We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place and good service, however disappointing food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Casa del Maco
Ranked #2 of 8 Benissa B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Me and my wife booked Casa del Maco, since we wanted to relax some days at a nice place with good dinners in the evening. The place was nice, but the dinner was ordinary. The hotel is quite nice with a lovely terrace and swimming pool. The hotel room was as expected in a good hotel. The service was professional and good.

The restaurant did not meet our expectations. The breakfast was OK, with fresh natural orange juice, bread, hams, fruit, cereals and more. However, the ham (serrano) was not good to be in Spain. We travelled at low-low season, so we were the only guests at the restaurant. However, still they had three fish dishes at the menu, in addition to some meat dishes. We found it hard to believe that they had all ingredient fresh. The food was in general boring and a bit tasteless, with non-fresh feeling. We would recommend Casa del Maco to have a short menu with only fresh ingredients. Of course, it could be that the restaurant is better, tastier and fresher in high-season, but hard to know for us. By the way, our best meal this vacation was at a pizza restaurant (Claudio, I think) in Altea , -fresh ingredients, tasty and much cheaper.

To sum up we recommend Casa del Maco for relaxing at the terrace and the service, but not for the food.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripStig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2012

If you are looking for somewhere wonderful to stay around Calpe, you must consider the Casa. Its only a ten minute drive from the beach, but is set in the hills above the town, in peaceful countryside, with views into the orchards. We stayed at the Casa on Christmas Eve.

It's an old converted farm house, with oak beams and doors, stone fireplaces, thick walls, and all the windows have shutters (and mozzi nets) but very comfortable, elegant and cosy. have a look at the web site for more info.

Rooms vary in size, but room 303 had a huge comfortable bed, crisp linen sheets, antiques and Persian cushions to add colour. A wide screen tv and wifi are additional luxuries. The room has a cute terrace with sunloungers. The large bath is perfect for a long soak, especially with their lovely bath salts and thick fluffy towels. For winter stays the room is heated and very snug.

The food is delicious, the Christmas Eve meal was served beautifully and each course had a wine to match. Hannes, the owner, painstakingly described each dish and the wines. We appreciated the care he and his chefs took to make sure we enjoyed the meal and our stay,

We will return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anitafiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

My wife and I wanted a quiet, relaxing weekend, and that is exactly what we got! Beautifull setting, clean cosy rooms and a sparkling new bathroom!
Also the staff was helpfull and friendly. We will come back, for sure!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

A super little hotel well away from the awful concrete blocks strung along the coast. Our room was of medium size, comfortable and well-equipped and had a private terrace that caught the morning sunshine. Only downside was the rather noisy minibar fridge. The two suppers selected from the 40 Euro menu were delicious and well presented. A touch of greed however to add 1.50 Euro per person to the bill for bread! Very nice pool and terrace for fresh air eating. The staff we met were friendly and helpful. It would have been nice, however, to have caught a glimpse of the owners. We would return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maisie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We stayed for a couple of nights as a celebration of my 50 years on the planet. What we wanted was a comfortable room, excellent food, and a place to relax. If I tell you that we felt totally welcomed and relaxed from the moment that we arrived, so that we didn't leave until we had to move on to our next stop, then that just about sums up how the place delivered for us. The food is very good, and with a pool and spectacular views, it met our brief to a tee. We had a standard room, which was absolutely fine as all we did in it was sleep, though it was nicely done and very comfortable. We will return here I am sure.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TweedDuckpond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We stayed for the last two nights of our holiday and couldn't have been more delighted with our choice. We'd spent a good deal of time at the beach already so it was a really pleasant change to relax in the countryside, although if you do fancy some sea and sand there's plenty within 10 minutes drive. The area is great to visit, Javea old town, quiet coves and harbours near Calpe and Javea, stunning views.

We spoiled ourselves with dinner and wine matching on the first evening, it was nice to experience some different dishes to many of the restaurants we had dined at during our holiday. The food was high quality and very good, the environment easily matched it, a lovely elegant restaurant.

The room was very nice, I would agree that it could be more up to date which I know they are working on, but the style did not detract from it's comfort. Breakfast was also very enjoyable, unhurried, great area and lots of choice to suit all tastes.

We would definitely choose to stay here again and enjoy the excellent quality and service again.

Thank you to Barbara and all her team.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunInnKirkbyLonsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Overall a very pleasant place to be, though it was low season. The bedroom and bathroom/shower were a little dated by today's standards and were quite marked in contrast to the common areas- outside furniture was high quality and very up to date. Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice to suit everyone's needs and eggs cooked to order.
Dinner was very pleasant, probably one of the best by the standards on the rest of our travels to the south of Spain, which we discovered was not the best place for food lovers, but a bit pricey even compared even to our expensive home area in France. Good flavours and some real effort to make the food look attractive on the plate.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMP49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benissa
2.2 mi away
The Cookbook Gastro Boutique Hotel & Spa
3.9 mi away
Fincahotel Cases de Sant Jaume
1.7 mi away
Hotel La Madrugada
Hotel La Madrugada
#1 of 5 in Benissa
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hostal Fonda Maria
Hostal Fonda Maria
#4 of 12 in Benissa
25 reviews
2.6 mi away
Parques Casablanca Hotel
Parques Casablanca Hotel
#3 of 12 in Benissa
42 reviews
4.2 mi away
Caballito de Mar
Caballito de Mar
#1 of 12 in Benissa
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa del Maco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa del Maco

Address: Partida Pou Roig 15, 03720, Benissa, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Benissa
Price Range: £70 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa del Maco 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between Alicante and Valencia, on the Costa Blanca, you will find Casa del Maco, an oasis of tranquility. This charming hotel of 5 rooms, each with its own decoration is seated at the foot of the Sierra Bernia, and is surrounded by coniferous forest and vineyards, olive and almond trees, overlooking the blue of the Mediteranean sea. The owners Hannes & Barbara are more than happy to welcome you for a romantic evening, a relaxing weekend, or a satisfying holiday. Together with the talented team of Casa Del Maco, they will do their utmost to let you enjoy the best of what the Costa Blanca can offer. As well in the restaurant full of atmosphere, on the sun-drenched garden terrace as in the pleasant hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Casa del Maco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing