We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian oasis in Skåne”
Review of Idala Gard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Idala Gard
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed two nights at Idala Gard. A wonderful place with a great atmosphere and Italian soul in the walls. The staff is friendly and informal. We got a very small room with no curtains, which was a bit strange. Bathroom has poor lighting, it is for example not possible to put on makeup there .... But then to the things that were good: Very nice breakfast witch we enjoyed in rooms full of history. Especially nice that you sit in separete rooms. The dinner is good. We had a set menu both days, one day there was antipasti and pizza, authentic Italian. The other day, a three-course menu. They were flexible in relation to one of us does not eat meat. Tip: Choose a room in the side building, rooms above the lobby is tiny. Be sure to reserve a table in the restaurant. And dip your feet in the pool!

Room Tip: Choose a room in the side building, rooms above the lobby is tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ragge62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2012

Situated in the south of Sweden,you will find at Idala nice accomodation and wonderful italian style food and italian wines.
Located near the little town of Trelleborg, it is only 6 km from the center, but far enough to be very quiet. Idala Gard is a country farm, restored recently, has few very pretty rooms, a very good restaurant with show cooking, an excellent wine cellar (the staff is very skilled and can suggest you the right wine for the meal) and a wine and gift shop where you can find some typical Italian items.
Warm welcome, the kindness of all the staff is awesome.
Wireless internet free of charge.
Advance booking recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michele f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We spent three days after Easter in Idala Gard and the beautiful surroundings in Skane. We had a very nice family room, with two separate bedrooms and a small lounge. The restaurant was especially good and the wines, I think exclusively from Italy, excellent. We hope to return in the summer when the weather is warmer and swimming in the pool and on the beaches close by is possible! The hotel is convenient also for a day trip to Copenhangen.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gfspiteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

If you can get here - do it. The rooms are lovely and the food is fantastic. We came here as guests at a wedding and the ambience was superb. Lovely place, lovely staff - can't praise it enough.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caroleamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2011

Went with my husband for a relaxing overnight stay at Idala Gård, we choose the "Myspaket" and we are very pleased. Everything from the staff, the rooms, the environment, the food and the wine (The restaurant is in the White Guide) was perfect. I can highly recommend a stay here for couples that need a weekend to just be.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SwedishOak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

The good: Easy to find (using a sat nav), lots of free parking, good wine.
The not so good: We were ignored for the better part of 10 minutes when we arrived. There seemed to be no reception staff at all. Finally someone came out from the kitchen and checked us in. We had booked our hotel reservation several months in advance and so were a bit surprised when we were asked, 'have you made a reservation with us for dinner'? Well, considering this hotel / restaurant is the only one within miles and miles and we were staying the night, we stupidly assumed that us needing a table for dinner was a given with our hotel booking. It was not. The restaurant was fully booked but they said, they'd 'figure something out'. In the meantime we were escorted up to our room...we were three people staying in the same room (which we had made clear at the time of booking) and the hotel's solution to that was to have a mattress propped up against the wall that could be squeezed on to the floor between the bathroom door and the existing bed in the room when it was bed time. The room was tiny. And there was no curtain or blind for the window so I lay on the floor looking out through the window hoping that neither of my roommates needed to use the toilet during the night as there was no way not to step on me to get into the bathroom. Anyway, before the sleeping situation we headed back down to dinner...where they had put a table and chair arrangement at the base of the staircase in the hallway. The other small issue that hadn't been made clear when we had booked the stay was that on the particular night we were there, it was one of their pizza evenings. Which essentially means that the only thing on the menu was pizza. It was pretty good pizza but considering we were sitting in a hallway with the local children running around us and out and in through the door to play in the outside courtyard as we were eating, it wasn't the most enjoyable meal I've had. It was after the meal that we puzzled together the sleeping arrangements (did I mention there was no tv in the room)? I didn't sleep well and was honestly happy to move on to another hotel the next day.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SvenskTjej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank marleneedstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trelleborg hotels
3.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Hansa
Best Western Hotel Hansa
#3 of 3 in Trelleborg
82 reviews
3.0 mi away
Systrar & Bonor
Systrar & Bonor
#1 of 6 in Trelleborg
25 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Dannegarden
Hotel Dannegarden
#1 of 3 in Trelleborg
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Magasinet
6.2 mi away
Hemmesaker Bed and Breakfast
Hemmesaker Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 6 in Trelleborg
9 reviews
6.0 mi away
Minnesberg Bed & Breakfast
Minnesberg Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 6 in Trelleborg
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Idala Gard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idala Gard

Address: Idalavagen 33-5, Trelleborg 231 91, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Trelleborg
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Trelleborg
Price Range: £97 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Idala Gard 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Idala Gard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing