We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Refugio Marnes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Benissa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Refugio Marnes
Ranked #1 of 6 Benissa B&B and Inns
Liege, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfectly relaxing”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We had a wonderful time in La Ruina with our 2 months old baby. We stayed 5 days and it was perfectly relaxing. It's a heavenly place surrounded by nature and it's so quiet. If you appreciate a good book at the swimming pool, this is where you should be. Big contrast with the crowded coastline!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Matthias B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
50
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Wow! My boyfriend and i stayed here for a night in August. The entire place was just stunning. The room was stylish, very clean and finished to a high standard. The kitchen/ living room was really cosy and the help your self mimi bar in the main fridge was well stocked and reasonably priced.The views were amazing and the whole experience was just out of this world. We spent a few hours at the pool area and then a few hours exploring the grounds and playing with the donkeys. It was just soooo much fun!
For dinner we choose to have a meal with the owners and the other guests. The food was scrumptous ( infact they gave us the Tiramasu leftovers which we ate later!) and the company was really enjoyable. Breakfast was amazing and had so much delicious food.
We plan to return in October for a couple of nights and i would certianly, without hesitation, recomend this place for a holiday!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

This B&B is amazing. It's beautifully located, clean, quite, and run by two wonderful hosts. No crowds here. Just the sound of the wind, the birds and (a couple of times a day) the donkey. The view is stunning; mountains, olive trees, flowers, cactusses. The only stress you have is choosing where to put your chair; next to the haystack? On the terrace? Under the lemon tree?
And when the sun goes down, you can retreat to your room (great bed) or the living room/kitchen (with fireplace!) you share with a maximum of 4 other guests. The floor heating, the earthy colours and materials provide a cosy and relaxed atmosphere. You can tell everything's decorated with care and with respect to the surroundings. 
Although the hosts Willem and Richard have been running this B&B for several years, they are enthousiastic, like they've only started this B&B yesterday. They seem to have developed a perfect sense for what their guests want - they're around when you need them, but they respect your privacy. 

Do join the dinner they organize twice a week. Richard is a great cook and they are good company.

In nine days whe didn't leave the B&B, except for a trip to the supermarket, the San Jjose festival in Valencia and an excellent birdwatching tour. We could have made all kinds of wonderful trips and walks (some of them starting from the B&B), but being enchanted by sun and the idyllic place, we needed nothing more than a book, a chair and a bottle of wine. 
If you want to reload your battery in a beautiful environment, go to Refugio Marnes. And outside the high season it's quite easy to arrange; we booked the B&B, the rental car (you need it) and our flight to Alicante just one day ahead.

We can recommend this place to couples (especially the Ruina), families and people travelling solo.

Go and relax. Now!

Room Tip: If you're looking for more peace and quite, book the Ruina. It has it's a beautifully renove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vostoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Far enough from the crouds on the coast. Close enough to the coast for a day on the beach. Lovely mountains for walks ans nature in spring. I enjoyed the hospitality, the rooms the environment and the other gests.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jannine50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

It takes a small half hour from the coast to drive up to this gorgeous place almost in the middle of nowhere and it's well worth it.
The place itself is huge, a bit rough and allows for plenty of privacy by the pool or somewhere in the garden (only 2 donkeys as company:-)). The hosts Richard and Willem take care of a very nice breakfast and have styled the rooms and the rest of the place with good taste.
You can explore the area by foot (beautiful hiking options), visit Valencia and the coast, plenty of options. Have fun!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NFleuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willem100_12, Owner at Refugio Marnes, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Hello how are you!? Hope you are great Thank you so much for your great review!! That gives us a real boost in making our place even nicer, better and guest oriented, hope to welcome you again to Refugio Marnes some day! Its a great day by the way, sunny and about 22 degrees!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We were a little nervous just before we reached Refugio Marnes - would it be as nice as the photos on their website? We've had such disappointments before. But not this time - absolutely stunning location, tastefully presented rooms and a very relaxed atmosphere. Richard & Willem (the owners) are doing a great job. Couldn't have been happier there and can't wait to go back.

A car is essential, especially if you are B&Bing as you will need it to get to restaurants. The local restaurant food, although not expensive and quite nice, can get a bit much after a couple of days so would consider self-catering next time. Hiking boots (or just a load of good books!) a must.

Thanks Richard & Willem for a great time!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yassmin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

we just spent a relaxing week in one of the coolest accomodations ...
if you want to name the term ´tranquility´ it is Refugio Marnes, to name ´privacy´ it´s La Jaima, the names Willem and Richard stand for ´hospitality´ :-)
be aware: life proceeds in a different rhythm in this place ... and: you will need a hire car and good shoes!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liondor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benissa
3.8 mi away
Hotel La Madrugada
Hotel La Madrugada
#1 of 5 in Benissa
67 reviews
9.6 mi away
VIVOOD Landscape Hotels
VIVOOD Landscape Hotels
#1 of 1 in Benimantell
440 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Al Zaraq
Hotel Al Zaraq
#2 of 5 in Benissa
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Hotel Swiss Moraira
Hotel Swiss Moraira
#1 of 4 in Moraira
443 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Abaco Altea
Hotel Abaco Altea
#1 of 8 in Altea
438 reviews
4.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Sol y Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refugio Marnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refugio Marnes

Property: Refugio Marnes
Address: Refugio Marnes Pda Marnes 2015, 3720, Benissa, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benissa
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Benissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse Refugio Marnes, your rural holiday haven on the Costa Blanca. Arriving at Eco Lodge Refugio Marnes in Alicante, Spain, means going back in time, back to the basics of life. Sun, peace, wild nature and the ancient history of the hard Spanish farmlife. Refugio Marnes consists of a centuries old rural finca (estate) spanning 50 acres of agricultural land, situated in a our own private valley. The finca is named after the hamlet of Marnes, at about 500 meters altitude on a small mountain, the Sierra de Bernia in the hinterland of the Costa Blanca. We focus on offering ecotourism /sustainable tourism in a form that is unique in terms of location and design. Peace, spaciousness and original holiday accommodations on this estate situated on the Costa Blanca, you will find the trees so typical for this area: carob, olive and almond. The terraced structure of the terrain dates from the time of the Phoenicians! Three buildings are located on the finca: the old farmhouse where the owners live, the B&B wing Los Establos and a cottage called La Ruina. In addition, beautifully hidden in the countryside, the luxurious tent La Jaima, that defines the new term "glamping", meaning glamourous camping.Ecolodge, Guesthouse, B&B or Camping?Refugio Marnes is difficult to catch in one phrase. Would you like to share this wonderful place with us, for a peaceful holiday? Ecolodge Refugio Marnes offers three types of accommodations. Bed and Breakfast Los Establos housed in the completely renovated stables, has three lovely rooms with a shared spacious living / dining room. The luxuriously decorated tent La Jaima, a huge and beautifully designed Bedouin tent. And the holiday cottage La Ruina is a restored sheepfold designed for a terrific and comfortable stay. For more information about these different but highly original accommodations please visit the corresponding pages on this site. Focus on sustainability in the operation of this beautiful finca (rural tourism and agriculture) environmental sustainability has top priority. For example: the electricity is entirely generated by a large solar installation. During your stay you are free to use the lovely pool of Refugio Marnes. This emerald green tiled pool has been desgined to fit in with its Mediterranean setting. The water of the (11x 4.5 meters) swimming pool is ready to be recycled in winter (after treatment). Again, attention is given to the responsible use of an increasingly scarce good: water. Through the menu choice Sustainable tourism you can find out more about our views on sustainable tourism.Ecolodge Refugio Marnes, enjoying nature in comfortwith a clear conscience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing