4.5 meters) swimming pool is ready to be recycled in winter (after treatment). Again, attention is given to the responsible use of an increasingly scarce good: water. Through the menu choice Sustainable tourism you can find out more about our views on sustainable tourism.Ecolodge Refugio Marnes, enjoying nature in comfortwith a clear conscience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing