We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family visit to Trelleborg”
Review of Hotel Dannegarden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Dannegarden
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Trelleborg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Arrived via bus from Copenhagen airport and reception was closed although it was prior to 6pm. Key in an envelope in the reception area. Room clean and VERY quiet and beds, pillows, and duvets were very comfortable. Room was small enough that it was difficult to walk between the end on one bed and the third bed that pulled down from the wall. Desk and desk chair both broken. Cabinet that held minibar was broken. Chairs outside on patio in the courtyard were broken. We had no cell phone and could not locate a wired phone in the hotel so could not call the 'emergency' number when we wanted to ask for cleaning supplies after a spill in the room. The sauna was lovely and easy to operate. The restaurant was not open on Saturday or Sunday for lunch and dinner and we were not aware of that prior to making the reservation and we stayed Saturday and Sunday nights.....The breakfast buffet was sufficient, but not terribly inspired. There is a 7-11 a short distance away that has sandwiches,drinks, and fruit. The ferry check-in point for cars is just across the street, and for pedestrians about a five minute walk. Yes, I would stay again, but I would more carefully evaluate other options ahead of the Hotel Dannegarden based on (the lack of) service from hotel staff.

Room Tip: Courtyard room shielded from almost all road noise expect for rare sirens and an occasional loud car...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mamyrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Dannegarden
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

i have the chance stay in this hotel almost every year the last 12 years, during a sport championship which held in trelleborg every year on February.
the hotel is very nice, very warm, rooms very small but with very comfortable beds , very clean, simple but nice, typical swedish for me.

the hotel has own charactere, nice decoration,very nice breakfast and food.

i recomended as a restaurant too

is close to the center and to everywhere, trelleborg is a small place, from hotel you can go around by walk to visit everything.

no reception after i think 20.00

i recomended this hotel without any doubt to everybody


there is nice sauna and hudromassage outside, and if is snowing is fantastic experience!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariaM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Old fashioned building close to the city center. Cosy place to stay over night. Very friendly and helpful staff and a little bit extraordinarily decorated lobby. The room was hot without air condition. In bathroom there was too less space for personal stuff. The bed was good and basically the room was big enough.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bipolar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Room: very comfortable bed, though just a twin x 2; wifi works very well and all is clean. Not a spacious room but typically small. Quality furnishings in room, nice linens.
Hotel: is extremely charming as a converted large home on main road across the shore. No sea views but you have trees on the road that block the harbor area beyond. All is quaint, and especially the main hall/ dining area. Old hardwood floors, antique tables hold the breakfast items; corner chimney; back deck with morning sun to warm you; grassy garden and shrubs make for good privacy. The whole feel is really like a bed/bkfast.
Breakfast: extremely tasty and of high quality. Bar area was a separate room with large chairs to hang out and read.
Dining: this restaurant is an important establishment in the town, it seems. Stylish approach, pricey menu and very attentive, friendly staff. I did not eat dinner there but went to town that is only 5-10 min walk.
Service: nobody at desk at night; desk is at the restaurant. At arrival with heavy luggage, the lift entrance is not well marked and what one sees are the steps to enter the building.
Converting an old house to modern needs is tricky. Any old European house will present problems: narrow halls, multiple doors and small steps up or down to make new construction match up to original building.

Summary: the place is attractive and charming, good quality, the morning staff was highly friendly with me and helped with train info. No problem staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JES006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

OK hotel, if your a 'Foreigner' it's not so easy to understand the ways of this place, an oversized B&B. Room was comfortable & the free Wifi was a welcome change.
Breakfast was OK, service was non-existent (find it yourself, or forget it) not able to order anything familiar. Bed was comfortable, room was warm, shower was hot.
Throbbing from the engines of the ferries coming & going from the nearby port get to you after a while. Bar next door is 'interesting' worth checking out whilst there.

Room Tip: I understand from colleagues these are the best rooms south of Malmo.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OneMoreRobot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Nice and comfortable place to stay when travelling with the ferryboat to Germany. The rooms are large enough so you don' t feel trapped, they are well "equipped" and the beds are comfortable. Very clean also. The staff is friendly and helpfull. If you have the early ferry you still have the chance to take breakfast to go. Tipp for smokers: They have a nice garden with benches just outside the restaurant. :)
All in all I recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms at the ground floor have exit to garden
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

I recently stayed at the Dannegarden Hotel in Trelleborg and I only have great things to say about it! The proprietors have worked to improve this property and to make it a wonderful and "homey" stay. It feels like a home away from home, moreso than a hotel. I have stayed there before and the owners and the staff are all first-rate. I truly look forward to staying there again when I visit Trelleborg.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trelleborg
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Hansa
Best Western Hotel Hansa
#3 of 3 in Trelleborg
81 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Magasinet
6.5 mi away
Angavallen
Angavallen
#1 of 1 in Vellinge
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Quality Hotel View
Quality Hotel View
#5 of 37 in Malmo
857 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hotell Gasslingen
Hotell Gasslingen
#41 of 127 in Skane County
126 reviews
14.9 mi away
Best Western Malmo Arena Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dannegarden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dannegarden

Address: 32 Strandgatan, Trelleborg 231 62, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Trelleborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Trelleborg
Price Range: £142 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dannegarden 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 500 metres from Trelleborg ferry terminal, this hotel offers rooms with luxury beds and free Wi-Fi. Parking as well as sauna and jacuzzi access are free for guests. Housed in an elegant villa from 1910, all rooms of Hotel Dannegarden feature stylish decor. Most rooms offer views of the peaceful garden. The library provides a quiet and tranquil place for guests to unwind with a book or an after-dinner drink. The Oresund Bridge is only a 20-minute drive away, Copenhagen about 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Dannegarden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing